Going the Distance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Going the Distance Reviews

Page 1 of 14
February 11, 2017
170211: Some, in an attempt to define themselves, to stand out above others, have created what should have been unique product but is, in fact, an artistic embarrassment. This film has some great ideas, great characters and great cinematography but is just too crude. A lack of imagination and self-confidence is evident throughout this production, and as a Canadian, Going the Distance just disappoints. Worse, I hate that our county and people may be identified with this film. Joanne Kelly (Sasha) and Mayko Nguyen's (Jill) efforts are somewhat commendable and it was neat to see Matt Frewer (Farmer Joseph), aka Max Headroom, again. This film flirts with being good but I'm disappointed in George Stroumboulopoulos and Avril Lavigne signing on such an obviously excessive effort. I'll just kid myself that their decision had nothing to do with self-promotion and monetary gain. Perhaps they just didn't read the script completely? Canadians are a fun people, especially in our teen years. We are proud, multi-cultural and our country features a beautifully diverse landscape. Going the Distance captures glimmers of these traits but fails in an attempt to get ratings. Sad decision making crushes what should've been defining.
January 19, 2015
Silly Canadian comedy that relies heavily on teens' love of MuchMusic.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
This one is like a eurotrip , american pie and that kind of jokes. Not as good those 2 but overall worth seeing.
July 23, 2014
Approximately seven years haven't watched this one really awesome entertaining story... Sometimes people not only boast about getting laid, but really looking for troubles after getting laid. Great plot.
July 1, 2014
One of my favourite Canadian films...made by National Lampoon!
½ July 4, 2013
He May have just graduated but Nick (Christopher Jacot) has it all figured out - marriage, a lucrative career and a totally different lifestyle from that of his hippy parents.

When he discovers that his future wife (Katheryn Winnick) may be falling prey to a powerful and oversexed music producer. Nick is determined to fly to Toronto to win her back.

Lifelong buds Tyler and Dim have other ideas for their best friend - the road trip adventure of his life. With only three days to make it to the Much Music Video Awards, the unlikely road warriors head off.

Two sexy hitchhikers, Sasha (Joanne Kelly) and Jill (Mayko Nguyen) complicate matters and a series of accidents, orchestrated by a malevolent stranger, sabotage the trip Turning Nicks future plans upside down.

also starring Shawn Roberts, August Schellenberg, Ryan Belleville, Jason Priestley and Andrew Airlile.

directed by Mark Griffiths
August 8, 2012
It's entertaining. Shut the f**k up and take it for what it is. The Canadian Road Trip.
½ June 18, 2012
not as good as most national lampoons movies, but still a decent watch
½ May 6, 2012
Competently made mediocre Canadian comedy.
January 21, 2012
Typical road-trip setting comedy with the usual allotment of cliched jokes and events, but it's certainly not in "I want that 1.5hrs of my life back" territory. Was very interesting to see Warehouse 13 chick (Joanne Kelly) in this, probably how it ended up in the queue in the first place.
½ December 11, 2011
dangerous curves ahead :)
½ March 14, 2011
Not bad for a national lampoon's movie....
February 10, 2011
Rolig kanadensisk ganska r├ą humor:)
½ December 23, 2010
A great Canadian film. Silly characters in stupid hijinks while crossing from Vancouver to Toronto.
½ December 19, 2010
With great laughs, good music and beautiful Canadian scenery, this movie is Canada's answer to American Pie and Road Trip. Not the most intelligent film ever made but it's guaranteed to satisfy surfers, stoners and hopeless romantics alike.
½ November 20, 2010
Another road trip movie..with loads of sex, drugs and not at all funny moments...had downloaded it by mistake and watching it was another.
Pathetic movie !
November 12, 2010
It was pretty funny movie good laughs for sure enjoyed it good movie
October 27, 2010
hahah.....good movie...! liked it!
October 4, 2010
Another decent film from the Lampoon's.
Page 1 of 14