The Batman (An Evening with Batman and Robin) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Batman (An Evening with Batman and Robin) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ January 16, 2018
yes, this was racist united states, "Since a wise government rounded up the shifty eyed japs" is a description of Japanese Americans! This was released just a few years after Pearl Harbor, but that of course is no excuse. I would take off points for its racism, its ww2 propaganda, and its cheap cliffhanger cliches. The 1943 fifteen chapter series from Columbia Picture produced by Rudolph Follow, directed by Lambert Hillyer and staring Lewis Wilson as Batman, Douglas Croft as Robin and Shirley Patterson as Linda Page as Bruce Wayne's love interest. The serial centers around Batman involvement as a secret agent going up against the diabolic schemes of Dr Daka. There are some great scenes like Batman sitting in his bat cave behind a giant wooden desk. Like the 1949 Batman, the bat mobile is a jalopy, and while overall the customes, special effects, acting and writing might be described as a bit shoddy and poorly conceived even by 1943 standards, it is a hell of a lot better than the disasterous Zach Snyder abomination that was perpetrated on the good paying people that went to enjoy a batman movie!
May 14, 2017
The Batman Serial is nowhere near as good as the former Republic superhero serials but still holds up quite well, given context. As this was made and released during WW2, there is a fair amount of racism, particularly towards the Japanese. Overlooking that, and other dated ideals, the serial, while definitely propaganda, works well as a standalone show. It is strong through its simplicity and never acts larger than it is. It doesn't rely on stunts to be impressive instead developing the charismatic character of Bruce Wayne. That said, the stunts that are present here are lacklustre and underwhelming, especially in comparison to other serials like Captain Marvel. You get a constant sense that the producers were trying to cut corners to save money. All of that aside, the Batman was and is still an influential work, responsible for so much wr associate with batman now.
August 12, 2016
A very entertaining superhero serial. I watched this expecting it to be boring, but I was wrong, dead wrong. This was fantastic. The music was great even the villan (who never appeared in the comics) was great. I don't have one complaint.
½ March 7, 2015
good serial from columbia
August 5, 2014
Racist in the extreme and completely lacking suspense this may be the worst serial ever made. If the racism was not enough Bruce and Dick act like the stars of the lost weekend half the movie. Even the costumes are terrible in this poor excuse for a movie.
July 20, 2014
This is the worst Batman film. I mean I understand the time so I'm not going to call it out for its cheapness. The movie serial is actually pretty dull. It's an incredibly racist movie serial. (Because of world war 2) also the guy who plays batman is absolutely terrible. He's completely boring and uninteresting like most of this movie serial. It's an interesting thing to see. But, I wouldn't recommend it unless your curiosity gets the better of you.
July 10, 2013
The Original On-Screen Adventures Of The Caped Crusader & The Boy Wonder. It's 1943 & Japanese Spymaster Prince Daka Operates A Covert Espionage Organization Located In Gotham's Now-Deserted Little Tokyo. The Organization Turns Anyone Who Won't Co-Operate Into Pliable Zombies. This 15-Part Serial Is Something That Will Make You Cringe At The History Of Cinema, But Just As Good As The Next Serial Meaning There's Plenty Of Two-Fisted Fun. The Fight Scenes Are Not Up To Scratch With Today's Standards But Still Entertaining To Watch.
½ July 6, 2013
left-over anti-Jap propaganda all over this one
½ February 6, 2013
Good old fun with some really old school Batman. The plot is dragged out over several episodes, and a lot of the episodes feel the same, but they're still interesting and maintain the usual serial elements. The cliffhangers do get a bit old though, as they all almost end the same way, making this serial very predictable. None of Batman's classic villains appear, but we still have a pretty good mafia gang, plus some zombies to boot. There's plenty of laughs and action throughout, and each episode is pretty satisfying. Overall, it's a neat little piece of superhero and cinematic history.
½ July 26, 2012
Not the best representation of the Dark Knight and the Boy Wonder, but this serial has its moments. It is racist as hell, with Batman working for the Government (?) to help fight the evils of the Japanese! There is even a line by the narrator in which he says that the "Wise government rounded up the shifty eyed Japs." Ridiculous propaganda. But as adventure serials go, it is okay, but it just isn't the best representation of the Bat and has that propaganda angle really bogs it down into a product of its time...sadly a very bad moment in American history.
June 30, 2012
This fifteen-chapter serial, marking Batman and Robin's big screen debut, is a consistently fun adventure in the true sci-fi comic book sense. Lewis Wilson and Douglas Croft are fine as the Dynamic Duo, battling against the evil Dr. Daka (J. Carrol Naish).
May 19, 2012
THEY ARE THE BEGINNERS AND TRULY PIONEERS! 69 DECADES AGO LARGER THAN LIFE! TO OUR CAPE CRUSADERS BATMAN AND ROBIN STAY FOREVER. GENERATION BY GENERATIONS UNTIL THE END OF THE BEGINNING.
½ May 3, 2012
The first live action adaptation of Batman is an interesting piece of history, but it's nothing that exciting. Also, it's kind of racist.
March 23, 2012
Really hokie movie serial. A WWII propoganda piece with our heroes fighting Jap spies in horrible costumes.
½ March 19, 2012
If you enjoyed this 1943 movie serial with the cape crusader and the boy wonder, you'll enjoy the second one from 1949 titled Batman and Robin. I just discovered these serials a few weeks ago and decided to rent the 1943 and 1949 serials and loved them.

Daka is the main villain of this movie serial, and seems much more scary and vicious compared to The Wizard, who's the villain in the second movie serial from 1949.

I wish they would've made more of these serials. True gems indeed.
½ March 17, 2012
Not quite as good overall as the 1949 serials, mostly because of the anti-Japanese propaganda. It really hurt the whole production, because otherwise, it's pretty enjoyable to watch. Old-school batman and robin beating up the same four gangsters over and over, for some reason, really puts a big stupid smile on my face.
February 18, 2012
The first Batman on screen which is every good.
February 8, 2012
This movie let me experience something I would have probably never experienced without it: Black and white propaganda with Batman mixed in somehow. This movie was really funny at some points, but definitley not in a good way, such as how the government got rid of "those shifty eyed Japs." Holy propaganda Batman!
December 27, 2011
The first appearance of Batman on screen! The effects were admittedly cheap, even for 1943 standards, and Batman's physique was rather portly, even for 1943 standards, but we were in the middle of WWII, so what do you expect? The villain, Dr. Daka, is politically incorrect and an anachronism today. In some respects, it was more authentic than the later 1949 serial (e.g. the utility belt looks very much like Adam West's, while the 1949 version was just a plain old yellow belt with no compartments).
½ November 6, 2011
haha too cool. great to see something from the black and white era that is still watchable. The fight scenes are hillarious, where batman and robin get the crap kicked out of them before winning everytime and every episode follows the same formula. Progress the story a little bit, have a fight scene, and leave on a cliffhanger. Also its funny because it was set during WWII and the villian is japanese so there is some good wholesome racism thrown in there as well. Good times.
Page 1 of 5