The Scarecrow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Scarecrow Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 25, 2015
very good and still pretty funny Keaton at his best
November 14, 2013
The incredible multi-functional house. This is a short about two roommates in a cramped (but efficient) house, competing for the same girl. If you've been monitoring my reviews, you may notice I have been on a bit of a Buster Keaton kick as of late. I don't think I am ever going to get tired of him, to be honest, and just watching these shorts never fails to put a smile on my face. You have plenty of visual gags, and there are a number of feats to behold. For example, there are complex physical jokes where the timing has to be perfect, and you know that they had to shoot it about 80 times to get right. The bit with the "rabid" dog works really well, and there was never a point that I wasn't having a good time. It's only 20 minutes long, so there is only so much I can comment on, but this is once again another winner from Keaton.
½ October 8, 2013
The opening meal sequence may have inspired the opening minutes in An American in Paris. Classic footage throughout.
February 12, 2013
This Buster Keaton short hits almost the whole way through for me, mixing perfectly realized comic sight gags into a cute romantic story, all set on a farm. The style of this film was heavily influenced by Keaton's days with Roscoe "Fatty" Arbuckle (his overweight counterpart here being played by Joe Roberts instead) and even featured some direct components...including Arbuckle's trick dog, Luke (who helps out greatly with the film's very funniest scene). Here, however, Keaton shows that he is no longer a supporting player but a star, sliding the heavyweight actor over into a side role and bringing his own brand of physical humor out in front. And as far as physicality, Keaton pulls out all the stops. To watch a signature Keaton chase is to be entertained but exhausted; here he runs from a mad dog, the angry father of the girl he loves and moving vehicles, and he does so with that unmoving stone face that makes everything so much funnier. Totally original and entertaining from start to finish, this is one of Keaton's most rewatchable short films.
August 9, 2012
Short movie but delivers every element required in a comedy movie .
May 26, 2012
You have to appreciate early films like this. Buster Keaton is great.
March 8, 2012
85

Buster and co-star Joe Roberts live in a small one-room house but compensate for it by building clever devices and machines to make the one-room feel like five rooms. Their home-life runs smoothly, that is until they begin to fight over the same girl.

The Scarecrow promotes one of Buster's iconic skills, his engineering ingenuity. Seeing this incredible marvel of a house more than makes this film worth watching. It's amazing how innovative and clever these devices are, devices that Buster built himself. And what makes it even better is how impressive the machines are by today's standards. I would love to live in that house.

Aside from the clever inventions, The Scarecrow has some other great moments, and overall, is pretty funny. It's not as funny as one might hope, but it's still a really fun experience. The story is a bit tired and overdone but the film is still very enjoyable.
½ February 19, 2012
Another brilliant short from Keaton. It never gets boring!
January 17, 2012
Ingenious ideas for what to do with a one-roomed house and hilarious chase scenes make for a great movie.
Super Reviewer
December 29, 2011
The film "The Scarecrow" is 18 Minutes in Length but delivers a feature film's worth of laughter! While Keaton plays the part of the scarecrow fairly late in the short film it's the dog chase scene that is the centerpiece of the movie. The dog does some pretty crazy work when it climbs the ladder but it's Keaton who displays the most adept sense of athleticism. The guy was blessed with an extraordinary talent to create and employee his creations to the best of his abilities to make comedic gold. The ending sequence in which Keaton and Sybil Seely (the farmer's daughter) ride the motorcycle into the lake and the parson, also precariously on board, marries them in the water. The film ends with this and a closing out of Keaton's face spitting out water, it's genius! This is another one of the many short films of Buster Keaton that are some of the best moments in comedy history!
½ October 12, 2011
This was even better than Keaton's One Week! My favorite so far of his. The opening scene is just amazing with the dining table. Also loved the dog-chase sequence. One hilarious act after another, but it is so clever! Details.
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2011
The opening sequence with the string-operated dining-room gadgetry is just blindingly brilliant. The remaining minutes are a letdown in comparison, but the first section can not be missed.

The film is 20 minutes, rather than two as listed above.
September 8, 2011
I think this is my favorite Buster Keaton short so far, it's so inventive, creative and hilarious that I really loved it. Buster Keaton is incredible as the irreverent scarecrow and the one-room house is interesting, I would like to have one like that.
August 6, 2011
Buster Keaton, Sybil Seely, and Joe Roberts make a fine comedic trio in one of Keaton's best shorts.
Super Reviewer
June 19, 2010
Once again Buster Keaton cleverly crafts some fun scenes with a unique and original quality to them. Another good short from the talented slapstick star.
May 1, 2010
The first Buster Keaton movie I've seen. It was alright.
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2009
Great creativity and inventiveness by our classic genius comedy fellow. Don't miss this short out.

87/100
March 5, 2009
I laughed my butt off when I watched this! Especially the 'proposal' scene.
August 15, 2008
The whole dog-chase sequence goes on for a little bit too long, but aside from that, The Scarecrow is one of Keaton's best shorts.
There are basically three acts to the story: first, Keaton and Roberts demonstrate their remarkably rigged house, swinging salt and pepper between each other via a complicated rope-and-pulley system at the dinner table; second, Buster is chased by a dog for a long time (again, the weakest portion of the movie); third, Roberts and a farmer chase Buster in order to prevent him from going off and marrying the farmer's daughter.

The short is jam-packed with visual gags and amazing stunts. At one point during a chase, Keaton jumps on a horse and starts whipping it but it does not move. The camera slowly pans down and we find that the horse is attached to a wooden stand -- it is a fake.
That is just one of many wonderful scenes in The Scarecrow. It is absolutely classic Keaton.

P.S. Keaton Keaton Keaton.

P.S.2. Because they are in the public domain, you can find this (and many other KeatonKeatonKeatonKeatonKeaton works) on YouTube.
Page 1 of 2