The Picture of Dorian Gray - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Picture of Dorian Gray Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 13, 2017
Watching this movie is like watching a British soap opera on PBS.
August 30, 2011
A made for TV movie of one of the most controversial romantic stories...made by who else..Dan Curtis of Dark Shadows. Obviously it was watered down for TV audiences in the 70's with only subtext, but at the same time it went somewhere even the newer versions didn't dare go. Shane Briant takes on the lead role well. His Dorian is sweeter-looking, more aloof but much more evil. For example, Briant's character indulges in every hedonistic aspect including sex with a minor; and it's not ambiguous Very disturbing for a made for TV film.
May 22, 2011
The Ben Burns? one is excellent..I'd watch it
½ September 13, 2009
I didn't like this version at all and it had none of the power of the book I'm afraid
shesdownbytheriver
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2009
No thankyou - Not interested
March 14, 2009
A decent version of the Oscar Wilde masterpiece.
February 10, 2009
wtf, don't even bother. it was like watching an after school special, in victorian england. at least after school specials had some useful knowledge ... this was atrociously cheap.
½ October 26, 2008
Blech. I am looking forward to the new one that is supposed to be coming out in a year or so.
½ September 12, 2008
Mediocre treatment of great Oscar Wilde novel. Watch 1945 version instead.
½ August 10, 2008
This movie does a decent part of staying true to the novel however it does feel cheap as there were a lot of very poorly executed scenes even for a BBC production. It does capture some of the subtle elements but still there are some chunks missing.
November 6, 2007
The story is simple but meaningful, Shane Briant acted good! The picture in the film is really scared me!
July 3, 2007
The first word that comes to mind is "cheap." Maybe it's just dated, but I had a hard time being very interested in this one. It does an okay job of telling the story, but not in any sort of compelling way.
½ May 19, 2007
One of my favorite classics
April 19, 2007
Mainly just want to see it because i read the book
April 15, 2007
In your face Ian! Dont even look interesting anyways!!!(not just gettin you back for the eragon thing it really dont look all that great)
October 21, 2006
Dorian looks like a fop.
September 17, 2006
I've read this book. Now I need to see this movie.
September 15, 2006
supposed to be good will have to look for it
January 15, 2006
This didn't really do the b ook justice (maybe I just didn't find Dorian good looking enough) but it stayed pretty close to the book and that makes it semi-decent all the same.
Page 1 of 1