Treasure Island (Devil's Treasure) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Treasure Island (Devil's Treasure) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 19, 2017
Though limited in budget, this was not a film limited in imagination.
Not as grand as perhaps other versions, the charm of this adaptation is to be found in the characterizations; Heston, Glover, Cosmo, Bale and Postlethwaite to name but a few.
Perhaps a B Movie, but as good as such a movie can get.
May 1, 2015
Faithful retelling of Stevenson's novel, great 90's seafaring action movie. Soundtrack is excellent
April 15, 2013
An okay adaptation, but one with an incredibly memorable scene where Christian Bale shoots down a pirate from his perch on the ship's crow's nest.
April 2, 2013
Probably the most accurate version of the book portrayed on screen. Although the Disney film with Robert Newton is my favorite, this is definitely an enjoyable and darker take.
February 23, 2013
Not better. Just different
½ February 1, 2013
Christian Bale bebito *-*
August 3, 2012
Best adaptation of the book that I have seen, and actually one of my favorite movies.
July 26, 2012
Love this adaptation. the costumes and language were very real.
July 5, 2012
Heston plays Long John Silver the way Stevenson wrote him! Awesome performance.
April 10, 2012
never seen this version
April 10, 2012
Classic childhood favorite
January 29, 2012
I hated the book...don't think I'm gonna watch the movie
½ December 26, 2011
Of all the screen adaptations of this classic novel, I like this one the best. Charlton Heston, while not one of my favorite actors, nor one of my favorite people, is brilliant as Long John Silver, and the performances of the supporting cast are uniformly excellent. Realistic and well-paced, this adaptation puts real meat on the bones of its characters in a way that other adaptations do not. This is the adult version of a story that has otherwise only been adapted for children.
½ November 5, 2011
Far better than its made for TV nature led me to expect, this adaptation of the novel is quite entertaining, thrilling in the classic way, and filled with great actors. One of the better standard adaptations of the work that Iā(TM)ve seen. Check it out.
½ November 5, 2011
This TNT pairing of Charlton Heston and his director son Fraser C Heston weilds an incredibly entertaining adaptation of the classic Robert Louis Stevenson novel. Christian Bale as the young Jim Hawkens thrust into the world of mutiny and pirates in a disastrous quest for buried booty. Fun small roles from Oliver Reed, Christopher Lee, Pete Postlethwaite, and Julian Glover guarantee a good night in at the movies. Not VF.
Super Reviewer
½ October 9, 2011
Lots of familiar faces. Not Terrible. Sticks pretty close to the book. Good production value for a TV movie.
½ February 17, 2011
The best adaptation of the book by far. Heston is excellent in the role as Silver, as are Christian Bale as Hawkins and Oliver Reed as Billy Bones. This really needs a DVD release, too few people have seen it!
December 15, 2009
This is the most brilliant movie version of Treasure Island by a long sea mile!

I cannot fathom why it has not been put out on DVD.

They got everything soooooo right for this one: story on target, perfect selection of actors (Charlton Heston, Christian Bale, Oliver Reed, Christopher Lee), absolutely awesome music by the Chieftans...

Unquestionably worth watching IMHO.
December 4, 2009
I hated the book...don't think I'm gonna watch the movie
September 24, 2009
The soundtrack, the script, the plot, everything is just perfect!!!!
Page 1 of 5