The Canterville Ghost - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Canterville Ghost Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ October 2, 2014
wrong cover 4 this also wrong date s/b 1944 not 1996
½ May 15, 2014
Probably The Best Of Many TV Versions Of The Classic Ghost Story. This Is A High-Spirited Family Classic, Which See's An American Family Move Into Canterville Hall, England. Where The Ghost Of Sir Simon De Canterville Has Haunted It's Halls For 400 Years. This TV Movie Is A Classic Gem, Which Features A Great Performance From Patrick Stewart As The Titular Charater. This Is An Old Fashioned Ghost Story Pulled Of In The Correct Format. It's A Great Family Drama, About Faith, Forgiveness & Love.
April 16, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie.
½ September 29, 2013
Esta ok, la veria otra vez
December 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this version.
December 7, 2012
Would like to see at some stage. Patrick Stewart sparks my interest...
November 16, 2012
Watching The Canterville Ghost with my girlies.
August 23, 2012
The Canterville Ghost has been remade, retold and reimaged more times than I care to count. The 1995 version diluted the very soul of a good tale.

The made for TV movie, diverted to a younger audience in the hopes of offering great literature and Shakespeare to entertain and spark education as a fun tool... no longer stands hold. Its outdated and dull.

Surprisingly 12 years ago it was a hit winning 1 Emmy, 1 Saturn award and 4 Family film Awards for reprising the tale and buffering a great soundtrack.
½ July 29, 2012
A story that's done to death (no pun intended), although Steward could simply just read the phonebook and make it sound like Shakespeare.
July 19, 2012
A great movie I would always watch
November 26, 2011
One of the better ghost kids movie I have seen in a while. The whole family will love this one. Great cast and story!!! A Must See!!!!!
November 17, 2011
Patrick Stewart brings this classic tale to life. A fun and interesting movie for those who enjoy a good story.
½ November 2, 2011
Looks like there are several remakes based on the Oscar Wilde short story...I believe the original movie was 1944 with Charles Laughton...I have never seen any of them until I stumbled across this and decided to give it a shot. It isn't a perfect movie...some actors not so great...but I enjoyed it anyway and the story of a ghost haunting an old castle in England kept my interest for the most part....my 9 year old Grandson liked it. Neve Campbell and Patrick Stewart were good in their roles.
½ October 30, 2011
I absolutely love this...mostly because I would love anything that involves Patrick Stewart reciting Shakespeare. Stewart and Campbell are wonderful together, but the rest of the characters are pretty ridiculous. It's a beautiful story, but the silly, frantic search for Jennifer at the end of the movie ruins the mood. If that part were removed, I would give the film 4 1/2 stars.
September 29, 2011
I really enjoyed this one. :) Patrick Stewart is always worth seeing, and romance is fun to watch! :)
August 10, 2011
I really liked it. Very sweet movie. Just need to finish the book.
½ July 11, 2011
I thought I hated this movie for not following the story set up by the Wonderworks movie I loved . . . and then I actually read the book. Not a bad movie and not a bad adaption. And Patrick Stewart is good in practically everything.
March 27, 2011
I remember watching this as a kid, so I bought the DVD. It's cute, but that's about all I can say about it.
½ January 15, 2011
quite a random film but not too bad
½ November 9, 2010
I loved Oscar Wilde's story as a child and looked forward to this film, but was disappointed in everything except Patrick Stewart's ghost. He was rather magnificent, the rest of the cast wasn't.
Page 1 of 5