Gulliver's Travels - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gulliver's Travels Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Super Reviewer
July 4, 2016
A good, ambitious adaptation of the source material. Like the book, it gives one a lot to think about. I haven't watched a film that challenges the viewer to consider difficult questions so effectively in some time. The acting and the effects are also great.
November 14, 2014
I've seen the first hour and that is enough for me to talk about this movie. It's a confusing mess. It goes back and forth like a boomerang, and there's too many moments that don't add up. I think it's because I didn't read the book but even then that's doubtful. I'm comparing this with the phantom menace. But unlike this film though, I can someone understand what's going on. This film is just bad, I'm sorry. 4/10
May 8, 2014
I thought I could download it
½ March 14, 2014
This is actually a really good adaptation of the book.
June 24, 2013
Fantastic and epic; does all four voyages from the book while keeping them unique and interesting and maintains the social and political satire from Swift's time, which still feels relevant today. The frame story of having Gulliver retelling his adventures in the present day is a nice twist and blends cleverly with the voyages, though it does occasionally get a little repetitive.
March 25, 2013
Well concieved, but they just couldn't pull it off properly. Maybe if it had been a 4 hour PBS...
January 27, 2013
5 stars very close to the original book in terms of both satire and storyline. The other versions are garbage by comparison.
½ December 7, 2012
Was vey fun and like the book.
October 22, 2012
one danson's better efforts; buoyed by his continuous struggle and trials to prove his sanity. any long pause in this would have critically disabled the film.
½ July 13, 2012
This is one of the stupidest movies EVER made and a complete waste of time to watch; stupid and boring.
June 30, 2012
Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I have never watched a film that has explored the depths of human thought and passion. Passion i have never seen so much passion in one film when someone displays so much passion as one person has in this film they are always viewed as insane or far from the reality and what society deems as normal and acceptable. I think people that lack passion are foolish and dont really understand what it means to be alive. The character portrayed in this film was searching for a reason a why to the fact that they were a live why they were doing the things they were doing because society tells them to or because that is the burning desire of their heart. finding out the true meaning of what life is and what is so important it took them 8 years to figure it out but the fact that they were able to delve so far into their own psyche and emerge as a person that has grown and become something that is worth living its absolutely extraordinary to see. I am glad this film was made and I am glad it took on the storyline that it did its an amazing film i highly recommend everyone to watch this and if you cant dedicate 3 hours to something that is brilliant and challenges you to think and delve into your own mind your own hear your own passion and desires then your just an idiot.
½ May 13, 2012
much better than the jack black version
May 5, 2012
I consider it one of the most enjoyable films ever. It is perfectly done, fits for all ages and can really entertain anyone! It has a very deep message to humanity; but, who cares to listen!
I never have enough of it!
May 4, 2012
Fantastic acting, and a fantastic adventure.
Super Reviewer
April 29, 2012
Well made but disappointing
December 25, 2011
Best adaptation of the novel to date. cleverly using the humor that is in the book already the story takes us on all of Gulliver's adventures, because there wasnt just one. sure it doesnt follow it completely, some complaints about how many children Gulliver had (which is the most unimportant detail to complain about). it might be long but it doesnt lose the point of the original story. if you are to lazy to read it, because it really isnt that long, watch this movie. they add to the satire of the adventure in creating another story: what happens when Gulliver returns.
½ August 5, 2011
A pretty faithful interpretation as far as I remember. It didn't feel very abridged and the sequences from novel were well integrated for the most part with the added story of Gulliver's return and the asylum/hospital. Danson played the Gulliver role well and with a straight face, and the Dr. Bates character was easily detestable and casually manipulative, which made the invented portions more likable and bearable.
Overall, an enjoyable watch.
June 7, 2011
It certainly looks amazing and features some great actors, but some of the satire of the original story is lost I feel as the film concentrates a bit too much on the story of Gulliver's struggle to convince the doctors and his wife he's not mad.
May 30, 2011
not looking forward to the remake, loved this as a child and rewatched it recently. This stories reveal truths about the 'real' world that the officials don't want to admit to themselves.
February 5, 2011
Watched it in class.

Its by Hallmark, but its definitely more acceptable than the Jack Black movie.
Page 1 of 8