The Patriot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Patriot Reviews

Page 1 of 13
½ March 20, 2016
Seagal shows a little more range here [a little] and in a lot of ways this is 100% better than a lot of his straight-to-dvd work to follow but even as a Seagal vehicle, this actually would have worked better with someone else.
½ March 30, 2015
Steven Seagal. Cowboy, boss, father, animal lover, cook, physician, doctor, ex CIA agent, martial artist, graphic designer, friend, christian, brother, native-american, shaman, scientist. Get all this and more, all for the price of a single movie.
July 21, 2014
I remember being disappointed that this was not the Mel Gibson movie I actually wanted to see when my mom came home from the video store. Nevertheless, it was a fairly decent movie.
January 15, 2014
this movie is the best
June 11, 2013
Seagal tried to make a movie without beat anyone up..It's a disappointment..
½ May 2, 2013
Tuesday, March 5, 2013

(1998) The Patriot
ACTION DRAMA/ SOCIAL COMMENTARY

(Contains spoilers)
Straight-to-rental starring Steven Seagal as a family doctor... seriously, I think he's played almost every blue collar role except lawyer. Anyways, militia group release a rare virus to a small town by contaminating the local judge first. The only people who seem to be immmune are Steven Seagal, his daughter and Native Americans and the cure- silly as this sounds are the pollin on a type of flower. And then to top it off we get to hear Seagal's enviromental lecture babblings.

As an action film, there's hardly any- as a matter of fact viewers don't see any action until after the 50 minute mark, and it's so few and lame too. One of the worst movies Seagal has ever been involved in. I mean, we don't watch Steven Seagal for his brilliant acting like WTF.

1 out of 4 stars
January 22, 2013
Oh Seagal, why!? You used to be respectable... Well, respectable enough. This film was just not good.
January 1, 2013
Great action, like only Seagal can deliver!
December 30, 2012
This is among Steven Seagals best films in my opinion. I found out later from the internet, that the film is an adaptation of a book called "The Last Canadian" by William Heine.
Seagal plays an immunologist who worked for the CIA and has to figure out a cure for a bioengineered disease spread by an anti-governmental militant group.
The story involves a child that he is protecting, native people, and of course action. The story works, the film doesn't have foul language or excessive violence, and the plot was rather interesting.
December 7, 2012
Seagal run of the mill action movie
½ October 31, 2012
Seagal looks horrible in this horrible movie.
August 14, 2012
A different kind of Seagal film
May 14, 2012
HELLA LOVE DiS FLiKK...II <333 STEVEN SEAGAL
April 3, 2012
this seagal movie is a weak offering, while it has seagal doing a different kind of role, and actualy having to act for most of it, the lack of action makes it a very dull movie, and when the handfull of fights do come at the end, they arn't worth it, not compared to previous seagal offerings, avoid
½ February 5, 2012
I really liked this film. It seems contrary to the cop/agent roles Seagal had taken previously, but I think he pulled off Dr. McClaren pretty well.
February 4, 2012
I love all of Steven Seagal's movie.
August 8, 2011
Premier Direct-to-DVD et premier mauvais film dans la carriere d'un STEVEN SEAGAL qui s'est empate a partir de ce film. Long, ennuyeux, mais avec 10 dernieres minutes rejouissantes et surtout un casting assez satisfaisant, THE PATRIOT ne merite pas la moyenne.
½ January 27, 2011
I wish I could like this more, especially since it deals with the Montana Militia and looked and felt like an episode of Walker Texas Ranger (minus the awesomeness). However watching Seagal trying to find a cure for a virus is stupid. When he does fight it's great, otherwise pretty dumb.
December 8, 2010
Eco-friendly butt kicking? Meh, go drink some tea.
Page 1 of 13