The Secret - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Secret Reviews

Page 1 of 70
½ March 10, 2016
Never seen a shittier and more boring documentary in my life. This takes far too long to get to the point, it's frustrating.
January 25, 2016
Good reflexive movie based on the book.
December 13, 2014
Complete non scientific non sense
½ November 29, 2014
With all it's vibrancy, The Secret plays the viewer with it's power of suggestion, even so, it never quite gives a real tangible to-do-how, as it seems to repeat itself with something that sounds too good, but uncertain if it is true. Brainwash or not, it certainly plays the ruling of religion, but in a even fouler way.
October 28, 2014
Terrible documentary based on lies. Do not waste your time.
Super Reviewer
½ October 9, 2014
I don't know what is worse, the fact that this atrocious, unscientific nonsense espoused by a bunch of quacks is completely unfounded (and even dangerous), or that its appalling "message" is repeated over and over again as a horrible infomercial for endless ninety minutes.
September 8, 2014
When I first came back to my home country after living overseas for many years in an non-English speaking country, everybody was raving about the secret. So I had to see what everyone was talking about. I thought what a lot of brainwash. Of course you can create your own destiny but you have to put the effort in which creates the output. Just thinking about something is not going to bring it alone.
June 9, 2014
This documentary will open your eyes to the secret that all of the great people in history knew. Find this movie and change your life. This world can be yours. Not really, (lol) but you can do whatever you want.
½ May 26, 2014
This movie deserves zero stars. What an incredible waste of time it would've been to watch the entire film.
May 26, 2014
Read the book, or watch the film. Both are good, but become boring and overwhelming together.
½ March 23, 2014
A vile combination of pseudo-scientific psychospiritual babble, and an elitist and greedy attitude toward the vest of society.

The film continually misrepresents the ideas of quantum mechanics, modern physics, and electromagnetism, with utter disregard for established scientific evidence. It then tacks onto this a materialistic and selfish message of wealth above all else.

It also hugely victim blames for anyone facing any sort of negativity, with no regards for socio-economic environments and geopolitical factors. Humanity is viewed as a petty weakness in comparison to your perfect and deserved middle class wealth.

The Secret is nothing secret, but is instead a rehashing of the same old self-help drivel that has been spouted for decades.

Do not watch at any cost, it is an embarrassing waste of time.
March 15, 2014
Watched on Netflix. Amazing
February 9, 2014
Really good documentary. Well laid out. Also there is a book and a audio cd version as well.
½ October 23, 2013
Man! The bullshit! I believe in positive thinking, not dwelling on the past and all that, but damn, these fucktards take it to the next level - even attempting to interject real actual science into this wacko belief system! I have never seen a self-help (is that was this is?) video, so the tone was very disturbing to my brain.
½ September 7, 2013
Rotten Tomatoes has mixed-up two films, and included both of them on the same page. One is a documentary and the other is a film staring David Duchovny, Lili Taylor and Olivia Thirlby. I will comment on the latter. "The Secret" is a neat little script that was practically carried (single-handedly) by Olivia Thirlby, who (in my opinion) delivered the best-ever performance by a teen actress. It's hard enough for a youth to play one role, let alone two (in the same film). I could heavily feel both of her characters, so much that I couldn't help but cry at the end. Olivia took a low-budget film and turned it into something worth watching several times. Bravo.
June 25, 2013
Simply Amazing and when all the thoughts that where scattered before come together it will change your life
½ June 23, 2013
It is convincing even if it is utter crap. I tried The Secret for about a week and it might have been one of the worst weeks I have had in a long time (not that that is related in any way to :"The Secret" but it was amusing). The Secret isn't well made. In fact it was amateurish at best but the enthusiasm from the interviewees seemed genuine and helped move The Secret along. Everyone knows that positive attitudes help in our daily lives but in no way shape or form do they make you rich, famous, or emulate waves of positivity that will pay off in the long run. No matter what we think much of life is chance mixed with a bit of divine intervention. Watch The Secret with a bit of humor and it isn't half bad but the crap being sold can't be taken seriously. As entertainment it passes if you don't take it seriously otherwise it comes of boring and preachy.
½ June 13, 2013
It was suggested by someone that I watch this. I only got 11 minutes through it, and then went on to watch a deleted scene, which basically summarize the whole thing. I'm not sure how I feel about it just yet.
½ May 18, 2013
I heard in this film, it teaches you, if you wish hard enough, you get what you want... i wish for a new car... wait, no new car
½ March 26, 2013
mala....pensé que era una película y es como un documental de 1992...buen mensaje pero mm se ve falso
Page 1 of 70