My Name Is Bruce - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Name Is Bruce Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 28, 2008
Low midrange in the Master's oeuvre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 29, 2008
The only things missing from this unfunny Campbell love fest are a passable script, Sam Raimi's inventiveness, and a level of sophistication beyond nose-picking.
December 5, 2008
Comedy/horror movies like Slither and the Evil Dead movies have already done this sort of thing a lot better.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 4, 2008
no matter how much Campbell fans may like the amiably daft and cheesy My Name Is Bruce, they would probably prefer to be liking it a little more
October 26, 2008
One-note insider navel-gazing with no aspirations except to excite its adoring base.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 8, 2008
Its a shame to see such talent squandered here on such a one-note performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
December 19, 2008
Light as air, My Name Is Bruce is good for a mild chuckle, not a belly laugh. As any Campbell fan knows, managing expectations is key to getting the most from his work.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 31, 2008
Willing as Campbell is to Shatner-ize himself, his movie will appeal only to true believers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 13, 2008
Campbell may do a great job of playing himself, but both the character and the actor deserve a better project.
February 12, 2009
Doesn't really cut it as a horror or a comedy despite Campbell's undeniable charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 14, 2010
Smug, silly, and forgettable, this vanity project wants to be the next cult hit but really is just another vehicle for Bruce Campbell...
December 12, 2008
It gets by on its concept for a little while but too often mistakes stupid-stupid for clever-stupid.
November 28, 2008
Some horrible racism, odd country theme song breaks, bad gay jokes, and awful action crowd out what works about My Name is Bruce - the reverse love letter to the fans that have kept Campbell a star.
December 11, 2008
As director, [Bruce Campbell] trips through gory gags and gallows humor with more tenacity than talent, while onscreen he mugs shamelessly.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 31, 2008
The fact that My Name Is Bruce knows what it's doing doesn't mean it's funny.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 31, 2008
While sporadically funny, the sophomoric My Name Is Bruce is no Bubba Ho-Tep.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 7, 2008
Preening and fleeing like a grunge-flick Bob Hope, Campbell's the whole show, but a little of his meta-referential shtick goes a long way.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 12, 2009
Pretty bad, but in a way, we'd be disappointed if it wasn't...it's all about Campbell, a limber linguist whose verbal sense seems straight out of the '40s, and a game physical comic. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 5, 2008
Even when helping to design his own vehicle, he's once again the best thing in a second-rate movie.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
January 14, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Page 1 of 2