247F - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

247F Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 19, 2018
Spoiler Warning
247 Degrees F was based on a true story... in the sense that some people got stuck in a cooling sauna for 10 hours. That's sort of where the excitement ends for the true story. The movie blows it up to an extremely dramatic level as movies do; having someone die, the heat never stops climbing, and the people inside are kind of ridiculous. Whoever wrote this story doesn't seem to like women, as the two girls trapped in the sauna are irrational, annoying, and 1000% useless. The one guy is the only person trying to get them out of there, sacrificing himself in many ways to get them free, while the girls complain, whine, and do nothing but hurt them all. I think it could have been an interesting concept if the characters weren't so unbearable.
September 12, 2016
Within a confine space, this movie acted well and it was quite exciting and gripping the fight to survival.
½ April 25, 2016
A concept that might actually be interesting, or at least campy fun, in the right hands instead results in a completely laughable excuse for thrills due to the pure lack of competence of the filmmakers involved with this film's production. The production value feels like made-for-TV quality: one scene has camera angles that wouldn't feel out of place in a hidden camera prank show. The characters are inexcusably unlikeable and unsympathetic, even the ones that are clearly supposed to be likeable. The actors (all five of them) are horrible. The writing is all over the place, with characters knowing every working detail of how a sauna works, but having no idea what heat stroke is and thinking sticking a wet rag in a light socket is a good idea: all of this, of course, only comes into play once the characters are done screaming at the top of their lungs over and over. There's not much more to say about this one except that it's one of the worst films ever made. Everyone involved should be ashamed of themselves.
½ March 26, 2015
this shouldnt be classed as a horror or isnt scary or gory. the idea is good as fuck everyone would be frightened nuts eyc if thought they were trapped in a sauna. major problem the actors all pish and annoying.
February 20, 2015
A horror film about a sauna? Get real.
½ January 20, 2015
Well this was a pleasant surprise. I bought the film largely on the back of the trailer and reviews and having expected another teen horror, it was nothing of the sort. I was actually witnessing a story based on true events about a group of teenagers that are trapped inside a sauna, with the temperature rising every second. I was therefore tricked into what the movie was actually about, but for once that wasn't a bad thing - in fact it would possibly get more viewers if it let on a little bit about what the events were actually depicting. The cast are all famous from their appearances in other teen shows, and undoubtedly picked because of their perfect bodies as opposed to any great acting talent, but if you fancy seeing some scantily clad specimens getting all clammy and moist then you've got your wish for pretty much one hour here. It concentrates well on the story, and isn't sidetracked by graphic gore or suspense. In fact it's not really a horror at all other than the fact that it's a torrid thought being trapped in such an environment, but programmes like Michael Burkes 999 used to do that to me too. If you want the horror version of this concept then I have seen similar in the likes of the Steam Experiment so for those left disappointed by this, I'd treat your psychotic minds to that instead. Personally, I appreciated both, more so because I can connect with the trauma of such a setting, given I can only usually last a few mins in Saunas and steam rooms at the best of times!
½ December 4, 2014
This is one of the shittiest among shittiest horror films that I have ever seen. The plot is stupid. The acting is annoying. The music is generally unfitting. The movie is too long for what it's about. There's so much filler. Two chics in lingerie almost the whole film is the only redeeming quality of this film, but not enough to raise it from the lowest rating that I can give to any film.

Nothing is logical in the film. How does nobody have a cell phone? Or carries it on them and then the way they get locked in was so ridiculous and how they escape too...the worst part about the film. Let's try the sauna...okay too hot, jump in the lake...too wet, back in the sauna...one of the characters says he needs to piss...but is so drunk he trips over stuff allowing a random ass ladder to lodge between the door and some shelf or something causing the other three to be tortured in the sauna until the end of the movie. Dumbest plot ever? It is. Creativity doesn't exist anymore in horror. The genre's is as dead to white people as hip-hop is to black folks.

What's even weirder about this film is the reunion of the adult Michael Myers as the savior of the film along with the girl who played his childhood babysitter, Laurie Strode. Why they are both again in another "shitty" horror film is beyond me. Besides the beginning of the reboot, I liked films.
½ June 10, 2014
I felt this film's cast delivered and the storyline is great. The idea of this happening as a movie plot is something I've never seen in any movie. It's well executed for a low budget movie, but the pacing and reason the got stuck could have been better than what they provided.
½ February 5, 2014
This sizzling spa has just inspired me not to ever go to a sauna! EVER!
January 12, 2014
Jaa, teinit lähtee viikonlopuksi mökille, tässäpä varsin tuore idea! Yks ottaa pari shottia ponua ja muut paheksuu kun siitä joutuu humalaan, hyi kauhea! Sitten mennään alkkarit päällä saunaan, tytöillä tietysti on myös rintsikat. Sitten tietysti tämä kännikala sekoilee heti urakalla kun on menny läträilemään syntisellä alkoholilla, ja telkeää vahingossa muut 80-asteiseen saunaan. Tunnin loukussa oltuaan tyypit sekoaa täysin, paitsi se yks joka oli jo valmiiksi hullu, ottaa sankarin roolin ja pelastaa kaverinsa. Maailman paskimmat näyttelijät, ja ohjaaja ei oo varmasti ikinä ees nähny yhtään elokuvaa, mutta jotenki silti elokuvan katsominen vitutti yllättävän vähän.
December 22, 2013
Another one of those "trapped" type horror films..starts out interesting then bordom sets in.
December 19, 2013
It was dum and boring
December 9, 2013
I just needed something to watch while I was cycling on my trainer...that's about it. I used the sauna at the YMCA today after my swim. It was relatively uneventful.
November 28, 2013
Amusing and different
October 17, 2013
Somehow this movie with the simple premise of three young people get locked in a steam room absolutely failed to make a halfway interesting movie. It's incredibly slow, dull, boring, and absolutely apathetic. None of the "victims" are sympathetic, both women are relegated to dumb shrieking, act on impulse nutjobs. The dude is given ALL the exposition to explain the "science" and "logic" behind what they can and cannot do. There's absolutely no tension except when will this movie end? How could the filmmakers have turned in such a poor film? How do you fail to execute an entertaining "locked in a steam room" movie?
½ September 29, 2013
The above the average performances and direction make this rather dull film a fun one. Hot as hell.
½ September 28, 2013
Not a great film by any standard: short on plot, generic characters and a lack of things for them to do and say which really hampers the movie from going anywhere. However it is shot and acted to a much higher standard than you might imagine. While watchable I'm sure most viewers will be thinking of a dozen things they would try given the same situation and be saddened that the film makes explore nothing beyond the obvious.
July 19, 2013
Great movie I definitely recommend it.
July 6, 2013
SPOILERS WITHIN: This is an interesting idea, and worth watching! I am pretty sure the female characters would have died if not for the bloke, who tried out several different ideas for escape or improvement whilst they sat there and looked miserable. Some effects (like the 'dream escape') were pretty cool. This is packaged like a horror, and is set in the infamous cabin in the woods, but is actually more of a survival film. There is no gratuitous gore. My favourite moment? When she smashes the thermostat and the heater immediately comes back on. Mistaaaaake!
Page 1 of 3