28 Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

28 Up Reviews

Page 3 of 4
September 17, 2008
I think this one does the best job so far in drawing a social and economic picture of the whole of Britain.
September 1, 2008
The first in the series where one really begins to gain a clear picture of who these subjects are, and where they're headed in life. The segments are hit or miss, as some of the participants are simply too content or average to be all that interesting. But in Neil, Apted found a perfect example of why a project of this nature is necessary. Neil's story is touching and heartbreaking, and by providing a window into such a life, Apted lets us see just how great the documentary format can be.
½ August 5, 2008
It's fascinating to see the transformations from the students' initial interviews to where they are at this point. A superb installment of a groundbreaking documentary series.
August 5, 2008
see it ..see it before you get older .
July 27, 2008
It's at this point in the series that the truly epic scope of what's being undertaken really becomes clear. Incredible the twists and turns these lives take, often without regard to class or upbringing.
½ June 24, 2008
Really great idea for a documentary! It's interesting to see how people change over the years, and especially how they stay the same. I found out in this one that my favorite guy ended up being a traveling hermit teetering on the edge of sanity at 28. It made me sad.
June 18, 2008
This is a brilliant series. I'm looking forward to the next three installments!
½ May 21, 2008
the kids are growin gup and becoming less pompous. yay! its cool to see what they are up to and glad to hear that some of them are doing ok. ive been watching fairly back to back and find to be a lot of repetition but that is my fault really
½ May 8, 2008
I've watched all in this series except 35 Up and find them very interesting. A good documentary on class differences and how that affects various people over the course of their lives.
April 11, 2008
With this fourth installment, captured in Margaret Thatcher's Britain, the series' social and philosophical implications really take shape. Neil's story is by far the most affecting - the cracks of a stable, optimistic childhood growing and swallowing him up as he gets older. But even when these individuals lead ordinary, predictable lives, their stories remain compelling. Through them, the Jesuit maxim that gave this series its premise ("give me the child until he is seven and I will give you the man") implies a path set for them by the social order, one determined by class structure as well as social convention.

Those who seemed most set at the age of 7 followed a blueprint of stability - that's not to say it was a calculated choice or even a conscious one, but for most of them, there is a sense of predetermination, a path that keeps them more or less comfortable but rigidly limits them in other ways. It's not something they complain about either; for the most part, they've settled into social complacency, regardless of their class or status. The handful of exceptions - like Peter and Neil - are on paths that are both unpredictable and uncertain.

Even more significant are those who advance well beyond their social upbringing; you get a sense that restrictions within British society are so rigid, the best chance of breaking free is leaving the system altogether (as two individuals did, immigrating elsewhere). But when the film follows their stories with Neil, showing us the other side of "breaking free," the dull allure of conformity and complacency becomes sobering and clear.
March 12, 2008
What's great about this segment is the reality check a lot of these kids have. Some are doing quite well, but most, whether they had a private or public education, are living normal middle class lives.
March 7, 2008
All of the Up films are worth seeing, but this is the one where the series becomes more than just a curiosity. Most subjects have married, a few with kids, and a few with missing parents, and to see what early adulthood has done to many of them in just four "chapters" is really quite remarkable. A great place to start with these movies, and Neil's story in particular is heartbreaking.
½ February 24, 2008
This is one is good and is much better than 21 up.
½ February 4, 2008
the films become more engaging and interesting as apted's social experiment progresses.
February 3, 2008
Getting more and MORE interesting. Life is a cruel mistress sometimes.
½ December 30, 2007
It's great to see what questions Apted will ask.
December 14, 2007
I'm in love with all of these people now.
December 12, 2007
Man if this is so boring, how come I keep watching it? I'm at 28 now. That crazy dude better get better at 35! Becasue I'm 33 and feeling a little crazy myself! Holy shizzy!
½ November 17, 2007
this is one of the more interesting films in the series, but you have to begin with 7 Up... and work your way throug.
November 13, 2007
just one in a series of documentaries about english kids/adults who tell about their lives every 7 years. a somewhat sad, but true, tale of what life does to people over the years.
Page 3 of 4