Altered Minds (The Red Robin) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Altered Minds (The Red Robin) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 10, 2018
Just saw this last night (2018). I was riveted. I realize there are some problems with this film, but I found it very intriguing, though dark and depressing. I liked Judd Hirsch's character as a dying, obviously loving father, juxtaposed with his dark secret which suddenly becomes exposed at the very end of his life. Not sure I understand why all the members of the family suddenly start regaining their memories at the same time. Was just coming home the trigger? Anyway, as someone who enjoys dark, disturbing movies, I found this movie tense and suspenseful and ultimately time well spent. But don't expect any happy endings.
March 19, 2018
This is a highly charged movie. A family in crisis due to the illness of the father, but deeply broken and wounded. Due to subject matter only (non-deadly violence/a small amount of blood) I would rate this as a hard R. I found myself involuntarily holding my breathe during portions of this film. Ironic due to the condition of the main character. Acting was superb. Judd Hirsch (as Dr, Shellner) was the standout, but the entire ensemble worked well together and seemed to be relatable. The soundtrack did venture into hyper-dramatic drive in parts, but the excellent performances kept me watching. While the movie takes a while to get going, it seemed like the last 30 minutes raced to the conclusion. I can see this more effectively unfolding in dramatic play than in cinema format. Some scenes needed a little editing, but that is nitpicking. I cannot recommend this movie as entertainment, but I can recommend it as education and enlightenment. The last 2 lines of this film spoken by Judd Hirsch were amazing. I am not sure if they belong to the scriptwriter or someone else, but they resonated in my mind after the closing credits ended.
November 12, 2017
Excellent and kept my interest throughout the movie. Great ending.
December 21, 2015
COOL movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!
December 17, 2015
Interesting plot, but not your Holiday film enjoyment.
December 10, 2015
Kept me on the edge of my seat. There is a twist and not expected. The acting is intense.
½ December 1, 2015
I am a thriller and horror film aficionado but this clever, suspenseful movie kept me guessing throughout. The character development, which is often lacking in today's thrillers, is akin to Hitchcock and Christie. The location, on a large estate in the dead of winter, sets the perfect tone for the movie. Excellently cast with stellar performances by Judd Hirsch as the father and Ryan O'Nan who plays Tommy, his troubled adopted son. C.S. Lee fans from Dexter will not want to miss him in this movie. As the film progresses, you begin to wonder if Tommy is crazy or if perhaps, there is truth to his accusations about his father. Caroline Lagerfelt, who plays Tommy's mother is the perfect mix of caring mother and doting wife. She remains neutral for most of the film although there is a pivotal scene where you can see her doubts rise. One by one, the family members begin to unravel. Mr. Wechsler has done a fantastic job developing the storyline, which leads up to an ending you did not see coming.
November 30, 2015
I just got done watching this unexpected multiple twist thriller and I was so impressed. I am not normally a big Indie film guy but thought I would check this out after seeing the trailer. I was also lured by Judd Hirsch. This movie leads you on a journey through many twists, hurdles, and tunnels to a pleasing, completed conclusion. I look forward to watching other indies now. Thanks Altered Minds for altering my Indie opinion!
½ November 30, 2015
Don't be swayed by the overwhelming viewer ratings, Altered Minds is a decent psychological thriller, hardly a must see.
½ November 24, 2015
Altered Minds keeps you wondering until the end who is telling the truth and looking for clues to the truth behind the family mystery. From the first scene the film puts you off center and it continues to make wonderfully strange twists and turns that surprise you. When it all comes to light you are left feeling satisfied and wanting more of this dysfunctional family.
November 24, 2015
This is a compelling psychological thriller that can keep even the best of analysts guessing about what really happened. The layered writing combined with this superb cast, really makes this a must see movie.
Page 1 of 1