Amish Grace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Amish Grace Reviews

Page 2 of 3
June 22, 2011
I'm interested in the Amish and I remember the shooting. this is a good movie but its made for day time tv and isnt the most thrilling film...
Super Reviewer
½ May 22, 2011
This movie is based on the real life shootings that occurred at the Nickel Mines, Pennsylvania schoolhouse in October 2006.

Apparently, a man grief stricken over the loss of his baby daughter decided to go to the Amish schoolhouse and shoot all the females before killing himself.

The story revolves around the Amish community's ability to forgive the murderer and their kindness towards his widow.

Although, the widow had no prior knowledge of her husband's actions, I can see how easy it would be to hate him and channel their anger towards her over the situation.

The only thing that confused me (and wasn't explained in the movie) was how they could forgive the murderer but the main character's sister was being shunned for falling in love with an Englishman.

I still don't understand THAT logic but the movie definitely made me re-examine my priorities and marvel at the power of forgiveness.
April 25, 2011
Wonderful use of film - teaching us what we all must do - even for our own good when wronged by others. So hard to forgive but so necessary...
April 16, 2011
One thing I did not understand was why the shooter shot the five girls and let the boys go, they never did explained that. But overall it was a good movie.
April 5, 2011
Gotta love the Amish. Great movie
March 31, 2011
I watched the movie last night and cried and cried. Such a heart-wrenching story of God's power to place GRACE into His children's hearts and allow them to forgive the unforgivable.
March 23, 2011
This was an amazing story & the Amish are very amazing people as well.. The name of the movie was very fitting too.
½ March 5, 2011
Flott film, som fremhever viktigheten av tilgivelse!
January 24, 2011
The movie is based on the real life events that took place in Nickel Mine, Pennsylvania in 2006 when a gunman entered an Amish schoolhouse and shot ten school girls. The gunman then killed himself. The Amish community immediately reached out in love to the widow of the gunman.
January 12, 2011
well i can't say i loved it, but i admire it i mean the story.......i don't chare all amish ideals BUT iiiii SO admire their faith as christians really, a total lesson for christian people cause and charlie's funeral people from church didn't go.. but the amish did...
January 9, 2011
With such a sad story that is true, it would be hard not be upset by facts. But the story is told very well and combined with the direction you feel for the main characters and become wrapped up in their lives.

I wish I had there strength.

A tear jerker that is worth watching. If is sensitively told and this is conveyed in the direction.
January 8, 2011
This film is incredible! Definitely one of the most painful tragedies imaginable, but also one of the best illustrations of true forgiveness that I've seen in my whole life. The grace shown by the families in this film is so clearly God's grace, providing the power to heal like no other way in the world. If you've ever been bitter about anything, you've got to see this film. It will blow you away!
½ November 17, 2010
A wonderful movie about the power of forgiveness.
November 5, 2010
Woow that was really sad.
October 30, 2010
Wow, what a powerful movie! I remember when this happened.
½ October 27, 2010
this is really a very nice movie... i am not a strong catholic... but i am amazed how ppl has such strong faith to forgive a man who kills their daughters.... and even offered to help the murderer's wife and family.... can anyone actually able to forgive to that extend? i know i cant.... the amish community has such strong faith in God, that every single word they speak has praises of God... to me is a little too much.....but nevertheless i truly enjoy the movie....
½ October 16, 2010
about forgiveness...
October 13, 2010
Excelente relato de la vida real, en el cual la fe y el amor, vence todos los sufrimientos y pruebas de la vida.
October 13, 2010
The Nickel Mines school shooting is one of those I remember the most vivid. Because it was so human. A milk man shooting children because his newborn daughter died years ago. Mindless and silly choice, but you can understand his pain. And the Amish are such mind-boggling a people. Like they have no emotions, like they don't experience pain or loss, like they didn't care enough. If someone killed my child I wouldn't forgive him no matter how much time passed by. And these people forgave the killer pretty much...immediately? It's just confusing.

Anyway...the film isn't a particularly good one. Pretty cheap production, and typical of a straight-to-TV movie. Simply okay. Informative and touching, but not deep enough or believable enough. Just facts with a little drama sprinkle - nothing special.
½ October 1, 2010
Pretty good for a Lifetime movie. The acting was refreshing for a change. I thought they treated the subject with delicacy and respect.
Page 2 of 3