The Beast of Yucca Flats - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Beast of Yucca Flats Reviews

Page 1 of 8
November 4, 2018
You loved him bumping into furniture in Ed Wood's "Plan 9 From Outer Space." You love his caricature in Drew Friedman's comic strips. You, of course, loved him for his iconic rubber mask with the cracked forehead. Now, in "The Beast of Yucca Flats," Tor Johnson plays a defecting Soviet scientist hit by a nuclear explosion, who then roams the flats as the titular beast, terrorizing hapless victims. That's pretty much "The Beast of Yucca Flats," This film is strictly "Robot Monster" quality of filmmaking (no sound was even recorded and the film was entirely re-dubbed, along with extensive and badly done narration), but if you enjoy Tor Johnson, it might possibly worth checking out.
June 24, 2018
The worst of the Coleman Francis trilogy, The Beast of Yucca Flats is just ineptly made, with no direction, random dialogue, rambling narration, and well a pretty stupid monster, Beast of Yucca Flats needs to be seen to really understand how bad it is. Watch the MST3K version though.
January 9, 2018
This film is a joke, and the punchline is the jingling of money in the box office. No spoken dialogue as the only voices heard were dubbed as the mouths were either obscured or the camera switched to get a reaction to what was said. The narration is horrible, repeating simple phrases meant to supply subtext to the action. Fortunately the only way to follow the tenuous plot is with the narration as the acting & direction are rudimentary - like gradeschooler. This should be required watching at all film schools, just to scare students.
½ March 11, 2017
My nemesis, easily one of the worst films I've ever seen. A how to guide in not making a movie, as a filmmaker it hurts me to watch. The story, the characters, the cinematography, and especially the audio are all atrociously bad. I've seen it 3 times. 3 TIMES! Sober! Every time sober! It's not fair... it's not fair... Don't watch this movie, please don't watch this. Maybe with the MST3K commentary, if you're with friends. It commits the greatest sin of all, just being flat out boring, and watching it isn't something anyone should have to go through.
October 24, 2016
When Tor Johnson- an almnus of Ed Wood's films is cast as an important Russian scientist, it is immediately apparent that something is way, way wrong.

What were these people thinking when they made it? What in God's name propelled them to make this pointless garbage? I just do not know. THE BEAST OF YUCCA FLATS, like Coleman Francis's other 2 films is in a league of its own in terms of its abysmal awfulness- like THE SKYDIVERS and RED ZONE CUBA, it is absolutely one of the worst movies ever made. The only thing even decent about it is the score- which is repeated over and over and over again in this horrendously incompetent film. The score actually is the only good thing about any Coleman Francis film- but that's like saying that Joseph Stalin was worse than Adolf Hitler (which is true, IMO). This is a movie so bad that all the audio was put in after the film was shot- and you never see anyone speak on camera- all the dialogue is done off screen or at angles when you can't see the people's mouths move. This should be avoided like the bubonic plague.
August 15, 2016
I, for one, loved this movie.

9.3/10
June 12, 2016
This movie's slow pace (despite being only 53 minutes long) kills the suspense it tries too hard to create. Everything feels clumsy : the voiceovers, the overdubbed dialogues, the acting.
September 28, 2015
No. No. No. NO.
N.O.
Keep this thing away from me. It BURNS!
Now excuse me while I go shower with a rabid wolverine.
½ September 4, 2015
A movie even worse than 'Plan 9 From Outer Space'. Yet I couldn't stop watching it...

Everything about this movie is bad...but one amusing note, you don't see anyone talking on screen. Everything is narrated, or dialog is dubbed over with people's faces hidden so you can't see them talking. Very strange choice is filming.

Anyway, this is just bad. Tor Johnson happens to walk into a nuclear blast and becomes a strangling beast. Nonsense goes on and then it ends.
April 3, 2015
The Beast of Yucca Flats has a runtime of just 54 mins. Yet, somehow it feels like 54 years. Crazy Coleman Francis shot the movie with no sound, adding narration and tidbits of dialogue afterwards to accentuate the 'action'. The result? His film plays like a mini-budget monster movie masquerading as a bad episode of The Twilight Zone.
The editing's jumpier than a bag of jelly beans, but the real laughs come from our wannabe Rod Serling's narration. His mumblings range from pseudo-plot nonsense about Soviet secrets, right up to blow-by-blow commentary on obvious on-screen happenings. Spoiler alert: the movie ends on a shot of our beast cuddling a bunny. Hilariously bizarre.
½ July 16, 2014
Unwatchable, literally. the film is such low quality in some places that it's impossible to tell what's going on.
½ January 7, 2014
Even though this film isn't the greatest nor is the film bad. I don't know about everyone else but I actually like this movie. It is different and unique in its approach to its material which is exactly the goal, to be different. There may be some unintended laughs and sometimes it lags in its pacing but still, it is shot well, and it has some suspense.
½ August 16, 2013
A purse. A flag on the moon. How did it get there? These are the questions being asked by the narrator during scenes of an atomically-melted Tor Johnson stalking people in the desert in The Beast of Yucca Flats. This movie, as if you can't tell by my or other people's reviews, is just flat-out awful. Coleman Francis certainly knows how to NOT make a good movie. I can't even compare him to Ed Wood because at least Ed Wood makes entertaining crap with a bit of message behind it. This is just awful, and I couldn't wait for it to end. There's no recorded dialogue, like a lot of these awful movies, only the narration, and even that is sporadic. When it is on, it's horrendous and never makes any real sense. It was only natural that the crew from Mystery Science Theater 3000 would riff it in one of their episodes.
½ August 2, 2013
Like the Incredible Hulk, but without any redeeming qualities. This movie was made before the invention of things we now take for granted, like special effects, cinematography, editing, lights, character development, or plot. The movie is only 53 minutes long, and that's way too long. I had trouble staying awake after five minutes. Cutting out the padding, the movie would probably be around 15 to 20 minutes. There are movies that are so bad, they're good. This is not one of those movies.
½ June 11, 2013
The Beast of Yucca Flats is essentially a ticking time bomb, because within the entire first minute of the film is a nonsensical ticking sound and a half naked woman getting dressed. What's sad is that her breasts are probably the highlight of the film, and this was an assumption I made before passing a minute of the film which proves true, because next comes a terrible and empty shot of her being murdered by a fat man and then for the first and only time in film history, implied necrophilia. The implication comes from the viewers judgement because it has been stated that the only relevance this scene has to the rest of the fact that the director, Coleman Francis liked nude scenes and decided to incorporate one in. Good thing he did because now it's easy to determine the poor quality of The Beast of Yucca Flats within seconds, as well as witness the breasts women had in 1961.
But that's no compliment. The Beast of Yucca Flats can't decide whether to be a silent film or a talkie, and so comprehending the film seems to be a bigger challenge than having made it, but then again a statement like that is how a film like Manos: Hands of Fate gets made, another film considered one of the worst in existence.
And the technical side is a failure, as the lack of attributed qualities in the intro or even a piece of music set the viewer up for a intense-less venture into the mind of a $34000 filmmaker circa 1961 who still had less ambitions than Nicolas Cage's current career. Predominantly, for an aesthetically rough black and white film, the viewing experience is made worse by the horrible lighting which leaves no viewer bored by the inability to see. Much of the time is spent staring at a merely black screen, and that actually would have been a more pleasurable viewing experience than a film worse than the negative characteristics of Plan 9 from Outer Space and Manos: Hands of Fate combined, because at least both of those films were ambitious, and were both spectacular failures, whereas The Beast of Yucca Flats is merciless in its failure.
And there is no explanation as to what Yucca Flats is, but watching a bumbling fat man named Tor Johnson wander through them with a confused expression on his face, obviously due to Coleman Francis' poor direction not instructing the Swedish wrestler with what to do, is funny, but not worth the effort of a laugh.
It seems as if nobody bothered to plot out The Beast of Yucca Flats, because the characters just go into a desert or nuclear testing sight, whatever Yucca Flats is, and kill each other in a cheap fashion with guns and choking. It's like The Hunger Games had some kind of Abortion precisely 50 years before it was released and made this as a cheap monster thriller without a second thought to what goes into making a film. Literally nobody seems to have put effort into The Beast of Yucca Flats, and so why it was made at the expense of their time and money is an enigma to me. That includes monetary gain because nobody could have thought a Tor Johnson film would ever make money after his work with Ed Wood on some of the worst films in existence, primarily Plan 9 from Outer Space.
And the cinematography didn't know where to go what to do, and didn't even bother to film certain sequences and just repeated pre-used shots again and again in a stupid fashion, just like the cheap and repetitive sound effects.
Essentially, I didn't know what premise I was following in The Beast of Yucca Flats, but whatever it was I didn't like it. I didn't like any of it, event though the musical crew tried hard, and therefore it isn't difficult to consider why The Beast of Yucca Flats would be considered one of the worst of all time. It's amazing how many times you can fail and be so boring and long during a film that only runs for 53 Minutes, but I don't think anybody has ever seen it because the visual quality is too murky for anyone to see anything, and so the film practically is nonexistent.
½ March 22, 2013
Outch.. c'est pas de si tôt que je verrai un Coleman Francis en tout cas! Très très mauvais, long, sans aucune intrigue, filmé tout croche avec une narrative omniprésente pitoyable.
August 21, 2012
Perfect to watch on MST3K, but not by itself.
½ August 11, 2012
...my sanity is gone...but at least i survived to this huge piece of garbage that simply can't be called a movie... DON'T, and i quote, DON'T WATCH IT. Ok, it doesn't leave you like that, but you fell like it after you watch it.
Super Reviewer
June 5, 2012
"Touch a button. Things happen. A scientist becomes a beast."

This line sums up the entire plot of this no budget stinker, things just happen. I made the unfortunate mistake of watching this film without the MST3K commentary and that was a huge mistake. Despite being only 54 minutes in length, the film paradoxically feels a lot longer. By the last twenty minutes I was almost dozing off into sleep. Beyond the initial setup, the film is just watching a bunch of random things happening with a narrator saying lines of random broken dialogue that make no sense. Aside from technical failings such as the music looping over and over again to the point that it becomes mind-numbing, the biggest failing is the monster itself. These movies tend to only be as good as their monsters, and Tor Johnson is not good at all. His "deformities" only look like sun burns, and the wooden cane he carries makes him look like a grumpy old man rather than a terrifying rampaging monster. The other actors are a joke. The acting is so laid-back and stiff that it robs the film of any life. Aside from a few laughs, the only saving grace of this pile of B-movie trash is it is only 54 minutes.
Page 1 of 8