Beat Street - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beat Street Reviews

Page 1 of 17
April 26, 2017
Classic hip hop movie.
December 8, 2016
This should be in the top 100 of any Christmas Movie list!
September 7, 2015
This is the beginning and the bomb in the hip hop evolution. Did more for graphiti than all the efforts to stop it combined
½ April 13, 2015
Like most things 80's,this film is dated,long forgotten and wistfully overrated.
March 22, 2015
Surprisingly endearing 80s hip hop/breakdance film. Okay, the film isn't really a breakdance film, but I did get excited about that part. The film is more a time capsule of the early days of hip hop culture. Rae Dawn Chong is the only actor I was familiar with, but there are a number of recognizable musicians who perform in the film. The film tells the story of a group of up and comers looking for their breakout opportunities. It's nothing brilliant, but it's entrtaingin and features a likable cast of characters, along with a nostalgic 80s soundtrack that's worth checking out.
June 20, 2013
Fra tutte le pellicole dedicate alla cultura hip hop old skool, questa, sicuramente, è la migliore, e quella che rappresenta meglio lo spirito "street style" dei giovani newyorkesi degli anni ottanta, "discepoli" di questa "nuova onda" dei ghetto, la quale cambiò per sempre il modo di concepire e realizzare musica. Il contesto che viene messo in luce si allontana parecchio dai luoghi comuni della comunità afroamericana. New York City si discosta notevolmente da quella città patinata di matrice hollywoodiana, e la regia ci mette sotto gli occhi un Bronx che, fino a quel momento, era quasi completamente inedito al pubblico del vecchio continente: quello delle jam session a ritmo di scretch e tecniche di turntablism organizzate negli edifici abbandonati, degli originali MC che si esibivano alle feste con il loro avveniristico freestyle ed i beat-boxer, o delle gare di danza fra i giovanissimi gruppi di break dancer come i Rocksteady Crew, e i New York City Breakers. Guy Davis invece interpreta uno dei primi disc jockey che cominciarono a produrre musica in prima persona con l'uso di pattern e sintetizzatori (prima forma di house music?). Il genere, più che il Rap nello stampo più classico, è prevalentemente l'electro funk: sotto-genere dell'hip hop, ormai estinto, che univa la metrica del break tempo con i suoni delle Roland 808, particolarmente in auge nelle discoteche americane poco prima che si affermasse definitivamente, nella tarda metà del decennio, la Chicago House di Marshall Jefferson e Steve "Silk" Hurley (se vi volete fare un'idea del tipo di sound, vi consiglio di ascoltare in streaming la radio "WBMX hot mix classics"). Naturalmente, l'inventore di questo stile di dance music, Afrika Bambaataa, fa la sua bella comparsa in una scena all'interno del Roxy assieme ai suoi "Soulsonic Force" (dai vestiti veramente buffi!! francamente... tra i "rapper" attuali, chi avrebbe il coraggio di preparare una performance così bella e divertente?). Ci sono comunque molte altre nostalgiche "meteore" che hanno segnato la nascita e l'evoluzione di questa corrente. C'è anche una parte drammatica, legata alla storia di un giovane "graffiti writer" portoricano, ed una sottovicenda romantica, focalizzata sul legame tra il già citato dj e una studentessa, coreografa in un prestigioso college (Rae Dawn Chong, l'unica attrice "famosa" che ho riconosciuto). Lo script, ad ogni modo, non si allontana troppo dalla sua natura di estrazione televisiva (il regista di Beat Street ai tempi fu molto attivo nell'ambito delle serie tv statunitensi). Storico e musicalmente sorprendente il finale, all'insegna di quello che fu l'ecletticismo multiculturale della grande mela.
December 7, 2012
Worth finding and watching!
½ August 8, 2012
Good Bboy/Bronx Footage
July 18, 2012
DVD Breaking Collection
½ May 20, 2012
This movie really helps you to appreciate the art of break dancing.
May 12, 2012
Wow I used to own this movie and watch it over and over again thinking it was sooo cool (during my break dance days). Electric Boogaloo was better this this the only thing that was cool about this movie was the break dance scenes. I mean I know that this was in the 80's but bleh.
May 9, 2012
Decent (not GOOD) display of hip hop roots...
April 21, 2012
Classic...a must see.
April 20, 2012
In the second grade I was copping the lyircs from the movie in class, & so began my love affair with Hip-Hop. True story, Lol!
April 18, 2012
Classic hip hop and story of the breaking scene..not much story was needed to explore the world of the hip hop culture and why it was such a big thing for teen youth back in the 80's this lifestyle was a great alternative from the scourage of street gangs and street violence..this was a perfect touch into the hip hop culture..classic!
April 16, 2012
Beat Street is about a group of teens who are trying to find their way in the big city. While the tribulations of a graffiti artist (John Chardiet) are more poignant than one would assume, the real point of this film is to serve as a showcase for New York's thriving hip hop scene. The movie is well seasoned with cameos and musical numbers by old school luminaries such as Grandmaster Melle Mel, Afrika Bambaataa, DJ Kool Herc, Doug E. Fresh, The Treacherous Three, Jazzy Jay, and The Rock Steady Crew. The storytelling in this film isn't really all that remarkable, but Beat Street is still a must-see for any fan of rap music.
½ April 8, 2012
I don't think I would want to watch this again. The club was nice, the dancing was mediiocre, I thought it has a better storyline than Breakin.
April 6, 2012
Surprised only 2 people have reviewed this. Not 2 be missed by any fan of the Hip Hop culture! Classic!
½ November 4, 2011
Loved this movies !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Page 1 of 17