Blacula - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blacula Reviews

Page 1 of 15
March 5, 2022
it wad OK not the best
½ March 29, 2019
Campy and entertaining, Blacula is a clever modernization of the Dracula story with events and characters that largely parallel the classic film adaptations somewhat more closely than Stoker's original novel. The film's approach to serious issues such as race relations, homosexuality, and the horror of a friend or loved one who becomes an enemy is, to some extent, a product of its times. Its fully embraces its status as an exploitation genre film, and its poignant and horrific moments are combined with gothic camp and intentional, sometimes off-color humor. Even so, Blacula is solidly constructed, with the dark shadows of traditional horror cinematography, an expressive funk and modern gothic score, and occasional expressionistic editing and sounds.
April 28, 2018
i thought this was really funny
½ January 23, 2018
Okay, so an African prince was bitten by Count Dracula, is resurrected in 1972, and chased by two disbelieving cops. Featuring Gordon Pinsent as the token honky.
December 26, 2017
Good exploration flick. All of the main actors are good in this film. An enjoyable sad story of a man cursed. One thing I could say negatively is that I wish the sun damage on the vampires as more graphic.
April 11, 2017
There are moments in this movie that are just so bad, but most of this movie is very of it's genre and time. If your interested in seeing classic 70's Blaxploitation films, I'd watch this.
January 28, 2017
William Marshall gives a devoted performance in this blaxploitation vampire flick, and it pays off for the most part. Dragging in certain areas, Blacula is never the less a fun vampire movie with a little funk and soul.
August 4, 2016
Not the most PC movie you'll ever see.
½ May 23, 2016
campy good fun & the 100th movie from AIS (american intl studios)
½ March 26, 2016
Here's a film that's really a lot better than you have any right to expect it to be. At heart, it's just a blaxploitation spin on Dracula, borrowing a lot of elements of different adaptations and setting it (mostly) in modern times. This is a really solid exploitation flick. The cast does some really good work here. William Marshall in particular provides a lot of gravity and substance in the title role.
February 18, 2016
I was hoping, and due to the name, sort of expecting this to be funny. Unbelievably, it is a genuine attempt at a dracula film. If you like Dracula films then this is certainly an original version and if you like the style of blaxploitation films, as I do, then it's a must. It's just not as good as I'd hoped.
½ September 28, 2015
Pretty enjoyable cult-blaxploitation-classic
September 14, 2015
How can people be so negative re: "Blacula"?!!! I *loved* it ! Very stylized for that time period, well written with intermittent dark humor, great cast (I *love* William Marshall), Blacula is an iconic film which I would recommend for the pleasure of William Marshall's voice (audio sex ; ) alone.
August 30, 2015
Blacula, is an early '70s film so the credits are 5 seconds long lol. Anyway, I expected this to be a lot better but I was grossly mistaken. The whole film was essentially a crime drama mystery. There wasn't much too it than kill become investigate kill become investigate kill become investigate.

Anyway, I hated a certain something about old Dracula films, every vampire had different skin color in vampire form, now I don't know if that was to show they didn't drink enough blood or not, nowadays the vampire just ages really badly.

Also, what's up with the awkward facial hair that appears in vampire form? I don't get it. The giant eyebrows or weird side burns....I don't know. Anyway, like I said the film is pretty boring and played a lot on the race card, at least in the beginning and was pretty stupid and annoying and may have been an important film tactic back then. But something like that doesn't age well and just appears rediculous in today's modern times, well...let's see if the sequel is any better.
August 28, 2015
Lol. This is more fun than it has any right to be. And how can you not love the Bond opening. haha
½ August 25, 2015
what a waste of time
Super Reviewer
½ July 21, 2015
Probably the best blaxploitation vampire movie you'll ever see.
April 20, 2015
Great movie! Action, adventure, violence, and a touch of romance! Denise Nicholas, wow what a beauty!
½ March 5, 2015
Interesting and creative Dracula/vampire story. It is a bit cheap and low budget, but there are some legitimately creepy scenes and moments that could surprise people with how shocking it can be (at least for the time). Marshall gives a good performance and keeps things interesting, but when he's not on film it becomes more difficult to watch. There is also a considerable amount of action that (for the most part) wasn't really seen in too many horror films before. Just a unique movie worth checking out for the curious.
January 25, 2015
Notable for the more steady alliance between black and white characters than others in the genre, 'Blacula' is one of the more known and discussed entries from the blaxploitation era. Overall, the film is a bit of a mixed bag. There's lots of fun to be had here, especially in way of horror and action sequences (the pyrotechnics are excellent), but the story doesn't always maintain momentum. William Marshall is strong in the titular role, though Vonetta McGee is less competent as the object of his desire; the pair also lack chemistry to give their blossoming romance bite, so to speak. The production is redeemed by an excellent title sequence and stunning soundtrack.

It was the first picture to receive the Best Horror Film nod at the Saturn Awards and was followed by 'Scream Blacula Scream' in 1973.
Page 1 of 15