Boot Hill - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Boot Hill Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 30, 2018
One of my favorite italian westerns
January 28, 2017
170128: Ever-cool spaghetti western sound effects, tied in with headphones, created a much better viewing experience this time around. Though my Platinum Disc Corporation version of Boot Hill is a bit of a mess, dark and cropped funny, there is at least somewhat of complete story behind it all. There is also bit of levity but in no way near as much as other Terrance Hill and Bud Spencer comedies for example They Call Me Trinity (1970). I did laugh a few times, and that, along with the sound, made this film worth watching. I really appreciated one scene when Arch Bessy (Spencer) kicks a suddenly appearing cat. It was so random it made me laugh out loud. Baby Doll (George Eastman) was also enjoyable and his huge smile was endearing. Arch Bessy yelling at him to "look out" near the end of this film capped off the subtle humor while actors Woody Strode and Lionel Stander provided a bit of western class. Overall, if you're a hard-core Spaghetti Western fan Boot Hill may have just enough to prevent regret. It is definitely better than many of the more modern, straight to video productions I've invested in.
½ December 30, 2012
This movie with Terence Hill and Bud Spencer starring was filmed in 1969. It is an italian-made Western, and its dubbed in english. The film's language is in english, though, so the dubbing might be to fix poor audio.
Quality of the film is dvd-quality, and the colors and shades come out in a manner befitting a western. Sweat, dust, warmth and sand cover the land of gunslinging heroes and trigger-happy crooks. The movie dvd has an extensive biography and filmography of Spencer and Hill, which was a nice touch and obviously made for fans of their films.
This movie is actually a sequel to an earlier western starring the same two actors and their characters, called "God forgives but I don't" filmed two years earlier. I hadn't seen that movie when I watched this one, so I was unfamiliar with the characters, with whom one might be expected to have made an earlier acquaintance.
The film has two problems. On the downside it has a very simple plot which is played out in a direct manner that leaves nothing to imagination. In other words, the movie has very little surprises and you can guess easily how the movie ends.
The other problem is that the first half of this movie is rather boring. That changes midway and it gets better the closer the movie comes to finish.
You might like this movie if you like Bud Spencer and Terence Hill - movies, but there aren't a lot of the fist-fights which later became Spencer-Hill trademark in their farcical comedies.
Although this movie has some farcical elements, they are filmed in such a manner that they don't change the overall serious tone of the film.
I expect friends of westerns of that particular genre and era to like this movie - it's well directed, well cast and rather inventive. Also the natural scenery in the section of the movie where they go to find Hearp (Spencer) is astounding- either they took the cast into a natural reserve of some kind of the background was added later in remastering the movie.
½ June 25, 2012
Monday, June 25, 2012

(1969) Boot Hill
SPAGHETTI WESTERN

DUBBED

Written and directed by Giuseppe Colizzi starring
Terence Hill as Cat who at the beginning gets himself injured while in a gunfight, he is soon discovered hiding, while travelling with the circus who not only succumbs to his wounds but also agree to aide and help him with the help of actor of Bud Spence against a greedy land baron Honey Fisher played by Victor Buono against his outlaw cronies. Lionel Stander also stars as Mamy leader/ presenter of his travelling circus. Barely unwatchable especially if it's 'modified' since I as a viewer can't barely see what's going on half the time because it's full of close-up shots with actors wearing black soot on their faces.

1 out of 4
½ March 31, 2012
Wow, just wow. I can't say that I'm an expert on spaghetti westerns as I haven't seen enough to be exactly fair about my next comment, but I'm gonna go ahead and say it anyway: Boot Hill is the worst spaghetti western ever made. I don't even know how this classifies as a western - it barely even registers as such. Atrocious acting, a shit storyline, horrible visuals and god-awful score. To make matters worse, the copy of the film that I received is a full-screen zoom in on a widescreen print so everything is soft and misframed. Ugh. About the only positive thing about it is that Terence Hill is in it. Other than that, skip it... that is unless you're in the mood for campy circus antics with western antics shoehorned in. Take my word for it, this is just awful. Skip it altogether.
½ October 15, 2011
Classic spaghetti western and the bluest eyes you ever did see.
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
½ September 5, 2011
Wow, just wow. I can't say that I'm an expert on spaghetti westerns as I haven't seen enough to be exactly fair about my next comment, but I'm gonna go ahead and say it anyway: Boot Hill is the worst spaghetti western ever made. I don't even know how this classifies as a western - it barely even registers as such. Atrocious acting, a shit storyline, horrible visuals and god-awful score. To make matters worse, the copy of the film that I received is a full-screen zoom in on a widescreen print so everything is soft and misframed. Ugh. About the only positive thing about it is that Terence Hill is in it. Other than that, skip it... that is unless you're in the mood for campy circus antics with western antics shoehorned in. Take my word for it, this is just awful. Skip it altogether.
October 4, 2010
The Second Bud Spencer & Terence Hill Movie and the last seriosly Terence Hill is yet an qiet sarcastic Anti-Hero like Django Bud Spencer is more like the Roles in their later Movies this Movie is very amusing, funny and violent they kill a lot of People but they also have funny Fights also a great Perfomance of Woody Strode its one of the Italowestern with the strongest Dark Comedy Elements
ScoopOnline
Super Reviewer
December 11, 2009
Terence Hill without Bud Spencer is like Pizza without Beer. lol
July 1, 2009
A confusing plot and bad dubbing make this a slow watch.

The trailer is better then the movie.
½ December 14, 2008
Avoid. at. all. cost.
½ August 30, 2008
This movie with Terence Hill and Bud Spencer starring was filmed in 1969. It is an italian-made Western, and its dubbed in english. The film's language is in english, though, so the dubbing might be to fix poor audio.
Quality of the film is dvd-quality, and the colors and shades come out in a manner befitting a western. Sweat, dust, warmth and sand cover the land of gunslinging heroes and trigger-happy crooks. The movie dvd has an extensive biography and filmography of Spencer and Hill, which was a nice touch and obviously made for fans of their films.
This movie is actually a sequel to an earlier western starring the same two actors and their characters, called "God forgives but I don't" filmed two years earlier. I hadn't seen that movie when I watched this one, so I was unfamiliar with the characters, with whom one might be expected to have made an earlier acquaintance.
The film has two problems. On the downside it has a very simple plot which is played out in a direct manner that leaves nothing to imagination. In other words, the movie has very little surprises and you can guess easily how the movie ends.
The other problem is that the first half of this movie is rather boring. That changes midway and it gets better the closer the movie comes to finish.
You might like this movie if you like Bud Spencer and Terence Hill - movies, but there aren't a lot of the fist-fights which later became Spencer-Hill trademark in their farcical comedies.
Although this movie has some farcical elements, they are filmed in such a manner that they don't change the overall serious tone of the film.
I expect friends of westerns of that particular genre and era to like this movie - it's well directed, well cast and rather inventive. Also the natural scenery in the section of the movie where they go to find Hearp (Spencer) is astounding- either they took the cast into a natural reserve of some kind of the background was added later in remastering the movie.
February 28, 2008
And now ladies and gentleman for our most publicised attraction the Flying Men!
February 10, 2008
A small-time circus and a gang of small-time thieves and gunslingers band together to bring down a wild west business magnate (Buono) and the vicious thugs he employs.

"Boot Hill" is the first film featuring Bud Spencer and Terrence Hill (either alone or together) that has bored me. It's a nice change of pace to see them together in a film that's played for drama rather than slapstick comedy, but I can only imagine how much better it would have been if the film had contained 90 minutes of story instead of 45 minutes of story stretched to fill a 86 minutes.

I'm a big fan of Bud Spencer and Terrence Hill, but this is a movie that really deserves to be swept away into oblivion with the passage of time. (Oh, and don't be fooled by some of of its alternate titles or even the description here at Rotten Tomatoes. This is NOT one of the "Trinity" films. This is a fillm where Hill spends his screentime doing his best Clint Eastwood impesonation (I think he may even be wearing Blondie's wardrobe from "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly")... and it's not a very good impersonation.


Boot Hill
Starring: Terrence Hill, Woody Strode, Lionel Stander, Bud Spencer, and Victor Buono
Director: Giuseppe Colizzi
December 2, 2007
A great cast can't save a film with a horrific plot and setting. Luckily I got the remastered version of the film.
November 23, 2007
Ridiculous. Drags. A few funny moments save much.
½ October 20, 2007
another great western
August 21, 2007
i would like to see this one..
½ September 12, 2006
I watched this when I was a kid...thanks to my dad. He loves his spaghetti westerns. Can't say I do though. Hehe.
½ May 23, 2006
A classical western
Page 1 of 1