Brutal Massacre: A Comedy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Brutal Massacre: A Comedy Reviews

Page 2 of 4
½ November 18, 2008
Only saw the last hour, but it's hilarious.
November 17, 2008
This is a great documentary spoof of the making of a low budget horror movie. I think horror fans and filmmakers will appreciate this film for its subtle and quarky sense of humor.
½ October 21, 2008
Had soo much more potential!
½ October 4, 2008
This is a low budget comedy about making low budget horror films. The concept alone makes it a worthwhile watch. While no one and nothing about this movie is particularly great, it's a fun movie overall that made me interested in seeing how it would end. Definitely a movie worth watching for horror and comedy fans.
September 29, 2008
Sure, it could have been better. It could have been funnier. It is kind of "This is Spinal Tap" meets Z-grade horror films. The writing may not be as funny as the "Tap" 's, but it is still a fun ride overall. And hey, who thought Gunnar Hansen could play a funny, off-beat character?
nickymo89
Super Reviewer
½ September 8, 2008
Slightly amusing mockumentary about a washed up B movie director making his new horror movie. The real treat is seeing the cast of horror movie veterans in different roles. Gunnar Hansen (AKA Leatherface) steals every scene he has as a foul mouthed owner of the house to be used as the killer's dwelling. Makes fun of the B Side of horror.
September 6, 2008
This is a low budget comedy/mockumentary about a making a low budget horror movie. It has some laughs. Horror fans should appreciate the in-jokes.
September 2, 2008
The concept was promising, but it could've been way better... a lot better, much better...
½ August 28, 2008
The filmmakers are clearly amateurs and the film clearly had an extremely low budget, but you have to appreciate it for what it is. There's no horror at all, there's only a few laugh out loud moments, but it's creative and somewhat fun. That's why I'm giving it the 3 1/2 rating. It may not be what the makers intended, but you can see the ideas and enjoy what became of the film.

The one thing that irritated me overall though is the fact that they set it up like a documentary, but many parts are shot like a feature. They have various angles when, in a documentary, those angles wouldn't be possible. They really fucked up there.

I will say that Gunnar Hansen is the bomb dig.
August 28, 2008
Three stars for Brian O'Halloran and Gerry Bednob. Otherwise there wasn't too much here. I laughed occasionally throughout, so it wasn't terrible.
thefog1331
Super Reviewer
August 27, 2008
Some of the jokes fall flat, others are badly telegraphed and it weaves in and out of being a documentary and just a film to the point of distraction but it's hard for me to dislike the movie since I've worked with people like this especially the director, Harry Penderecki...only not as likeable. Now I won't mention any names but if I ever see Danial Diaz again I'll have to ask him if he's ever worked with Stevan Mena because I swear that's who Harry's modeled after.
All in all not a bad comedy but not an entirely original one either. The highlight is really the appearances and performances from David (American Werewolf) Naughton, Ellen (Evil Dead) Sandweiss, Brian (Clerks) O' Halloran, Ken (Dawn of the Dead) Foree and most notably Gunner Hansen and Gerry Bednob who steal every scene they're in.
½ August 21, 2008
I really enjoyed Brutal Massacre. I thought it was funny and the convention scene was hysterical. My favorite part were the scenes with Gunnar Hansen. I have a feeling he did his best acting there.Gerry Bednob who played Hanu also was very funny. The behind the scenes feature on the DVD is more of the same.
½ August 20, 2008
Funny in a lame way... ya know? low budget.
August 15, 2008
A very entertaining film - obviously low budget, but it has some very funny moments
and Brian O'Halloran (Clerks) is fkn hilarious
August 14, 2008
This movie goes to show its perfectly fine to poke at a genre that some of these actors became icons in.
August 12, 2008
I had really great time watching this film. It wasnt as funny as I had hoped for. But still a funny look at the horror genre. Gunnar Hansen steals the film with his character .
August 11, 2008
i generally don't find swearing to be funny...but dang it, the house owner's constant cussing at inappropriate times made me giggle like a li'l girlie. aside from that, the film has some funny spots...however, as a whole, it's really not too funny. it's an alright movie...but it's nothing you should scamper out to see.
August 10, 2008
i generally don't find swearing to be funny...but dang it, the house owner's constant cussing at inappropriate times made me giggle like a li'l girlie. aside from that, the film has some funny spots...however, as a whole, it's really not too funny. it's an alright movie...but it's nothing you should scamper out to see.
Page 2 of 4