Julius Caesar - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Julius Caesar Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 9, 2017
This was the shit! I started this late at night and couldn't stop until I was through the entire thing. The score kills it. This series makes you like Caesar and weep at his death even as he destroys what is left of the Republic. I keep watching the assassination scene over and over again and I get goosebumps every time. The show is close enough to history for me to be satisfied with it. I am still shook having watched this.
April 25, 2016
The best movie I have seen in my entire life. Everything in this movie was absolute perfection. Benjamin (last name uncertain) loved this movie as well. Judging by its 100% rating on un-rotten tomatoes I think that everyone who watches this movie will love it. I listen to the soundtrack every day. 10/10 would watch again.
½ December 5, 2014
Fascinating Caesar epic biopic. Historical inaccuracies aside, I found it moving. Harris is menacing as Sulla, and who knew Walken could play Cato the Younger?
January 1, 2014
I like the hard work put into this charming 3 hour miniseries. But sadly a lot of the characters feel underdeveloped and motivations are not clearly explained to make scenes fully impactful.
Cameron W. Johnson
Super Reviewer
½ June 28, 2012
First Jesus and now Julius, and no matter how much Caesar was fancied as some kind of diety, it would appear as though Jeremy Sisto is taking a step down on the religious totem pole, and not just because he went from a TV film to a TV miniseries, and now, sure enough, the "law and order" of the entertainment industry has dropped him "six feet under" to "Suburgatory". Wow, sounds like if Sisto's stuck in any kind of purgatory, it's TV purgatory, or at least he hooked up with ABC, which is pretty much the lowest pit on network television. It's probably his punishment for either that crazy fan blown hairdo he was sporting as Jesus or his falling "into temptation". Oh hey, that was a film, and a respectable independent drama, at that, so I guess that he can leave the land of TV, but it has to be for movies that no one is going to see. I guess if TNT knows anything about drama that Sisto doesn't, it's how to make drama that people are gonna watch. They certainly don't know how to come up with spotless drama. Now, that's not to say that this miniseries isn't good, because this is an ultimately enjoyable watch, though I was hoping for a little bit more out of what appears to be the only dramatization of the life and times of Julius Caesar that wasn't that blasted Shakespeare play.

At three hours, give or take, this isn't much of a lengthy miniseries for subject matter so sweeping, and yet, somewhat surprisingly, things aren't as all over the place as I feared, yet make no mistake, this series is still quite a mess, being tight to a fault in its meditation that's just not meditative enough to absord a whole lot of depth, and the awkward momentary lapses in subtlety - particularly of the often weak, if not laughable dialogue persuasion - don't help. The hurrying certainly slips us into major shifts in the story rather messily, to where you'd be hard pressed to not be a tad thrown off, so much so that I can see the occasional person finding him or herself just downright confused for a brief spell. Still, even with all of this rushing, the series still finds time to jam in the occasional forced-feeling bit of material in a rather matter-of-fact fashion. Of course, the messiness of seemingly crowbarred in excess material may simply lead back to the fact that the series feels too rushed, not taking enough time to smooth out the edges and make even some of the most seemingly forced aspects fit like a glove, yet either way, the point is that the series does get to be consistently messy, but at least it's consistent about something. The series dances around occasionally overbearing traditional drama and dryly dull meditation, as well as such other storytelling styles and tones as somewhat corny casual spots, and hardly does so with ease, slipping quite often in its jarring tonal shifts that further slow down the momentum of this project, something that can also be said about such other storytelling missteps as over-meditation upon other characters and subplots to where focus grows a tad uneven. The problem with this series is a problem found in many a network or cable miniseries of a nature similar to that of this series, in that it is too TV amateur for such high ambition, and whether it be the aforementioned storytelling missteps or even some awkwardly faulty spots in writing, this saga ultimately falls as an underwhelming take on something of high potential. However, with all of its spotiness, and relentless spottiness at that, the saga is a watchable - nay - quite enjoyable one, making up for its missteps with ultimately prevailing strengths, including stylistic ones.

While not as sweeping in scope as it would have been were this a theatrical feature, the cinematography remains rather cinematic, with a handsome taste in lighting and coloring that gathers grit to really sell the darker moments and brightness to enhance some of your livlier moments, yet it's the production designs that really help in selling this world. Now, come on, this is TNT we're talking about, so don't go into this series expecting budget usage on an HBO TV production level of quality, yet expect this series to work extremely well with what it has, reconstructing this era with much competence and a degree of authenticity in feel, thus enhancing the entertainment value that ultimately stands as perhaps what keeps this series going the most. Uli Edel is faulty as all get-out in his direction, partially because he is so retrained by a just as, if not... no, decidedly faultier script, yet what Edel gets right, he nails, whether it be in the occasional gripping piece of intrigue, which is at its most intense in the, albeit overdrawn, but admittedly outstanding final act or so, or, as I said, the consistent entertainment value that really wins you over, and does so with the help of a colorful cast that goes riddled with miscasts. Not the best casting decisions, if I do say so, yet the cast is still a strong one, with charismas and talents to spare, and a particularly engaging Jeremy Sisto boldly leading the way. Sisto isn't killing things dead as an actor, as he is rarely given enough material to even come close to doing something along those lines, yet what Sisto is given to do gets done ever so right, being relentlessly charismatic and nailing that winning charm and stern presence that defined Caesar, even if his generally being miscast makes it hard to fully buy him as Caesar. Still, Sisto tries ever so diligently, being careful and confident in his embodyment of Caesar, and in the end, while his being fully transformative is highly debatable, I would consider it more agreeable that he still ultimately comes out as a strong lead, with layers, spirit and an all around engrossing presence. I wish there was more meat to this effort for it to transcend its missteps and stand strong, yet the final product remains competently acted and produced, as well as ever so entertaining enough to keep you sticking with it, and enjoyably so.

Bottom line, the project's promising potential and ambitions go betrayed by storytelling that is much too hurried, to the point of leaving many an edge to the story structure bumpy and awkward, while draining the series of much depth, a situation made worse by the unsubtleties within the spotty writing and much unevenness in both focus and tone, thus making for an underwhelming execution of a promising premise, but a still enjoyable one, nevertheless, being supported by good use of the production for handsome cinematography and fine production designs to really bring this world to life, and do so with the help of an, at times, effective directing job by Uli Edel, as well as a colorful cast, headed by a charismatic and assured Jeremy Sisto, who helps in ultimately making "Julius Caesar" a consistently entertaining and generally enjoyable study on the life and times of one of history's most iconic rulers.

2.5/5 - Fair
½ August 9, 2010
A thoroughly entertaining film that outlines various events in Caesars life, though like every historical film there are various flaws (and various things left out that shouldn't have been). If you can look past that and have an interest in ancient history there's few reasons why you should dislike this film
August 2, 2010
As someone with a strong but not obsessive interest in ancient Roman history, I found this movie insulting and stupid. It's funny that it got so many minute details right which many other interpretations of the story miss completely, and yet the major facts are completely distorted. What's worse, it's just a poorly written film. We move so fast through the story that we never have time to develop any familiarity or feeling for some characters before they're killed off or their impact on history is fully realized. Unwatchable (I couldn't finish it), despite some decent acting performances.
½ March 27, 2010
A good film treatment of the life of Julius Caesar, with Richard Harris as Sulla! Owned on DVD.
½ December 16, 2009
deserved more of a budget. this could have been better.
great acting...
October 31, 2009
Didn't like this much. Covering the whole adult life of Julius Caesar in two and half hours gave a film with no subtlety and no chance for characters to develop. There was no scope or grandeur, just ordinary plotting and staging that took you from historical point to historical point. Watch something like the ill-fated TV series Rome instead.
Super Reviewer
March 14, 2009
the whole cast was wonderful! the plot moved along nicely and i found it to be a very entertening and insightful movie about the caesar story that went on before the book's story.
November 23, 2008
Sisto is great as a rather unfamiliar Julio, and the cast is generally good. As a fan of epic historic movies I really enjoyed this one. Perhaps they could have made it with more tension and more excitement, it's generally a pretty calm telling of the Caesar story. And maybe as true to the real story as we can get?
½ October 13, 2008
I am indulging in Roman history now. : )
½ August 3, 2008
Quite good, learnt a lot from it, and it wasn't boring
½ July 22, 2008
Far better casting and settings in the HBO series Rome. Offered a different perspective on a few things though.
July 15, 2008
Uncertain of the historical accuracy but there is some nice historical staging, and perspective, especially on the length of time wars took back then. Great, although brief, performance by Richard Harris. Christpher Walken almost looks like he was sleep walking through his role, but that might hav been script issues, and there are a few. Chris Noth (of Law & Order fame) as a Roman? Well, chalk it up to an attempt at stretching his abilities. The lead actor as Caesar is a big weak link to me. In the end, there are some nice moments and elements in this film, but they don't quite seem to ever come together properly.
½ June 7, 2008
Really, really enjoyed it. The ending was a bit hard to watch though, very brutal and heartbreaking
May 22, 2008
my teenage favorite.
March 21, 2008
I did not really like this movie.
½ March 17, 2008
Omg this wa such a good movie. He was so hot when he was young in this movie & then he got old but he was still hot at first...but anyways it was a grear movie!!!
Saw it in latin if you ask. i just don't like the ending, noone in my clas liked it, but other than that great movie, & you see cleopatra!
Page 1 of 2