Carry On Sergeant - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Carry On Sergeant Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 18, 2018
True, it's only intermittently funny but there's something genuinely charming and poignant about this first instalment of the increasingly smutty Carry On series, partly because the 'team' all play secondary characters and they all look so young (well, apart from Charles Hawtrey). Great older character actors like Eric Barker and William Hartnell play with a gravitas that adds to the comedy and it's an enjoyable diversion for a Sunday afternoon.
October 16, 2014
Surprisingly good and touching, when especially I wasn't expecting much from this. This was a great intro to this mammoth collection of films.
April 15, 2014
Start of the greatest film series in cinematic history. All the cast in top form, wonderful heart warming stuff. Watch it today!
July 19, 2012
An interesting insight as to how the Carry On films began. Too early for Sid n Babs but Charles Hawtree provides the comedy in abundance. You can see the beginnings of the smuttiness creeping in, although it is a lot tamer in this than it became in later films. The film itself is alright, not great but perhaps a forerunner for many more with the same set up.
July 5, 2012
The very first of the "Carry On " series. Just watched it again for the umpteenth time,on DVD. Pure nostalgia,asI enterred the Army in 1952 and the memories kept flooding back ! And a marvellous cast of British acting stalwarts.Including William Hartnell and Bill Owen.
March 26, 2012
The film that spawned a generation!!
April 22, 2011
The first of the Carry On films sets up some of the formula that would make the long lasting series so iconic - many of the cast and personel are there and create some great comedy moments . The humour in these early films is less brash, and there is a certain amount of warmth to the film also. Great to see William Hartnell in another role (other than Doctor Who) and for the most part this is a lot of fun, though slow to get started.
½ October 8, 2010
In the late 50's this type of comedy was being cranked out almost weekly, but for some reason this one hit a chord and was the begining of the best comedy series ever. For me Conor and Bryan were the stars. Although the comedy was a bit lame the actors like Hawtrey, Williams and Monkhouse were so good that they still shone. The basic formula is a bunch of idiots who eventually come good and was used to great effect for the next 20 years. I have them all to watch and am looking forward to a marathon viewing.
½ September 19, 2010
One of the better entries in the Carry On series sees Sgt. Grimshawe hoping to train a rabble of misfit recruits for his last chance to get a champion platoon. Throw in a groom who got called in on his wedding day, a hypochondriac, an aloof individualist, an effeminate and clumsy oaf, a guitar player, and there we go.

William Hartnell carries this picture as Grimshawe, being a perfect foil for the usual Carry On gang. He would go on to bigger fame in a time machine disguised as a British police box, but that's another story.
½ July 20, 2010
The first Carry On film with only a handful of the "regulars". The formula has been used since and slightly better in movies like Police Academy & Stripes. Merely average.
mirabella1996
Super Reviewer
½ February 10, 2010
All of the Carry On films get 4 or 5 stars from me.
They have been a much-loved part of my life ever since I can remember.
DrLappos
Super Reviewer
½ October 16, 2009
I cant say I didnt love it cause I did. I am a sucker for Carry on films...Not one of the best but still.
March 17, 2009
need to see all the carry on films still.
January 1, 2009
from what the carry on films became known for this is nothing like that. Not much really happens and the plot is basic. Not a bad start to the series but proberbly funnier in its time
December 22, 2008
See the original Doctor Who in this old british comedy.
September 22, 2008
GOOD MOVIE WORTH WATCHING.
½ September 9, 2008
Far more quaint and warm-hearted than the later, more famous films. Well worth a watch.
August 14, 2008
As for the first of the long line of Carry On films, the whole show is completely stolen by Charles Hawtrey and his ridiculously camp performance as Golightly, something he would go on to do for years. Its rough around the edges, more so than I remembered, but there is a certain charm about all these youngsters in their first bawdy comedy of what would be many. Even Bob Monkhouse looks like a teenager! Excellent to see William Hartnell too. The Carry On series reached its height later on, but this isn't too bad.
½ July 11, 2008
I get it! I finally get the Carry On series! This is nothing like the quasi-soft porn crud they were cranking out by the late 60's/early 70's...and it's great to see Hartnell pre-Doctor Who.
Page 1 of 2