Chain Gang Women - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Chain Gang Women Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 9, 2015
Boring as heck for the first quarter, but then they break free and it gets somewhat interesting. But still dreadfully bad in terms of any character development, arcs, or plot. But extremely watchable because of this.
June 18, 2015
The title is a bit misleading as there's no women in this movie for nearly an hour. It's mainly a story of escaped convicts who commit further crimes to avoid recapture with a carnal edge to it towards the end. The acting is ok, but not great and the interest value never gets too high.
Super Reviewer
February 20, 2014
1st of all, I wonder who came up with the title of this movie & what were they thinking? The title of this movie is Chain Gang Women so you'd expect a movie about women on a chain gang.There is a chain gang but there are no women.There were only 2 women in the whole movie.Just my 3 cents.I think Chain Gang Women was pretty good & kept me entertained the whole time.I really like all the twists & turns that were thrown in especially the ending that really suprised me.I did NOT see that coming!
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
December 7, 2012
A dude gets sent to a dude prison on a marijuana charge, then that dude is transferred to another prison full of dudes and gets shackled to a dude up for life on a murder charge. These two dudes work alongside a bunch of other dudes on a chain gang and one day make an escape. So, upon reaching the halfway point a rational person would ask himself, WHERE THE HELL ARE THE WOMEN??!?!!? I got bad news for you: there are only two plain Janes in this movie, and neither of them works on a chain gang. That deception alone is worth knocking this back to one star if it wasn't there already due to extreme boredom and extreme closeups of ugly dudes' faces. The one moment of zen is that you get treated to the fakest choking scene in movie history.
March 31, 2012
Well, this is definitely another case of a movie title that leads you astray. Chain Gang Women features two women - both of whom aren't in a chain gang and neither of which are the lead characters in the story. The movie's actually about a couple of guys who break out of prison and they're on the run from the police. Along the way there's rape, murder and general crazyness. The movie is flat-out awful, but in that "so bad it's good" way. There's nothing too redeemable about it, but there's some dialogue and line readings that had me laughing out loud at times. It's sort of a sexploitation movie, even though there's only one really lengthy sex scene in it, but it does play on that a bit. Along with the generic country and bluegrass score, it's definitely one you want to put on to have a few laughs with. It can be boring at times, but stay patient and you'll be rewarded with terrible lines like "I'll break us outta here. I know what I'm doing. I've done it twice before!"
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
March 24, 2012
Well, this is definitely another case of a movie title that leads you astray. Chain Gang Women features two women - both of whom aren't in a chain gang and neither of which are the lead characters in the story. The movie's actually about a couple of guys who break out of prison and they're on the run from the police. Along the way there's rape, murder and general crazyness. The movie is flat-out awful, but in that "so bad it's good" way. There's nothing too redeemable about it, but there's some dialogue and line readings that had me laughing out loud at times. It's sort of a sexploitation movie, even though there's only one really lengthy sex scene in it, but it does play on that a bit. Along with the generic country and bluegrass score, it's definitely one you want to put on to have a few laughs with. It can be boring at times, but stay patient and you'll be rewarded with terrible lines like "I'll break us outta here. I know what I'm doing. I've done it twice before!"
March 20, 2010
Unremittingly boring film. The soundtrack sucks dick, the acting is sup-par even on the grindhouse level (the 17 year old girl was driving me nuts with her total lack of expression), and the film could seriously be half the length that it ended up being. For god's sake, no one need to have 15 straight minutes of irrelevant characters pickaxing dirt in any film at all. The only redeeming factor is the 5-second long jailbait sex scene that was both humorous and slightly exciting, at least compared to the rest of this compost heap.
P.S. Where are the women? There were two girls in this entire movie, and combined they don't even share 25 minutes of screen time.
½ June 7, 2009
Con: Go on a killing spree, the guys didn't even kill anyone. One less woman and this movie wpuld be renamed Chain Gang Woman because it would no longer be plural it would be singular. The guy rapes his buddies girlfriend, how charming, as well as some 25 year old that's supposed to be playing a seventeen year old. Shot in Georgia my ass, this is the San Fernando Valley if I have ever seen it.

Pro: Good Music. Like any grindhouse flick it just doesn't make sense, but who cares its got tits, guns, and some old Honda esque motor scooter thing.

Only 85 minutes long.
½ January 5, 2009
for a grindhouse picture this is very misleading. theres lots of chan gang, yes. but hardly any women. it becomes an escape story and just get redicules an boring. i no thats often the point of watching a grindhouse film, but this didnt offer any real violence or gore. it was just a story about too guys escaping and one of them feeling horny. and that song...that god awfull song...
Page 1 of 1