Corn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Corn Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ May 13, 2014
i'm always sleepy! well, we usually watch movies then go to bed.

this movie was a shitfest. i can't believe they got jena malone to act in it. i think she's a hippie or something and supported the cause.

premise: weird genetically engineered corn biproduct grown by neighboring farm is making sheep go crazy on pregnant girl's father's ranch. a lot of nonsensical dna talk ensues. girl demands bio company stop sponsoring mutated corn and remove biproduct. they agree. little does she know that a) father has weird incestuous plans? and b) he's feeding mutated weed to sheep, which are being slaughtered, shipped, and sold to consumers who are suffering weird health problems.

conclusion: skip this. terrible. jessica made me rent it, i regretted it. later i think i'm going to post a screen shot of the best part of this movie. we can all laugh together.

god, what a horrible movie. in every way.
½ May 13, 2014
Jena Malone adds to the film with her convincing portrayal. The story, however, is flawed and inconsistent. It holds your interest in sections, but dome parts drag.
January 11, 2014
I'm happy I came across this, because even though the film itself may not be the cream of the crop, it diverges from the rest with a thought-provoking message.
July 8, 2012
This is one horror movie that could have been much much different if I had it my way. Trying to take a somewhat realistic approach to the possible horrors of GMO foods Corn deals specifically with GMO corn, creating a new weed, that makes violent and crazy lambs, which when consumed by humans in good quantities can possibly cause birth defects and deaths.
The thing about this film is it goes in too many directions, and involves some side story elements that just aren't needed. There are characters that could be written out completely to produce a better film, and sub plots which aren't really explored which would have allowed the script to be much tighter had they not been there.
And boy, is this film missing some evil sheep mayhem. Had they gone with the monster sheep gore ridden film instead of this girl is pregnant and must be crazy story, I'm sure more people would truly enjoy the film and it would get more repeat viewings.
Luckily, I'm one of those people who believes GMO is bad and toying with mother nature is a recipe for ultimate disaster so Corn does get a recommend from me. Think of it more like a pseudo documentary with fictional horror elements and you too, might find yourself thinking differently about the food you eat. Remember.... eat it before it eats you... unless its GMO... then give it to your in laws.
January 7, 2010
Makes you wonder where your food comes from...
November 7, 2008
Stupidiest movie I've seen all fucking year!!! Evil lambs eating weeds and peoples unborn babies dying from the meat and getting high off it?? Isn't a very good storyline,but it was really funny to watch so...
½ July 30, 2008
Don't eat meat! Or you'll go crazy! This was so great. It's about the chemicals we put in our food, only it's a horror flick and not a documentary of shitty vegans whining.
½ July 3, 2008
I know the ecological horror genre is prime breeding ground for B-movies, but I don't care - I love them anyway.

The basic premise of this film: GMO corn causes sheep to become violent. Don't misunderstand though, it's nothing like that Kiwi horror movie Black Sheep.

If anything, it's more like A Civil Action or Erin Brokovich with a guerilla filmmaking feel.

Not much happens during the first 30 mins of the movie, but I found the character exposition interesting enough. Lead actress and indie It-girl Jena Malone served as one of the movie's producers.
Super Reviewer
April 19, 2008
It was a wierd movie...but, for some reason, I kinda like it.
April 10, 2008
Is this about killer sheep? Seriously?
October 31, 2007
I think another reviewer said it best: "basically Erin Brokovich with sheep."
October 10, 2007
take that left wing socialists!!
½ October 7, 2007
it claims this movie is only 1 hr. 37 min but it seemed like 10 years long. very very boring and horrid plot line. i was expecting this to be a "bad" movie, in which i'd like it however this was simply a bad movie that is more boring than watching snails traveling around the world. the only highlights weren't even good, when she gave birth to a lamb, and the child getting attacked by lambs were not as exciting as others made it out to be. DONT WATCH THIS
August 25, 2007
lousy low-budget eco-horror. The scene where Jena Malone hallucinates about demonic sheep-babies is bad-movie gold, but this really is not worth the rental
August 21, 2007
I Mean The Name Is Just Awesome. That's All There Is To It! Period!!!
July 1, 2007
It was basically Erin Brokovich with sheep. And they weren't even killer sheep. Best quote of the whole movie...."I've seen what weed does to sheep!! What do you want us to do w/ the weed? Get rid of the weed!!!"
½ June 29, 2007
haha we rented it .. because it was stupid looking... but there needs to be a cornII because the chickens got it.
½ June 11, 2007
....extremely bad! I regret spending the time to watch this movie.
½ June 9, 2007
Not a bad movie, but the acting was a bit stiff in parts. The message though is a good one. Not my favorite Jena movie, and she is my favorite actress.
May 28, 2007
Good ecological thriller over the side-effects of genetically engineered corn. In particular, while corn crop itself gets shelved and destroyed by a (get this) socially responsible corporation, it's the greed of average Americans (farmers, retailers, customers looking for bargains, doctors happily endorsing products, etc.) that represent the most harmful side-effect!
Page 1 of 2