Count Dracula - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Count Dracula Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 8, 2016
Soledad Miranda is the only reason to see this and her part is not large. Kind of cheesy but in many respects it's very faithful to the novel, unlike other adaptations.
½ October 17, 2016
Despite trying hard to remain faithful to the source material, and even nabbing Hammer's own Dracula to play the title role, 1970's "Count Dracula" is just too slow and dull and boring to be all that interesting. Not even Lee can save this one (and he is vastly better in the Hammer pictures than he is here)...it just has no energy, and the threat seems to minimal. Sort of a wasted effort, because seeing Lee in a more faithful adaptation of the book should be great, but here it just isn't.
November 2, 2015
The production quality was so horrible, was this intentional? Screen tearing, sound hiccups, they had to be running the worst VHS copy of this movie ever on Movies! Wow, my phone really tried to autocorrect VHS, that tells you something! Anyway, this movie claims it's the first film adaption to remain as loyal as possible to the famous novel by Bran Stoker. All I know, is that it follows in line very closely with the events of Nosferatu and especially the two '31 cuts. Now, with that being said. The movie is boring. The beginning is slow, the general pacing of the film is bad and drawn out. You question why people aren't dying or why vampires can survive in the daytime. It's a mess. As expected, Christopher Lee played his role to a T, he's not the problem and neither really are the other actors. I enjoyed this version of Van Helsing. He was more accurate to what I envisioned him to be, agewise.
June 23, 2014
Despite fine work from Christopher Lee, and a surprisingly faithful screenplay which includes elements frequently cut from most adaptations of the Stoker novel, this interpretation just isn't particularly scary or entertaining. It is great to see guys like Kinski and Lom in key supporting roles, though.
October 13, 2013
Classic and faithful adaptation of the Stoker novel with a great performance by Lee as the titular character with an excellently eerie & climactic ending
½ August 17, 2013
A very cheesy, poor version of the Bram Stoker classic novel
June 14, 2013
Even though this features Christopher Lee as Dracula AND Klaus Kinski as Renfield, they're not in any scenes together (Kinski is rather wasted actually). This slightly boring adaptation features much zooming in on actors faces, plenty of things left unexplained (especially with Renfield), and just slight cheapness all around.
½ May 16, 2013
One of the best and most authentic versions ever made--This film has the requisite quality of "creepiness"!!
March 20, 2013
Jess Franco's Count Dracula is by no means a worthy Dracula film, despite Christopher Lee being in it. It's a fairly faithful adaptation of the original Bram Stoker novel, but what it lacks is style and something to get your blood pumping. It's fairly dull, despite being sort of gritty in style. Not gritty in blood and gore mind you, but in texture and feel. It seems to me that they just picked out locations, chose basic costumes and shot the thing. It's certainly low budget, but the Hammer films are much slicker and have more production value to them by comparison. All of the actors seemed bored in their roles, even Klaus Kinski, who plays the supposedly psychotic Renfield. He more or less just lays around during the entire movie. Christopher Lee is also uninteresting most of the time. It's a decent try at it, but it just winds up being a big snooze in the end.
½ May 19, 2012
I've seen probably close to (if not) 10 of Franco's films and COUNT DRACULA is easily my favorite. However I would caution anyone who sees this as their introduction to Franco as I do not think that this film is a great representation of what seems to be his signature style. Perhaps this is why I enjoyed it so much. This entry into the famous vampire story of Dracula has much of the set pieces and atmosphere I would have expected to find in a Bava masterpiece. Franco (and crew) deliver an imaginative, creepy and appropriately ethereal atmosphere! Some surrealistic elements and stylistic spices are recognizably Franco (if you've seen his films) but more importantly . . . THIS IS EASILY AN ABOVE AVERAGE IF NOT GREAT VAMPIRE MOVIE!
½ April 17, 2012
Chris Lee was the film
January 13, 2012
Best Drac... Love the LEE
April 10, 2011
klaus kinski als renfield: gro√artig!
January 16, 2011
I have seen so much Dracula Movies that i don't had the Wish to see another One but i seen in the TV Guide there is one aired directed by Jess Franco and i watchted him because im a Die-Hard Jess Franco Worshiper and i don't regret it a Very Unorthodox Dracula Film with innovative Shots, a Atmospheric Aura, a stronly aberrant Story (Van Helsing is the Head of Department of a Psychatry), A Hillarious Performance of Klaus Kinski as Silent Insane & Maria Rohm is damn Seductive
Super Reviewer
½ December 29, 2010
I love seeing Lee playing Dracula, even if it's been done to death, literally! Still, this is a good more modern version of the film, not that it's the best, it could have been better, but it's entertaining anyway.
April 14, 2010
I was really looking forward to Jess Franco's take, but it's ultimately a hollow adaptation. It's got an amazing cast (Lee, Kinski, Miranda) yet the audience isn't offered any reason to connect with the characters. The whole movie moves very slowly, yet the plot is extremely rushed - what a disappointing combination.
April 8, 2010
Tuttu stoori ja perinteinen toteutus. Paikoitellen komean hyytävä, mutta paikoitellen hieman hupaisa (mikä tuskin oli alkuperäinen tarkoitus). Kavan printti oli jo parhaat päivät nähnyt, mutta toisaalta pieni kuluneisuus sopi tähän. Christopher Lee on tietenkin loistava nimiroolissa ja Klaus Kinski oli hyvä hulluna Renfieldinä, kun taas Herbert Lomia ei valitettavasti oikein osaa ottaa vakavasti.
½ March 20, 2010
I'm shocked at how tame this movie is for Jess Franco, also it felt dirty to watch Christopher Lee as Dracula in a non-Hammer film
½ January 2, 2010
Christopher lee, la force est avec toi
½ December 19, 2009
Enjoyed this version of the Count's story. Apart from Lee who's as great as ever in the Count's role, it's Klaus Kinski that also stands out as Renfield. Well worth checking this one out.
Page 1 of 4