Cow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cow Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 20, 2022
Arnold finds humorous juxtapositions along the way... But for the most part, the film remains honest and earthy, occasionally turning harrowing or downright horrific.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 18, 2022
I can only say that the next time I went to put milk in my tea I did feel Luma's big eyes upon me. So it is absolutely haunting in that way. And I won't look at cows from the train in the same way ever again.
January 17, 2022
While my interest definitely lagged in the second half, I can see others might learn a lot and possibly be quite upset by what they see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 17, 2022
You'll be amazed by how emotionally involved you are.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 17, 2022
It's only mid-January, but I doubt any film in 2022 will end on a more shocking or life-changing note.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 17, 2022
An immersive and impassioned documentary from one of Britain's most formidable filmmakers, which may be singular in its perspective but is as powerful to watch as it is painful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 15, 2022
It's not an easy watch, certainly - I cried more or less solidly through the last 30 minutes - but it's an important one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
Cow never wields morality as a weapon... feel however you may feel about industrial farming, but now the cow stares back.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
Without fuss, and by simply following the daily lives of cows on a working farm, Arnold mounts a powerful critique of the morality of industrial livestock farming.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
It may be the veteran filmmaker's first effort, but Cow makes Arnold look like she was born to make documentaries.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
Udderly mooving.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
What makes Arnold's documentary stand out... is the complete absence of commentary of any kind. She simply shows us moving images of a dairy cow's life and leaves us to make up our own minds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 14, 2022
Not everyone will want to invest 94 minutes in this film, but those who do will understand why it ends how and when it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2022
What an ingenious thing do with cattle: prod.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2022
[A] stark, quietly provocative film...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2022
We leave the film convinced that to condemn a living creature to this wretched life means condemning ourselves also.
January 13, 2022
A bovine-eyed view of the reality of life for an animal low on the food chain.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 10, 2022
As humans, we take our food for granted, but as Cow demonstrates just because an animal is bred for a purpose doesn't mean they aren't unique.
December 5, 2021
'Cow' is less a documentary about livestock as it is a nearly wordless look at life in captivity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 22, 2021
Andrea Arnold plays up cinema's remarkable ability to express senses such as smell and touch out of its inability to provide a direct experience of them in Cow.
Page 1 of 2