Cow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cow Reviews

January 18, 2022
I can only say that the next time I went to put milk in my tea I did feel Luma's big eyes upon me. So it is absolutely haunting in that way. And I won't look at cows from the train in the same way ever again.
January 17, 2022
It's only mid-January, but I doubt any film in 2022 will end on a more shocking or life-changing note.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 17, 2022
An immersive and impassioned documentary from one of Britain's most formidable filmmakers, which may be singular in its perspective but is as powerful to watch as it is painful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 15, 2022
It's not an easy watch, certainly - I cried more or less solidly through the last 30 minutes - but it's an important one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
Cow never wields morality as a weapon... feel however you may feel about industrial farming, but now the cow stares back.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2022
Udderly mooving.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2022
What an ingenious thing do with cattle: prod.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2022
[A] stark, quietly provocative film...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 13, 2022
We leave the film convinced that to condemn a living creature to this wretched life means condemning ourselves also.
November 22, 2021
Andrea Arnold plays up cinema's remarkable ability to express senses such as smell and touch out of its inability to provide a direct experience of them in Cow.
Top Critic
July 13, 2021
A filmmaker infectiously attuned to movement, Arnold finds a horrible, hypnotic rhythm in these gruelingly looped procedures, though she doesn't shoot them with any surplus beauty.
July 12, 2021
There's nothing cloying or corny about the way Arnold depicts these beasts. What she gives us is a straightforward slice of a cow's relentless life of muck, milk, breeding and feeding.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 12, 2021
It's about encouraging empathy with an animal that can't speak for itself -- and if the editing choices invite anthropomorphism, then many will be convinced that the subject deserves it.
July 9, 2021
[Cow] could have accomplished much of the same without requiring such a numbingly redundant structure and tedious running time.
July 8, 2021
There's barely any dialogue, just the odd word of reassurance or warning from the farm workers. There's lots of mooing, though, much of it quite haunting. This is a film that gently articulates the mundane cruelty at the heart of industrial farming
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 8, 2021
"Cow" doesn't interrogate the motives behind that process - leave that to "Fast Food Nation" and its ilk - but it does a fine job of generating empathy from one scene to the next, and using that power to craft a hypnotic spell rife with significance.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 8, 2021
[T]here is something very heartfelt and committed about Andrea Arnold's film: a poignancy and intimacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 8, 2021
Let's get the bad puns out of the way first: Andrea Arnold's Cow is a mooooving and udderly intimate portrait of bovine life as experienced on a farm in rural England.
July 8, 2021
A piece of pure cinema that's also loaded with political meaning about our dominion over nature and what we do to, I don't know, get cheese.