Curse of the Weeping Woman: J-ok'el - La Llorona - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Curse of the Weeping Woman: J-ok'el - La Llorona Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 18, 2019
Going for the movie, I had no expectations from it. The horror genre is deprived of any good movies in the recent years. This movie sadly couldn't do much to change that.

The Weeping Woman is a run of the mill movie, using the same formulaic for shadowing, build up, and jump scare. Even those didn't seem to do the trick after they used virtually the same build up over and over again.

Two things I liked: one scene during the end when LA Llorona's real face is revealed. It wasn't unique to this film, but I felt the scene was good. And lastly, it was nice to see a familiar face; Lisa from Freaks And Geeks (now more like, Lisa from Shrieks and Geeks).

Overall, the movie is digestible if you want to do more than sulking in your room for 1 hour and 33 minutes.
April 26, 2013
I suppose this movie got so many one-star reviews because viewers were expecting a Mexican blood-and-gore horror film and instead got a mystery/ghost story drama. I found the story interesting and well told, though it left a few plot threads dangling in the end. The acting was good but certainly not Oscar-worthy. A decent film, if not anything really outstanding.
April 24, 2009
Horrible, pero no en el buen sentido, pobre muy pobre en actuaciones, escenas, historia, otro mas de los fracasos del cine nacional.
December 10, 2008
I like a good ghost story. This is a good ghost story. The acting and direction are fantastic. If you are a fan of the genre, definitely see this movie.
July 8, 2008
Not scary at all and actually, kind of dull.
½ May 21, 2008
hacer cine en latinoamerica requiere un esfuerzo titanico.

la leyenda de la llorona es un topico muy atrayente, se pudo hacer algo mucho mas creible y nutrido.

aun asi se aplaude al cast latino y el no tener que ver siempre Desnudos ,pobreza y Violencia extrema en cada pelicula hispana que se estrena como si fuese lo unico que se puede ofrecer.

hay imaginacion! pero darle mas consistencia es necesario.
May 13, 2008
it was good and very scary like it was so scary i couldnt sleep
½ February 26, 2008
Es una pelicula de pinche mierda
½ February 24, 2008
Hay limites para lo grotesco. Esto los sobrepasa, no vale la pena ni siquiera escribir sobre este vomito creado sin razon. Exijo el dinero de mi entrada al cine, pero ya. Me siento robado.
½ February 10, 2008
no words... stupidly baadd!! I think it might have been a joke
January 27, 2008
Horror = Not interested.
January 20, 2008
k, this is like really the worst stupidest fuckin movie ive ever seen!!!omfg! really im not even rating it aghh
½ January 11, 2008
ESTA BIEN PINCHE FEA !!! no le puse 0 estrellas porque podr√?¬≠a confundir a la gente que olvide ratearla, en fin, 500 caracteres no son suficientes para describir lo mala, pat√?¬©tica, horrible y desquiciante que es, as√?¬≠ que escribire una nota donde pueda desahogarme agusto sobre lo fea que es la peli, el caso es que no la vean, no se les ocurra hacerlo
Page 1 of 1