The Darkroom - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Darkroom Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ June 14, 2012
really cheap dumb horror movie went over the top on trying to scare and failed miserably plus the storyline sucked
April 5, 2012
Every time you see the monster it's like you've put on monster-specific beer googles. I can only assume the director really, really didn't want the viewers to see the zipper.And I loved when the amnesia guy was choking himself in his sleep... I laughed for at least a full minute. But allow me to be serious for a moment. The ending, which I'd heard good things about, didn't do it for me. And I really can't explain why without spoiling the movie.
½ March 6, 2012
not horrible. but not the best.
January 18, 2012
I saw this months ago and don't even remember any of it, with the exception of the naked girl the kids (?) were spying on.
August 7, 2011
If you are scared of mud monsters with a big long index finger that cuts throats, then this is your kind of horror movie.
April 26, 2011
It was ok I liked the ending the rest of the film is sub par the main actor (Stanley) was pretty good. A good way to spend an afternoon after work.
½ March 20, 2011
A low budget horror but i fairly enjoyed it. The script is recycled and the monster isn't original but the acting was surprisingly good compared to most low budget horrors! May 15, 2010
Super Reviewer
½ March 16, 2011
This is one of those horror movies that tries to scare you based on the, "it could actually happen' premise. The ending makes the movie. When you finally put it all together at the end, you realize that eventhou most of the performances sucked, and the story was kinda confusing, it was actually very clever. Up until that point, it's jumpy and confusing as hell, but I can promise you it will keep you thinking and you won't have any idea until the end.
½ January 7, 2011
decent movie worth the time.
December 3, 2010
Fairly mediocre "horror movie" that isn't remotely horrifying, and whose Sixth Sense-ish twist you can see coming from a mile away.
blizzpirate
Super Reviewer
½ October 29, 2010
really cheap dumb horror movie went over the top on trying to scare and failed miserably plus the storyline sucked
½ July 3, 2010
15/5/10
A low budget horror/physiological thriller which i fairly enjoyed. The script is recycled but with a great twist and the monster isn't original but the acting was surprisingly good compared to most low budget horrors!
June 19, 2010
Not bad, kinda interesting. Great cast. Lucy Lawless is unrecognisable. I think I was disappointed because I guessed what was happening really, really early on. Still not bad to watch!
½ June 9, 2010
I'd like to have seen what "The Darkroom" could have been with a big budget but despite its obvious limitations it was a fun film to watch. An amnesiac mental patient escapes the asylum to try to track down his past and eventually does so with the help of a young man who has his own family problems. The lead actors do a nice job and I enjoyed seeing a blonde Lucy Lawless in a small role. I've watched a million thrillers before so I figured out the final "twist" about 45 minutes before the end but I still think it was pretty well done.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ May 31, 2010
Intriguing journey of amnesiac who takes an experimental drug to restore his memory and then escapes from the institution lacks luster with unconvincing attempts to bill itself as a horror film. There is a really nifty twist which makes a lot of sense in hindsight, a feature not many screenplays can withstand so credit the writers for that. The acting is pretty good during the calmer segments with Jon Favreau-like Greg Grunberg and youngster Shawn Pyfrom scoring highest, but are only spottily convincing during ratcheting tension. Unfortunately the film needs those scenes to work better for any lasting impact. Lucy Lawless is notable for being unrecognizable as a boozy bathrobe-wearing blonde. If you're more interested in characters than chills in a suspenser, this could be one to check out.
May 29, 2010
This film was filled with psychological suspense, intrigue and action. With twists and turns and an outstanding ending I would recommend this one to anyone who likes movies with thrills and chills. This film was masterfully done.
½ May 15, 2010
A low budget horror but i fairly enjoyed it. The script is recycled and the monster isn't original but the acting was surprisingly good compared to most low budget horrors!
March 11, 2010
Took a chance on this film while G was sleeping and I ended up joining her. I could not even finish the film. The special effects were cheesy and the story did not pull me in. The acting was ok. Not recommended.
½ February 27, 2010
A very interesting movie where an amnesiac is given an experimental drug to try to recover his memories. It seems to have failed, and upon escaping from the institution, he befriends a young boy who is bullied.

While the two try to solve the mystery of the boy's step-father, the amnesiac begins to have horrifying visions of violence and death.

I won't spoil the ending, because it is quite good (although expected once the clues start dropping), and there is a decent resolution to the main plot.

The acting is pretty good overall, but it would have been nice to have seen Lucy Lawless have a more prominent role.

Greg Grunberg is excellent as the step-father. Definitely worth a watch.
Page 1 of 2