Only in America - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Only in America Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 17, 2015
150517: A different film. Made me laugh out loud on at least three occasions. That's got to be worth something, no?
January 18, 2015
A tour de force performance from Ving Rhames. Moves fast and tell a fascinating story of a man who stepped on, stepped over, manipulated, and down right cheated on everybody to get to the top.
½ January 16, 2015
"Only in America" was about the rise of Don King in the sports industry and, specifically, in boxing.

I don't know where Flixster got their description of the film. But, it is wrong!
December 13, 2014
I discovered this movie in a National Wholesale Liquidators junk bin for twentyfive cents and needless to say it was worth every penny. If you can find it anywhere it is actually well made and compelling. A well-written docudrama which neither paints King as wholly sympathetic nor as entirely snake-like but rather as the complex and charismatic character he no-doubt is in real life, the film's overall appeal can perhaps be summed up best by describing the scene in which Don is trying to sign up George Foreman for a big fight after accosting him in an airport bathroom. He tosses Foreman a wad of cash, relives himself in a urinal and then holds out a pen for George to sign what is apparently a blank contract. George asks "Aren't you going to wash your hands?" Don answers "I wash my hands BEFORE I touch my dick." Five stars. Oscar worthy performance by Ving Rhaymes in this one.
½ June 4, 2014
A powerhouse performance from the superlatively talented Rhames makes this an absolutely enthralling piece of work.
December 4, 2013
Extremely watchable. Ving Rhames shines. His performance is fantastic, he even looks like real Don King. He makes the character utterly compelling even though you know he is a crook and cheat
February 26, 2011
Want to see, big FAN of Ving Rhames
December 6, 2009
The story of the most contaversial and crooked man in boxing history.
September 8, 2009
The film was ok. Ving Rhames did an excellant role of Don King, but the films plot just fell apart rather than explainging what happened and why. a decent film overall.
½ May 14, 2009
on a scale of 1-10, I give it a 7
Page 1 of 1