Dumbstruck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dumbstruck Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 25, 2015
A warm and whole heartedly film, sure to make you fall in love with all the characters in this movie
June 29, 2012
Awesome movie!!!! Didn't want it to end.
October 16, 2011
Great show and interesting to watch
Super Reviewer
½ September 22, 2011
Another wedge of American culture is tilled in this documentary, which starts at the VentHaven Convention of Ft. Mitchell, Kentucky, an annual meeting place for the film's five subjects. The film certainly hinges on their individual stories, each aptly tragic. At the crux is 2007 winner of America's Got Talent Terry Fator, who quickly rises from obscurity to become one of Forbes top ten best paid comedians. His talent and specific skill for singing hauntingly beautiful odes to Etta James, Louis Armstrong, and Guns n' Roses makes him the most interesting and watchable of the motley crew. We're also given introspective looks into lesser known ventriloquists such as cruise ship hopper Dan Horn, obviously the best manipulator in the business, with realistic facial expressions and mannerisms. The quirkiest is former Miss. Ohio pageant winner Kim Yeager, who is not as talented as her counterparts, always trying to get a job on the lucrative cruise ship circuit, or leave it all behind and finally settle down in Cincinnati. Quick flashes of a thirteen year old boy with a black dummy, which doesn't fit in any discernible way, and a woman who resembles a bird and speaks like a lost alien being are thrown in as filler throughout. Nothing is truly revealed or discovered about the art of ventriloquism, though they sometimes say encouraging things to one another about their skills. We do see inside the dummies, the vast props and things they must buy to accommodate them, and the affects of a life that revolves around playing with dolls. Yes, the characters all have their own obstacles to overcome, but none of their emotions are mined. We never see the depth of the father-son relationship concerning the thirteen year old and his masculine inclined father, or the desperation behind the fading beauty queen's lackluster act. It's not boring, but it could have been much better and culturally informative.
September 2, 2011
Hilarious and interesting documentary.
½ July 21, 2011
Well I like seeing Ventriloquism so it was neat to see people who are starting out and some that are the top enteranters of right now and it wasn't a long movie but it seem to drag out a little bit but not saying it was bad it was good
June 10, 2011
Whoever thought that the world of ventriloquism could be so fascinating, or this touching? The greatest part about this documentary is not the dummies on display, but the real people behind their voices, movements, and emotions. In only 85 minutes you get a snapshot of the lives of five people who have given their time, talent, and their self-worth over to a career that asks an audience of children or adults to laugh at a stuffed puppet. More importantly, the film shows the heights and lows of such an endeavor. You see stars like Terry Fator born, and a marriage dissolve. You see a mothers disdain for her daughters love for what she does, and a fatherÔ(TM)s disappointment that his son would rather play with dummies, than be a football player. This is real life, in all of its sweetness and its sorrows.

GRADE: B+
½ April 27, 2011
pretty much agree with the several reviews that say it seems longer than it's 84 minutes. And there are lots of questions that are either unasked or barely suggested. But the questions that are asked can be heartbreaking: what are our highest ambitions? How do we plot out our lives in the art we make - and is art any replacement for life? Despite the surface redemption/success of the final reel the answers are, sometimes, terribly sad.
April 23, 2011
It was an honor to be apart of this Wonderful Movie!!! Director Mark Goffman, Producer Lindsay Goffman and crew put their heart and soul into it. Take a friend, a loved one, or yourself and see it in your area theaters. "RAH!"
April 20, 2011
I always love watch documentaries, I find them intriguing in that I learn about something that I would normally not want or care to see. Dumbstruck is a doc about ventriloquism, being that one of my greatest fears going up was a little doll named Chucky from a little movie called Child's Play I had no desire to sit through a 90min movie about dolls/puppets/dummies...whatever.
After the movie I was pleasantly surprised. The movie was a little slow in the beginning, but as are most docs. The characters introduced became more real with each passing min and I found myself sympathizing with them in that, I have a hobby/vice that some would consider weird, so what makes us so different?
The film was good...definitely a movie I think will be talked about after its release on Netflix (where most people catch up on their documentaries).
Page 1 of 1