Estranged - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Estranged Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ October 26, 2016
Low-budget horror that works well enough.
October 13, 2016
A poorly made and paced psychological thriller that begins fairly enough until after the accident where Jan loses her memory. Then incidents begin that have no basis in logic - like the boyfriend taking her "home" when he knows she doesn't connect with her family and hasn't even seen them for 6 years. Then strange behaviors abound at the house, and Jan and her boyfriend do not even try to get out. It just gets worse as it goes along. Stupid.
September 11, 2016
Scary and seriously messed right up but I really liked it!! Intense from the get go until the what the heck ending.
August 15, 2016
Very well directed. They nailed everything they were aiming for as far as tone, characters, atmosphere, and imbalance. This movie also did a great job of hiding the fine details of the plot until absolutely necessary to reveal. A great psychological horror film and an impressive debut for new director Adam Levins.
July 11, 2016
A young woman returns home after being in a car accident and losing her memory. After time she begins to put the pieces together as to why she left to start with.

Estranged is powerful and unrelenting. This family is just evil
May 23, 2016
the pic that you show is for a 2006 short also called estranged
May 7, 2016
A decent horror movie. It doesn't have as many scares as you would hope for, but it makes up for that by having an intriguing plot (huge bonus points for accomplishing that in a horror) and an overall chilling/tense environment.
The acting is above par and the musical score/effects work by intensifying the right moments. Overall a pretty good horror.
May 2, 2016
I actually kinda enjoyed it. Defiantly not a horror film, in my opinion anyway. More of a psychological thriller.
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2016
I always hate when films like have no descriptions, because I feel that, without context, the review does not make any sense whatsoever. And I'm not exactly the best at describing. Anyway, after an accident where a woman loses her memory, she returns to her home after a six-year absence as she struggles to piece together her past. The film might have the look of a low-budget film, but the execution is anything but as it suitably creates tension, showing you that things aren't exactly as they seem in this house and with the people that call themselves her family. The setting of this old mansion gives the film a creepy atmosphere, as you can see, from flashbacks and just the vibe the house gives off, that there's a dark history in this house that hasn't been figured out yet. And it's those mysteries that drive the first half of the movie and there's a good amount of intrigue that builds. I'm not gonna say that the film is entirely unpredictable, because it's fairly easy to figure out what it is that's going on with January's (supposed) family and what it is they're trying to achieve. But it's not really as bothersome when you take into consideration the fact that the movie is actually really skillfully made. Plus, I just find it interesting in seeing how Jan's 'family's' motivations, aspirations, jealousy and vengeance make them do horrific things. Though there are elements of the film that I didn't like. First of all, the house is several miles separated from civilization. And what Jan's 'family' is attempting to do, which is trying to inherit her house, is strange. Strange in that the house is so apart from the rest of the civilization that nobody would really care if they took over the house in the first place. Maybe they're doing it so they can, legally, own the house. But they even bring it up that if something did happen to Jan's (real) father, then nobody in the village would really care one way or another. So why would they care what happens to the house anyway? It's not like it's a flaw, at least to me, but it was just a detail that I felt was unnecessary. I guess it is what drives the family's motivation and it does make them do horrible things to Jan. Plus it helps to push Jan to a point of no return, where her sanity has clearly been affected by the hostage situation she finds herself in. Another thing about the film is that the acting, and this is more of a character-driven thriller above everything else, is really strong. Amy Manson is great here and her deteriorating mental health is one of the film's highlights. I do think there are some scenes where she hams it up, mostly near the ending, but it's relatively minor. James Cosmo is also a highlight here and he has an incredibly imposing and intimidating presence, so he was just perfect to play this type of domineering individual that wants things to be done his way and his way only. The rest of the cast is real good as well, but those two are the obvious highlights of the film. The climax is strong as well, it is violent, when compared to the rest of the film of course, but it's not like this is Hostel-esque violent. I can't really say much about this film, really, I enjoyed it quite a bit. It's not perfect, but it's well-written and well-acted. So I would easily recommend it if you have Netflix. It's a good watch.
½ April 23, 2016
Estranged 2015, this excellent horror film that has gone under the radar until it showed up on Netflix in April of 2016. I don't understand the low star rating and can only think that some of the audience may have been bored instead of intrigued by this psychological thriller. It's not a spoiler that January, the main character played by actress Amy Manson, has amnesia. By her not remembering whom these people are you feel like you are one with her. It's a small cast but they are all good and creepy as hell. Jeor Mormont the 997th Lord Commander of the Night's Watch plays the father, Albert. It's on Netflix now so go watch it. It's Great
April 21, 2016
I am 66 years old and was raised on horror (the big show at 4p) and we have appreciated horror for a long time. I thought estranged was clean and to the point. that alone is refreshing. I also cannot see a sequel. also I love revenge films.
April 20, 2016
I quite enjoyed this thriller. The ending was surprising. Some parts were a bit confusing, but I liked it.
½ March 14, 2016
Uninvolving thriller, 5/10
February 20, 2016
this was decent. i don't think it was particularly original in any aspect, though -- so in turn it was kinda just meh. but not bad!
Page 1 of 1