Fighter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighter Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 7, 2011
The only downside to this movie was it was all subtitles. It was awesome though. The fighting was very cool, the symbology of her fighting her demons, the personalities, the religious/cultural points of view on everything in life... I recommend it.
½ November 22, 2010
Interesting topic but not that original.
October 24, 2010
Una de esas peliculas que enganchas y miras no sabes bien por que! Cliche, so cliche. Un Karate Kid musulman!
October 16, 2010
Love it!!!!So inspiring!!!!!
Super Reviewer
½ October 13, 2010
This movie really surprised me. It started out looking like a 70's style B movie, but then turned into something much more. I ended up really enjoying it. The girl in this movie did a wonderful job, and the style of the film was really quite good. Not your typical action style film. This was so much more interesting, heartfelt, and exciting to watch.
September 21, 2010
I've never seen any Natasha Arthy's work, but Fighter really surprised me since I had no expectations and only caught my attention when it happened to be on tv. It's definitely one of the best kungfu movie set in modern time that I've seen. Very simple story, and at times it gets a bit melodramatic and it's somewhat predictable, but the fights scenes were very beautifully choreographed, and I loved the ending.
½ May 28, 2010
Surprisingly good. That girls got some serious Fu.
½ May 5, 2010
I had seen this earlier today on television. It was an inspiring but cliched story. One issue that did make it stand out somewhat from other similar movies, is the family's culture dealing with romance. It is eye opening how an individual who strictly believes in marriage before she even has a dating/relationship. This notion(tradition) was ingrained in her mind all her life so she truly believes. However she learns everything does not fall into place because your parents believe you need to be what they want you to be. She learns about her happiness as well as family (no one is perfect). The camera angles during the kung fu practicing are great, the viewer could truly see the movement from each sparer.
½ March 1, 2010
Amazing unique genre piece in the vein of less The Karate Kid and more Bend It Like Beckham, this Danish film is really about the cultural conflict the children of immigrants often deal with a Western society (in this case Denmark) when they go against the traditional values of their parents.
Watch out for a superb training sequence with Aicha and Emil as they race across the rooftops of Copenhagen, demonstrative of the excellent stunt work in the film and the great chemistry between them.
Fighter is an excellent, sensitive and nuanced depiction of the internal discord between choosing your own passions and loyalty to your family and heritage.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2010
Amazing unique genre piece in the vein of less The Karate Kid and more Bend It Like Beckham, this Danish film is really about the cultural conflict the children of immigrants often deal with a Western society (in this case Denmark) when they go against the traditional values of their parents.
Watch out for a superb training sequence with Aicha and Emil as they race across the rooftops of Copenhagen, demonstrative of the excellent stunt work in the film and the great chemistry between them.
Fighter is an excellent, sensitive and nuanced depiction of the internal discord between choosing your own passions and loyalty to your family and heritage.
January 26, 2010
Great movie that exposes cultural issues in a thought provoking way
January 23, 2010
I knew all the movies I rented had to be a great one. I love this story about a young girl who is obsessed with Kung Fu and still trying to follow her dreams while at the same time not wreak her family life. A great story and one I think didn't get enough buzz. It was worth watching it and was rooting for the girl to succeed in all aspects of her life to be happy:)
½ December 17, 2009
The martial arts version of Bend It Like Beckham - only better.
½ October 4, 2009
A drama movie about difficult choices that we have to take sometimes in life. A teenage student is passionate about Kung-fu, but her father does not allow her to train anymore. She's Turkish and she's a muslim...
She needs to find her way in life...between her famil, her passion and her emotions.
September 28, 2009
a very unsual and refreshing mash-up. as if bend it like beckham met karaté Kid in Danemark imigration.

magic realism with AWESOME fight scene.

5 stars!
Super Reviewer
½ August 31, 2009
Had the potential of being a very good movie but ended up being a mediocre movie with intesting themes in it. A story of a Turkish girl living in Denmark, stuck in between her conservative family and her Danish friends, having passion for only one thing in the world: martial arts. Decent movie but could be much better if the director kept away from the cliches of the genre.
May 23, 2009
A teenagers parents that came from a Muslim family in Turkey that don't want her to pursue her dreams of becoming a kung fu fighter..
The fighting scenes look like there out of Hollywood , apart from that its a enjoyable film.
Why the actor said that Turkey is a Muslim country is a mystery or perhaps its something that many Danes think , I am not so aware of Danish culture in that regard...

Its the second Danish social orientated film I have seen, the other one was Adams æbler aka Adams apple which I felt was excellent as well.
½ May 3, 2009
Fighter is a very different film to your average Martial Arts flick. While the combat and training scenes are plentiful, these are not the point of the film. Fighter is a film about Aicha, a teenage girl of Turkish origin trying to find her way in Danish society. It's a coming of age story that looks at modern European cultural conflicts in a mature and intelligent way.

The script is densely packed and rich with the complexities of different cultures and generations trying to find how best to get along with each other. There are no pantomime villains here and Aicha's family really does come across as a real family trying to cope with real difficulties.

The acting is strong across the board and the fight scenes are unvarnished and suitably spectacular.

This is one of the best martial arts films I've seen in a long time and one that works very well on a range of levels.
April 1, 2009
reallh really want to see this movie but cant find it anywhere.
Page 1 of 3