The Final Programme (The Last Days of Man on Earth) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Final Programme (The Last Days of Man on Earth) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 17, 2017
not sure if this is the film i saw or not
February 21, 2017
A psychedelic mess for the most part, it does stand out from the crowd because of this.
July 4, 2015
End of mankind sci-fi fantasy with man battling his brother over crucial microfilm. Sunk by the comedy attempts; often feeling like the producers were trying too hard to be clever for their own good. Author did not like this adaptation, rightly so.
May 13, 2015
not so much unless u like cheese
March 2, 2014
A very hip, funny and on the money enjoyable sci-fi black comedy blast--Slick trip!!
½ October 27, 2012
Based on a book that should have been left in print. Poorly explained plot at the beginning. Scientists search for microfilm that holds the key to becoming immortal. The downside is the side effects will make you look like a caveman.
½ August 11, 2010
This was not as bad as I expected. I expected an incomprehensible 70's adaptation of an incomprehensible 60's book. What we got was decent acting struggling with what constituted hip in the early 70's, and which was wonderfully lampooned in Austin Powers.
The 2nd half is quite funny, and I think it copes quite well with the lack of finance, but ultimately it is a failure.
June 25, 2010
I enjoyed it enough despite the dated visual effects. It was still pretty fun. I think I would like to read the books. I heard that author Michael Moorcock was critical of this. His books sound like they are on an epic scale. We'll have to see, but this was still good.
March 8, 2010
Not at all as bad as you might think, and a lot more fun than you might. Jenny Runacre steals the entire film as the gleefully sadistic, sexy and smart Miss Brunner(a highlight being a scene with Jerry Cornelius' nemesis Frank in a vault) in a performance reminiscent of her later turn as Bod in Jarman's JUBILEE. Probably the loosest performance I've ever seen out of the underrated (see him in MACBETH) Jon Finch as Jerry; he captures the character in spirit, both his cool and his whininess alternately and is quite funny. (I suspect it's THIS Jerry that was the real influence on comics writer Grant Morrison) and overall a pretty great-looking, not-bad post-Kubrick snotty British psychedelic pop adventure film that, admittedly, does start to fall apart toward the end, but then there's psychedelic solarized light-show sex with Jenny Runacre and you forget. It does seem like the sort of thing that would be better remembered had it come out 1969-71, rather than in 1973, which seems a little too late for its chaotic amorality. It's dated, but a lot of stylish fun.
February 28, 2010
Great flashy, arrogant early 70s British fun. This is, I think, the one and only Jerry Cornelius film ever made, and it's more faithful to its source("The Final Programme") than you'd think. An excellent cast, much of it made up of the actors you'd see around then in Lindsay Anderson films, including Graham Crowden, who's in everything. Jon Finch is an underrated actor(I love him in MACBETH), and he does well by Jerry, but Jenny Runacre steals the show with her ultraviolence and sexy, greedy smile. She strikes me as the unconscious inspiration behind every Warren Ellis heroine. It shows its 70s psychedelic age, but it's very enjoyable for that.
February 28, 2010
I love this film. It's 70's, it's fun and clever and has a couple of my favourite lines. The last scene is a bit of a let down, but otherwise a great, (and very obscure) film
May 17, 2009
Worth seeing as a cult film of it's time but disappointing as an adaptation of the book. Good performances from Finch and Runacre. Some funny moments, some stylish scenes, but it's just not Moorcock.
March 23, 2009
Une adaptation des Jerry Cornelius de Michael Moorcock par le realisateur de l'Abominable Dr Phibes !
Le film part dans tous les sens et brosse le portrait de Jerry, dandy decadent et accroc aux biscuits.
Pas toujours tres comprehensible, mais ├?┬ža reste franchement amusant a regarder !
½ March 2, 2009
Based on a book that should have been left in print. Poorly explained plot at the beginning. Scientists search for microfilm that holds the key to becoming immortal. The downside is the side effects will make you look like a caveman.
½ January 29, 2009
It doesn't really work, but this psychedelic look at the end of
½ January 24, 2009
Interesting British oddity from 1973. Far as I know, the only filmed adaptation of a Moorcock novel.
½ February 7, 2008
Read the existing Flixster member reviews; I really don't have anything to add. I'm sure that reading the book (books?) would help one enjoy this film, as it seemed to me almost like the middle part of a trilogy; this does not, however, take away from the movie's wonderful visuals and overall British 70s Sci-Fi weirdness. I'm surprised this isn't mentioned more often in the company of Logan's Run and other more popular cult films of the era. Maybe if it had more of a cohesive narrative, or had been fleshed out a bit more? In any case, Jon Finch is a major stud.
January 1, 2008
wacky bit of early 70s kitsch based on the michael moorcock book: jenny runacre is hot....not sure if you can get it on DVD which is a shame.
Page 1 of 2