Gen-X Cops (Dak ging san yan lui) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gen-X Cops (Dak ging san yan lui) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ December 10, 2015
Review:
When I saw that Jackie Chan had produced this movie, I was expecting the young actors to be doing some amazing Kung Fu with some great stunts but it turned out to be about a bunch of gun tooting teenagers with an attitude. Its very fast paced and I didn't know who the goodies or the baddies were half the time because everyone kept on killing each other. Anyway, the film is based around Inspector Chan who isn't really taken seriously in his department, so to prove that he can take-down a bunch of arm dealers, he creates a young elite force to work for him. They then go up against the notorious young teenagers who are not afraid to kill whoever crosses them. The gang boss who controls the whole operation, goes toe to toe with the elite force and the showdown at the end is definitely worth a watch. Personally, I switched of from the film after a while because it seemed a bit messy. There was just too much going on at once and the dark tone of the film made it feel a bit seedy. With that aside, I can understand why it went down well in its native country because it does feel like a cult movie but for this day and age, it did seem a bit dated. I also found it hard to connect to any of the characters, except for the inspector who put in a great performance so it has to get the thumbs down from me. Disappointing!

Round-Up:
This movie was directed by Benny Chan who made the great Shaolin and has directed a few movies with Jackie Chan which include New Police Story, Robin-B-Hood and Who Am I?

I recommend this movie to people who are into their action/thriller/comedies starring Nicholas Tse, Stephen Fung, Sam Lee,Eris Tsang, Daniel Wu and Jackie Chan. 3/10
August 21, 2013
Pretty standard HK action fare. Main characters pretty attractive, Jackie Chan cameo at the end. strangely poetic scene with a parachute, then a crude joke about it. pretty great last 15 minutes, if only for ridiculous-sake.
½ December 16, 2012
Nic Tse, Daniel Wu, Toru Nakamura, Sam Lee...this one's quite comedic! The 1st Nic movie I saw...it hooked me.
½ November 8, 2012
What does it mean to be "Gen-X"? Skydiving, base jumping and the beach of course! These things, plus plenty of explosions and gunfire make for a solid late 90's HK undercover cop flick. Tsang, Tse, Wu and a cameo by Chan give the film star power. The effects aren't great, but it's a fun ride. Even has 50 minutes of deleted scenes for the truly interested.
½ June 15, 2012
I'm a bit of a sucker for this silly film.
May 29, 2012
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

(1999) Gen-X-Cops
(In Chinese with English subtitles)
ACTION/ COMEDY

Jackie Chan produced movie vehicle centering on a group of young looking teenage cops infiltrating a gun smuggling operation. Directed by Benny Chan of many action filled Hong Kong movies including "Big Bullet",and Jackie Chan's "Who Am I?" and "New Police Story" to name a few.

The dismisal plot is nothing more but serves only as a backdrop to showcase the action and the comedy scenes, making the most of it's widescreen enviroment.

3 out of 4
½ May 28, 2012
jackie cham debutando como director
April 11, 2012
Interesting description of this generation's law enforcement professional
½ July 5, 2010
Nonsensical & illogical yet somewhat entertaining. Bad dubbing made the story sillier than it probably is but renegade cops playing by their own rules is always funny. Filmed at the peak of slo-mo & sideway shooting guns.
½ December 20, 2009
Combine some of HK's finest young talent with some action and you have some idea what this fine movie is all about.
December 5, 2009
this is cool crazy b is rocking the show baby if ya dont know what im saying watch some good movies douchelol ^-^*
June 13, 2009
Interesting description of this generation's law enforcement professional
March 29, 2009
well produced, great action and functional story. If you want an action/comedy thats a little different I recomend this. As good as action cinema from China in 2000 gets.
February 26, 2009
It just seemed like random scenes shoved together. There was no single cohesive storyline. Instead there were bits and pieces of about 5 different storylines and none of them were explained very well which left quite a few plot holes. I understand the concept of letting the audience figure some things out on its own, but some of this left me just confused.
December 12, 2008
Good Hong Kong film, not great. I enjoyed several of the leads in "New Police Story," so figured it was worth checking out. Good action, interesting soundtrack. Not a bad was to waste a couple hours...
November 25, 2008
Exciting to watch! Especially with favorite actors like Daniel Wu and Nicholas Tse. they kick ass in this action packed movie that is both funny and serious at the same time. I just loved it!
½ October 12, 2008
Silly and stupid, this movie is also fairly entertaining. Some sweet stunts are sprinkled throughout and Eric Tsang rocks.
August 20, 2008
more action in this one than the second one and pretty good cast still has the same funny stuff that alien does
July 26, 2008
One Kick-Ass Movie Produced By Jackie Chan
½ July 16, 2008
you -can't- stop- them!
Page 1 of 5