Ginger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ginger Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 20, 2017
I have the Ginger trilogy on VHS. Ginger is a female spy who uses her body to catch her man. This is probably the least interesting movie in the series.
½ September 1, 2011
If I'm ever feeling nostalgic about the 70s, I'll watch this again to remind me of why I shouldn't be. Horrible fashion, blatant racism, lousy acting, some of the most non-arousing sex scenes, and on-screen lectures about the evils of drugs lifted straight out of a 7th grade health class gang up to assault the senses in this grindhouse failure. Cheri Caffaro sleepwalks through her role, and one can't blame her for sedating herself while delivering lines laced with words like "nigger" and "jungle bunny." The one black character in the film never stops reminding us how much he lusts after "sweet white ass." "Ginger" is cinematic proof that the 70s were awful in their own special way.
Super Reviewer
December 26, 2010
Usually the first in a movie series is the best, but this is the worst of the Ginger movies. Somehow the plots got better as they went along. Still, it does have Ginger, the cool "female James Bond" character, and I like her.
½ December 7, 2010
Re watched this tonight. I really forgot how great this flick is. Sooo many highly unnecessary elongated scenes, hilarious dialogue, and simply awful production.
May 27, 2009
kool as i might wanna see lol of course i wanna see it
Super Reviewer
½ January 20, 2009
The direction is about as competent as I was in grade 10... which isn't horrible. The baddies (save for the one who likes "stuck up white bitches") are about as threatening as a wet paper bag, locked behind glass. The private detective who employs Ginger was probably just the dude who worked behind the deli counter wherever in New Jersey they filmed this flick. The nudity and sex scenes are about as sexy as a slap in the face with a bag of potatoes. They basically consist of awkward stripping followed by one lying on top of the other while wiggling a bit.
But when all is said and done, this is an exploitation film, that no doubt could be a hoot for exploitation fans (like me) on a slow night.
One man's trash is another man's treasure, and trash this is, although not at the height of John Waters, not in the gutter either.
March 7, 2008
Ginger is like Charlie's Angels rolled into one angel, with a judicious addition of white trash. I still haven't been forgiven for taking friends to see this.
In the sequels, does she do anal?
Super Reviewer
½ December 20, 2007
Slightly amazing sexplotation film from 1971. The main character is an ass kicking private detective who uses her body like a weapon.

The scary thing is that Ginger can kick the crap out of everyone in this movie both physically and mentally. She's a genuinely smart character.

The acting is awful. The cinematography laughable (I actually giggled a few times) and the story is descent at best. However for what it is, it's damn near a masterpiece

Wicked Cool Fact: Director Don Schain just won an Emmy for High School Musical (as a producer)
½ November 5, 2007
There was a time in the golden age of seventies cinema when a woman could take a lead role as a strong, intelligent, and beautiful woman, without hang-ups about doing graphic sequences of sex and nudity. These were good times. The results were films that depicted equal portions of sex violence and action that not only didn't objectifying women, but empowered them as well, expanding the audience to both ends of the sexual revolution. The stunning Cheri Caffaro stars a s a secret agent that always seems to wind up in a situation involving bondage, an unsurprising scenario considering her husband directed this and 3 sequals - THE ABDUCTORS, GIRLS ARE FOR LOVING, and TOO HOT TO HANDLE. Highly recommended, if you can dig this sort of thing.
October 13, 2007
BRING IT OVER HERE, WHITE GIRL.
½ September 22, 2007
Ginger is a white trash spy who will fuck you then kill you, great film....I think there's a trilogy to this maddness!!!
June 24, 2007
Not quite as good as The Abductors but a good start to a great series.
June 5, 2007
A film so bizarrely and poorly made it is incredibly engaging.
November 6, 2006
absolutly nothing...
Page 1 of 1