Gingerdead Man 3: Saturday Night Cleaver - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gingerdead Man 3: Saturday Night Cleaver Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 28, 2017
Saturday Night Cleaver Electric Boogaloos the Hell out of an already ridiculous franchise, shifting further from the simple, revenge-driven storyline of the original towards central plots which include Mr. Gingerdead as only a part-time player, skirting round the side-lines while spouting sub-Freddy Krueger one-liners and occasionally hacking even lesser characters to pieces. In this film, the Edible One spends less time as a serial killer and more as a voyeuristic sex maniac. After a parody of Silence Of The Lambs from the Friedberg/Seltzer school of spoofing movies, i.e. copy scenes near word-for-word, change a few names slightly and throw in lame jokes, and what follows is a roller disco in which, for reasons unfathomable, the Doughy Deadman choses to initiate a killing spree. I guess it's because he's evil and the participants make easy fodder, but he has no genuine reason to be there, and somehow manages to slip around unnoticed, despite often being in plain view and shouting every word. The characters are forgettable, the writing is terrible, the central concept uninteresting and the effects, while improved from the first outing, are still pathetically amateurish. Even in a series of films about a sentient confectionary, Saturday Night Cleaver distinguishes itself as being especially flavourless.
½ May 9, 2017
When a halfway decent B-horror movie turns into a "franchise" of spoofs, this third installment being primarily ripped off from Carrie, only add a juggernaut of gore, bad CGI and more vulgarity than anything created by Seth MacFarlane. And features quite possibly the most ludicrous ending of a horror movie ever. 1.5/5.
March 7, 2017
I absolutely laughed really hard once or twice, but most of the time I was mildly bored by random characters when I could've been watching a cookie kill people. "C**t!"
½ September 11, 2016
Lame third sequel in the Gingerdead Man series has the evil pastry being sent back in time to a 1970s roller disco. First, I don't think that's all that interesting or clever of a set-up for a horror/comedy. Second, the film doesn't really do anything very funny with the 1970s roller disco setting (which seems like more of a budget cutting attempt when almost the entire film takes place on that one set). The original film wasn't all that great either, but it did have the novelty of Gary Busey proving the voice of a demented killer gingerbread man. I'm a huge fan of Full Moon Pictures, but this one didn't work for me.
March 24, 2015
Best of the Gingerdead man film series and that is saying something but it is a fun experience overall. Lots of puns and the plot are copied from elements of other films but it adds its own to make the film unique. This Gingerdead man is actually the best I have ever seen, hes probably better than the Gary Busey one and that is saying something. He kills a lot while also giving funny puns which make the film better because of it. Still the acting is mediocre and the effects are the same but the company is known for these effects so it doesnt matter. A good film to watch to get the overall idea of this maniac. Watch this and the first, but stay away from the second, please. That was just horrible
½ September 28, 2014
one of the worst movies I've ever seen
July 21, 2014
I don't understand all the negativity, because I had a hell of a fun time watching this movie. It's Gingerdead Man 3, people, don't take it so seriously! If you actually went into this expecting a quality horror film, then you absolutely deserve to feel duped. If you have seen the first two, you should know what to expect with this one, so why even watch it in the first place if you hated the others? And if you haven't seen parts 1 and 2, why would you start with part 3, and what in the name of Betsy would make you think that this was going to be ANYTHING other than an intentionally bad zero-budget campfest, given the silly title and incredibly cheesy box art?? Learn how to pick out movies! But those who know what they are getting themselves into are probably watching because they liked the first two movies, and they will not be disappointed.
April 19, 2014
The Gingerdead Man escapes from a research facility for homicidal baked goods and jumps onto a time machine which takes him back to 1976. It's the disco era and the cookie maniac is not liking it. So he decides to hack n' slash a bunch of Roller Boogie types. There are references to the 70's of course, a bikini car wash scene, a funny threesome sex scene between a blonde girl, a hunk and a really ugly slob janitor (the only highlight of the movie), a few film references to Carrie, Silence of the Lambs, Saturday Night Live, 28 Days Later (just to name a few). Overall, this final entry to the Gingerdead franchise is another piece of shit.
April 4, 2014
Movies like this aren't made to be taken seriously, but they still need to be interesting, or funny, or gory, or at least give you wood or something. This really didn't do any of that. Number three in the series wasn't better or worse than either of the others, they all pretty much sucked equally. The funniest thing about them is the name. After that, it goes downhill. I will admit that the evil pastry made me grin occasionally with one of his goofy one-liners, and I always enjoy a good nail gun massacre, although the CGI on this one was at a second grade level, just like all the other effects on the rest of the potentially enjoyable gore. Extra half star though, for the awesome 70s threads, especially that suit!
½ January 19, 2014
The worst entry in a stupid franchise, Saturday Night Cleaver somehow transfers the action back in time to a 70s roller-derby, but your attention will probably have already shifted elsewhere by that point in the movie....
½ November 17, 2013
This is my favorite of the sy-fi channel-ish horror films (ie thankskilling, santa's slay) i thought this film was hilarious especially the first scene when he breaks out of the home for homicidal baked goods. Awful production quality, about a gazillion plot holes and the worst acting you could wish to see. All while remaining hilariously entertained in a this movie is terrible sort of way.
November 10, 2013
Hands down the best film in cinema history!!!
½ October 30, 2013
I saw this movie... And let me tell you. It was priceless!
I loved every bit of it, especially the play on Silent of the Lambs,
and the movies Carrie, and Porky's.. It's a fun movie with lots of
Hot girls and action!!!!
October 28, 2013
I saw this movie... And let me tell you. It was priceless!
I loved every bit of it, especially the play on Silent of the Lambs,
and the movies Carrie, and Porky's.. It's a fun movie with lots of
Hot women and action!!!!
July 1, 2013
These are usually my favourite types of movies, sometimes they fail big time. This was a huge failure.
½ February 2, 2013
72%

"He said, 'I can smell your muffin'."-Clarissa (Laura Kachergus)

Made by a guy who directed some Power Ranger episodes, want do you want, a masterpiece?
½ February 1, 2013
The Gingerdead Man is back on the run after escaping from an asylum for criminally-insane baked goods, and with the help of a conveniently-placed time machine, he is headed to 1976 to stir up some trouble at a local roller rink! The ingredients for this episode include two tablespoons CARRIE, a pinch of SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER, and a splash of SILENCE OF THE LAMBS as the Gingerdead Man passes through one silly spoof after another. GINGERDEAD MAN 3 takes just a tiny step back from the last hilarious entry in the series, providing more gore but fewer laughs along the way. The roller rink serves as such a strange setting for the film, and far too much time is spent actually trying to develop the characters considering this is a movie about a freakin' killer cookie. Regardless, it shows the same high production values that were found in the second film, and legitimately looks like it could have stepped out of the 70's (minus a few computerized kills). Fans of the first two films will be sure to enjoy the latest in the GINGERDEAD MAN series!

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
½ January 7, 2013
Ridiculously awful film. Hard to believe that there was a first film, much less a third. There are some funny cinematic and 70's pop culture references (including in the sound editing and music), but the language is schoolboy-gratuitous and beyond foul. Surprisingly, there is zero T&A which would have gone a long way towards making it more watchable (nothing could make it 'better').
December 28, 2012
Zero stars. What a complete waste of time.
Page 1 of 3