The Great American Snuff Film - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Great American Snuff Film Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ June 17, 2012
Part found--footage and part regular serial killer film, The Great American Snuff Film plays like a way less intense and disturbing August Underground or Bill Zebub film but with intellectual, psychological aspirations. The Great American Snuff film features a few disturbing moments, but overall it is merely a forgettable piece of slasher cinema that doesn't quite measure up to the films it's aping in terms of transgressive content and doesn't quite manage to fully develop the psychological components either.
March 26, 2011
Disturbing and graphic. Love it.
At the end of the movie is just shocking.

Not for the faint of heart.
½ October 19, 2010
Wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be but probably could've been better. It was an interesting take on a horror film, not really seen anything like it before. I liked how it was from the killers view and that there wasn't the same old regular happy ending. But the acting was terrible and the filimg a bit dodgy at times. It's worth a watch for horror fans and/or people interested in the minds of serial killers.
August 15, 2010
Probably one of the best low budget slasher flicks I've seen in a long time. Mike Marsh does a a wonderful job playing Grone. Ryan Hutman does an equally good job playing the other killer. I can honestly say this film entertained the hell out of me. Also worth mentioning is the killer electro industrial score which adds pacing to the film. Overall I recommend this film to those that are into hardcore horror but those that are easily disturbed and/or frightened stay away.
August 15, 2010
Probably one of the best low budget slasher flicks I've seen in a long time. Mike Marsh does a a wonderful job playing Grone. Ryan Hutman does an equally good job playing the other killer. I can honestly say this film entertained the hell out of me. Also worth mentioning is the killer electro industrial score which adds pacing to the film. Overall I recommend this film to those that are into hardcore horror but those that are easily disturbed and/or frightened stay away.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2009
This one is a pretty sick movie. So what am I doing watching it????? It came in the Pendulum Pictures 50 Movie Pack Called Mortuary of Madness sold by Mill Creek. Story of William Grone who was a pretty sick serial killer, him and a buddy who he kills (Thanks Buddy), kidnap 2 girls and put them thru pure hell, this fill shows that. The girls had pretty easy lines, moan, scream and once in a while holler. Some say Amateurish made, but I feel that in low budget films it was well done. Mike Marsh who played Grone did a excellent job. This is for pure psycho / slasher / low budget gore film fans only. All that said I can only give the star rating I have. 2 Stars
September 22, 2008
It took me awhile to get used to the filming style, but I ended up really liking it. It was raw and low to no budget. It was twisted as hell, but you know, it was based on a true story. So what does that tell you?
½ June 15, 2008
it was ok, but not really that amazing. the whole movie is based on the "real" snuff film shown at the end which just wasnt that believable.
½ May 7, 2008
The only people who seem to dislike this are some uppity brits.
April 28, 2008
Good movie about snuff killer William Allen Grone, but it seemed to me like they were honoring the sick things he had done.
½ December 27, 2007
Fucking lame arse shit. If I could give this bullshit a negative rating I would have. Acting is shit, story is shit, camera is shit, sound is shit. And it's not a true story it's all bullshit made up to help market what is just a low budget piece of shit.
½ December 13, 2007
Absolute tripe. If I could give this a 0 star rating, I would. Me and my friends rented it and all sat fast forwarding through most of it because nothing was happening. It's the most boring film I've ever watched. Don't waste your money.
November 27, 2007
a little less produced and you would swear it was the real thing
½ November 25, 2007
This film has been widely criticised and I guess understandibly so however the likes of the 'Saw' saga, 'Hoste 1 & 2l', plus sooooooooooo many more films are equally as "sick" so there's a lorra lorra double standards out there kiddies ;op I watched this on Sky and thought the leading actor's portrayal of the killer was brilliant, very convincing. Liked the recollective style of telling his story. Obviously, the snuff film at the end wasn't real as the censors and famiily of the victim would not allow it to be shown. Stylishly shot, good soundtrack, kept me interested, yeah it was not bad.
½ September 12, 2007
Who watches this sort of sick shit?! Oh erm that's me then. Just one thing to say on this it's all wrong and nothing like real life and I should bloody know...oh right I'll leave it at that then, oh and only gave it 1/2 a star cos you can't give none!!!
September 4, 2007
I want to say it was brilliant. But it wasn't. The acting of William was good...his reserved monotone matched his obsession and control (making his small outbursts more powerful). But the rest...Roy especially. Oh dear. But it was gritty, disturbing, and left me wanting more. Left me wanting the last 2 and a half minutes (which mentioned at the beginning) to be so distrubing and realistic that it would leave me in tear. And all it did was leave me with a sigh and a 'whatever'. The supposed snuff film at the end should have been gritty, painful, and tear inducing. Instead it was basically nothing. Which is too bad really.

Aside from that though, the character of William was very interesting. He admites to having a troubled childhood and a hatred of his mother, but then admits that that wasn't the reason for his need to kill and torture. He was complex, lead a normal life at the office, was an amateur filmmaker, etc...but like to make snuff movies. Because of his complexity it is hard to believe he would be friends with Roy at all.

So other than a few quibble, this movie wasn't bad. Worth seeing just for the character of William. But not much otherwise.
½ August 31, 2007
Acting sucked, I wasnt scared or disturbed, and I felt nothing for the characters. All around a crappy low budget film.
July 23, 2007
I liked the film, i was just worried about what the films purpose was. It was amazingly direct and awesomely gritty, but why make a film to exploit a real vicious crime that was taped?
½ July 7, 2007
I used to date one of the victims, so I'm biased. No budget film has lofty aspirations and does a decent job of telling the story of this real-life murderer. It's a bit campy, but also somewhat disturbing. Overall, it's not very effective - considering the budget though, it's a good effort. Perhaps with a bit of clever editing, this film could gain somewhat of a decent cult following.
May 19, 2007
How come it looks so much like Texas Chainsaw but in fact looks so unknown and lonely in the horror section. I will stick up for this movie and give it a want to see.
Page 1 of 1