Heavy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Heavy Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 21, 2018
An interesting piece about a cook who would like to lose weight and fantasizes about having a girlfriend, Sad at times, but we get the feeling that he is able to finally pull his life together. You'll be able to watch it to the end.
August 28, 2017
Witten and directed by James Mangold starring Pruitt Taylor Vince as Victor who is the "heavy" as the movie is called. And is custom to always work at his mom's, Dolly (Shelley Winters) diner as the only cook. Once Victor's mom hires a young new waitress, Callie (Liiz Tyler), is when Victor begins to have affections for her despite him having a mental disorder and has always lives with his mother.
½ January 30, 2017
The important thing is not to look down yourself.
½ August 19, 2016
soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo slow
½ April 23, 2015
A long slow ride but one that's touching and sweet.
October 24, 2014
Low-key character study about a shy, over weight cook who falls for a perky waitree. Mangold really captures small-town loneliness. A great film.
½ April 24, 2013
I don't remember this too well. But, Liv Tyler is always a pleasure to watch. And James Mangold is a solid director.
July 7, 2011
The last great bar film before cell phones.
December 15, 2010
James Mangold's first feature film, Heavy is a beautifully visual film from start to finish, with most of the emotion internalised and such a introvert protagonist, he still managed to explore loneliness and solitude quite well, very well directed, acted and established him as a serious drama director. Ashamed not many people know this film.
February 9, 2010
recommended by myfavchords.....
February 8, 2010
This is a good independent film with strong performances by Liv Tyler, Pruitt Taylor Vince and Deborah Harry. This is a character driven piece which is not heavy on plot.
January 21, 2010
中????好似?"??????太???",好似大學????影???
October 29, 2009
Pretty well done for an indie feature. James Mangold captures emotions well enough. The feelings of loss were effective and emphasized. The exchange between Pruitt Taylor Vince and David Patrick Kelly was beautiful.

Liv Tyler was okay. She acts cute in some scenes.. But it's not about her. So all you horndogs out there will be disappointed. And I laugh at your pathetic waste of time.
½ September 21, 2009
It's a nice little indie movie with a lot of interesting twists an turns for a simple story. It's a very well acted, Pruitt plays the lonesome antisocial very well. Surprised that a film that looks like it was shot on a VERY LOW budget had alot of top people in it. I found this movie in Surrey one time at a used video store, regretted not getting it then but when I seen it downtown at another use video store I figured why not, glad I did.
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
½ September 16, 2009
A very special, simple and emotional film. You'll be bored though...

54/100
September 2, 2009
when was released it was very shocking for me....ultra sensitive....emotions talk like 1000 words...10/10...(not for adults:-))
½ June 14, 2009
For all the promotional featuring of Liv Tyler, the focus is really on Victor (Pruitt Taylor Vince); one of the little people, bypassed by life. A sensitive, subtle movie, a little difficult to watch but well worth it.
February 9, 2009
Un drama sencillo y conmovedor. El actor interpreta un muy buen papel con un personaje que casi no habla. Muestra la imposibilidad de un indivduo de darle a su vida el rumbo que desea, por circunstancias que no dependen completamente de él.
Absolutamente conmovedor retrato de la soledad; sin diálogos, como en la vida real ocurre, sólo los sonidos que no controlamos son los que aparecen, los que rompen el silencio. De infinita sutileza, con muy poco dice mucho.
Page 1 of 4