Hot Rods to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hot Rods to Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 21, 2014
In all honesty, I dislike all of the troublesome teenager movies that I've seen from the 1950's and 1960's. Most of them are just bad movies and the teenagers usually act completely over the top and unrealistically, and in Hot Rods to Hell, they do just that. Poor Dana Andrews stars in this stinker as a father who moves his family across the country to a new town, only to be harassed and nearly killed by the local hot rodding teenagers. I would almost call this a Z grade movie because of how terrible the performances are, not to mention that Dana Andrews appears to have been drinking a bit on set (I don't know that for sure, of course, but he comes off that way). There's some unintentional comedy to be found in this for sure, but overall, it's a terrible movie with subject matter that has never interested me in the least.
November 8, 2014
So bad YOU WILL LAUGH until you cry...
September 2, 2013
A great "camp" movie - bet you haven't heard the word in a long, long time. This movie defines it. A great drive-in flick. If you can't get to a drive-in, at least you have half the the fun - no, you have 90% of the fun with this movie.... seriously
April 21, 2013
At least as good as any other crap action movie.
April 20, 2013
2 stars (out of 5) for being such a bad film but 5 stars for the entertainment value. Bad acting, crazy dialogue. Like, wow.
October 27, 2012
I'm not the same guy.

A family in Boston suffers a horrific accident when the father is in a car crash and suffers major spinal and back injuries. He'll never be able to work as he knows it again. A friend of the family convinces him to buy a hotel in the west to make a living. On the way to the town and once they arrive they are plagued by young kids with hot rod cars trying to drive them off the road. The kids don't like change and they don't like the family. Can the family survive the crazed teenagers?

"You think every girl's the same?"
"No. Their names are different."

John Brahm, director of episodes of The Twilight Zone, Alfred Hitchcock Presents, The Outer Limits, Gunsmoke, Bonanza, and Waterfront, delivers Hot Rods to Hell. The storyline for this movie is interesting and entertaining. The characters are solid but the end is a bit disappointing. The cast delivers better than average performances and includes Dana Andrews, Jeanne Crain, Mimsy Farmer, Jeffrey Byron, and Mickey Rooney Jr.

"You'd do better looking at the road."
"Thanks, buddy, but we've already seen it."

This movie was accidentally recorded off Turner Classic Movies (TCM) instead of the intended horror picture. My daughter (Kiyomi) and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie due to the great car chases, crashes, and games of chicken. This was far from a perfect grindhouse movie, but it was an entertaining classic grindhouse horror/car chase film. This is worth seeing once if you're a fan of the grindhouse genre.

"Fortunately, the spine wasn't severally damaged."

Grade: C+
½ April 18, 2012
Campy juvenile delinquent film is fairly entertaining. It's no "Blackboard Jungle" but it's a solid production staring Dan Andrews as the father of a family terrorized by a band of teens and their hot rods. The film seemed as if the makers of "Beach Blanket Bingo" had been asked to make "Straw Dogs".
½ June 12, 2011
An epic slab of mid-60's cheese, with nihilist youths in hot rods tormenting the straightest of all possible American families. The women cast in this are almost impossibly awfully overwrought in any scene at all. The straight-shootin' he-men are alternately speechifying about them crazy kids and shaking their heads sadly at the state of the nation. The final film of the super-fantastic John Brahm, who should have been allowed to go out with a more horrific note.
Super Reviewer
½ December 11, 2010
This movie has a good cast, and some really intense and exciting scenes, especially towards the end. I think it could be better, though, the story could have been stronger, maybe if we knew more about the hot rodding teenagers? Overall, I enjoyed it, though, I liked Andrews.
November 12, 2010
Pretty funny flick that is basically about how if you hurt your back you can no longer be a man and protect your family. Poor dialogue, overwrought performances, and some "subtle" life lessons all add up to an entertaining if forgettable picture.
August 5, 2009
Definetely worth of watching! So badly done that it's funny.
½ February 22, 2009
There is so much wrong with this movie. The fact that this movie was made in 1967 but feels like something out of the mid fifties. The dad who wears his pants up to his nipples and is about 60 and has a 8 year son. The hoodlums who dress in nice polo shirts and drink root beer. The daughter who considers kissing third base. The "funny" younger brother and the overacting of the wife. Watch for the scenes where the punks are chasing the family in their car. The family clings and claws at the dad driving is by far the funniest "not suppose to be funny'" thing in the movie. This is also a sad statement on what the major studios thought were cool and hip in the sixties. At least Easy Rider was coming.
December 23, 2008
Painfully embarassing fiasco with poor Dana Andrews' Leave It To Beaver style family chased around for two hours by out-of-control teenage hot-rodding hoodlums hellbent on kicks! You've got to love it. Jeanne Crain's performance is so overwrought and wildly melodramatic you'd think she was a junior high student trying out for Greek tragedy, meanwhile inbetween her fits of hysteria she has some great preaching moments like when she shrieks at her teen-age daughter, "Is THAT what you want, to end up in some MOTEL ROOM with *ANY* MAN???!!!"
½ August 20, 2008
"These kids are going nowhere, and their trying to get there at 150mph!" This line sums up how great this movie was. Although a very G rated campy and an obvious cautionary tale about the dangers of youth and fast cars, it holds up as a dated 60's romp.
July 12, 2008
those awful hoodlums. i can't imagine anyone as terrible as these kids. omg.

that poor dad and his back problems.
½ February 3, 2008
A sort of distant cousin to "Reefer Madness." Fun to watch with friends and pretend your doing Mystery Science Theatre...
December 2, 2007
Wonderful Cheese DaddyO!!
November 16, 2007
Good campy fun but filled with somewhat good car chases.
October 14, 2007
This is a beautiful example of mixing together "the" middle class family, delinquent hot rod kids into a B-movie script. It's irresitible whether you are into turkey films or just enjoy period 60's hot rods. The movie deserves my 4 stars.
October 3, 2007
Four stars? Am I kidding? Nope. It deserves four. It is so horribly over acted [by the mother charcter - at least] that it's worth watching. It's a cult classic.
Page 1 of 2