Investigating Sex - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Investigating Sex Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 15, 2017
The Good: Solid cast, nice period setting, props, costumes

The Weak: Pretty much everything else. Very dull, very dry, very forgettable.

One of the worst PhotoChop covers ever.
½ April 11, 2017
A pleasant surprise of a film... with a very interesting cast, including Nick Nolte, Robin Tunney, Terrence Howard, Dermot Mulroney, Julie Delpy, Neve Campbell, Jeremy Davies, Alan Cumming, & Til Schweiger... such a diverse cast made for a very interesting film indeed... would readily recommend.
May 13, 2014
all star cast gone soft core porn.
May 13, 2014
Do yourself a favor and see this movie. I commend Red Lats' review for realizing the film might be beyond him. In fact, it will seem strange to those who don't know about the sardonic Art Movement known as "Dada", which 1n 1929 (the timeframe of the film) was emerging into the highly sexualized and morality challenging Surrealistic movement. That unusual mixture of the self-questioning of Western Civilization while simultaneously exploring the Dionysian release into unbridled pleasure is the central point of the film. As for Fascade's review, the gentleman incorrectly states this is a college class. Pay more attention, my friend! It is a group of intellectuals, writers, and artists, funded by an eccentric but boorish entrepeneur which is led by a "former" college professor who got fired for having sex with his students (which makes him eminently qualified for this group). And he is not good at judging the skills of actors. Nick Nolte and Tuesday Weld's over the top performances are perfect for their characters, while the smoldering sexuality just below the surface of Neve Campbell's stenographer is done with subtlety and convincingly engaged in a struggle within the self. This movie demands FAR MORE from its audience than the typical American film, but believe me, it is well worth it.
½ May 13, 2014
Very talented cast in a movie that's mostly a waste of time. I got some laughs trying to figure out Tuesday Weld's accent. The rest of the film is devoted to discussing sex then having sex. There's also anger, a bit of violence, "art", "science" and an attempt to convince us it's the '20s.
½ May 13, 2014
I had hoped for better.
The cast wasted their talent on this movie.
½ May 13, 2014
Interesting idea, but a little too slow, which is too bad because I think a stellar cast got put into a weird script.
May 13, 2014
weird and interesting
½ May 13, 2014
One of those movies that you'll likely forget that you've ever watched, but will somehow move you due to the interesting topic and script. As a "science project" this movie is interesting and funny in many parts, especially the moments of sexual fantasies explored. Loved the location that they did the filming in. Robin Tunney was in my mind the principal actress in this, as a rebellious, complicated interesting character.
Super Reviewer
May 13, 2014
This movie has an A list of actors, but is a B movie at best. Perhaps the point of the movie is just beyond me, who knows?
Super Reviewer
½ May 13, 2014
Why in the world would anyone want to pay money to take a course in college about sexual relations??? Sex in the roaring '20's to me grinded to a halt in this one...This was an all star cast waste of film and time. Don't waste your time getting this one....UGH!
May 13, 2014
ummmm, watch KINSEY instead
½ November 21, 2010
So grotesque, almost unbearable.
November 17, 2010
WHERE CAN I GET THIS MOVIE
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
December 19, 2009
Ponderous and pretentious with a group of mostly talented actors (Neve Campbell, who is horrible, being the exception) wasting their and our time. Tuesday came out of retirement for this? Avoid if at all possible!
½ May 18, 2009
Good cinematography. Terrible plot.
April 10, 2009
A good cast but an absurdly inadequate script that never generates enough steam to feel like a movie.
½ September 9, 2008
Director Alan Rudolph, protege of Robert Altman, has had an uneven career. This iisn't ome of his great movies. Dermot Mulroney goes full-frontal, though, so that might help make the film more palatable.:P
September 2, 2008
Another strange film about sex from director Alan Rudolph. Light on plot, but strong on colorful characters, fleshed out by an excellent cast. The screwball antics got a bit over the top towards the end, and the ending wasn't very satisfactory - but an interesting and unique film.
May 1, 2008
poorly directed and no ploit
Page 1 of 2