Jack the Giant Killer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jack the Giant Killer Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ February 10, 2016
This is God Awful. The storyline skips around too much, the CGI is amateur, the acting is really terrible and I get we're supposed to suspend our knowledge of reality but the skips and unexplained things in this movie just insults your intelligence.
Maybe this would have made an okay series but within an hour and a half there was more focus on making an attempt to give each character a background; that's fine but the way that was executed was sad. There was some depth on a few characters, some bits were pointless while others could have been explained a little better (like why was Jack building a giant-slaying machine when he has never seen a giant nor was ever told about one). From the buildup to the children's show plot, climax and resolution the expectation building within the first half hour of the movie was pointless.
The CGI was very very depressing. Granted I will say the design of the giants was very creative but the animation of them was just a handful of animations repeated throughout the film (from the movie gettin cut off after the largest giant being killed you almost feel that they had to cut the action short because a CGI animator may have been too expensive?) You can also clearly see green-screening that is so unprofessional that high-school film projects could compete. The Castle like the Giants was also creative but it looked out of place like everything else. I won't even elaborate on the bean-stalk and the vines coming out of it; that's laughable. The only actor I liked and it wasn't because of her acting was The Queen lol she's hot but all the actors were terrible. They could have picked better roles for let's say the Commander of the Army for example.
Now here's a bunch of things that proves this movie was utter trash:Multi-ton monsters are falling onto ground from hundreds of feet up... how come nothing breaks? No seismic shakes? Nothing? There was a little dust but everything was intact!! The early 1930 Brits must have had some great architects back then.
Same thing with the castle.. especially when it falls from not hundreds of feet but thousands of feet onto the biggest monster.. how come he didn't get juiced? Alright they're bullet proof and I suppose the biggest giant had to be saved to bring more action and suspense into the story but the storyline is retarded anyways. That right there blew my mind.
Same thing with the giants being shot with bullets and other projectiles... so do the monsters absorb bullets? I get the CGI budget was low but in the script it said nothing is penetrating them, they could have at least made sound effects to show that the soldiers weren't just aimlessly firing... know what I get it, they were just shooting at the clouds..
The best part!! Jack takes his machine he built for fun and has the biggest giant swallow him; he manages to survive not being penetrated by 30 ft long teeth, being crushed by the monster's esophagus or any of that. Jack must have also designed his machine to be completely water/gut/giant's insides proof because he came out of a bloody hole completely clean and dry. Now tell me how a monster that withstood a multi-thousand ton castle falling on him from an altitude as high as outer space (they at least got the atmospheric part somewhat right... not really but I'll give em my suspense of belief for that) was so easily defeated by a machine that's 20 ft tall?
July 28, 2015
2015-07-28 illogical
July 1, 2015
Appearance, and presumably the budget, of a feature length daytime children's TV adventure. It actually could have been better, but they really must have done it all on a shoestring and still run out of money before getting all the scenes shot at all, let alone retakes to get them right.
April 10, 2014
I have seen some bad movies in my long watching career but this film takes the biscuit
April 1, 2014
Excellent Action + Adventure + Fiction Movie.................................
Excellent Work + Computer Graphics......................................
½ February 5, 2014
There is only one reason to see this movie, and that's if you've a great, HUGE lech for Jane March like I do, and wonder how she's holding up since the last thing you saw her in was _Color of Night_. She's the only redeeming part of this (mostly) live-action cartoon suited only to the 7 & under set on Sat. mornings [& that's only for the 7 year olds who take the short bus to school, if you know what I mean...] Quite frankly, the movie is a train wreck of a made-for-TV flick, and if it was ever shown in a cinema, then someone lost their job over it. Still, loved seeing Janey after all these years, but she needs material worthy of her talents, not this lowest of low-budget student film wannabes. Unfortunately, it could have been played for camp, & it might have been a success if so, but it seemed to try to take itself too seriously for that. Oh well... Oh yeah, one MAJOR continuity error was almost humourous: the "1 day = 1 year" matter, which would make Serena's abduction as a child put her @ *thousands* of years old Earth-side, yet she comes down to Earth w/ a pic of her mom taken by Fox Talbot & ergo only about 150 years old... which would make her stay in the land above the clouds something less than 6 months long, based upon the formula given in the film. My Serena, you sure developed fast! ;-D
½ January 13, 2014
Terrible! Terrible! Terrible! Wast of time. Thanks for nothing Netflix!
½ November 9, 2013
Wow, this is a brand new level of bad. It tries to be funny, but fails. It tries to be interesting, but fails. It tries to be badly acted...and sadly succeeds. Jack the Giant Killer is just plain bad.
½ October 6, 2013
Why?? Pretty bad to say the least.
September 13, 2013
This movie was just such a waste of my time.
Extremely poor acting ,and such a bad story line.
Not to mention the horrible special effects .
I kids toy gun would look more realistic than this crap.
They should have just made the sound effects with their mouths. lol
August 5, 2013
Was really bad. The story line was stupid and the way everything unfolded was horrible. There was nothing good about this movie. I guess that's what happens when bored. You watch stupid movies.
½ July 2, 2013
A cheesy, low budget version of Jack and the Beanstalk
½ June 21, 2013
i rented this movie from redbox today i want my dollar back what a god awful mess i have had stanes in my underwear that where more entertaining then this and more fun to look at. if you are thinking about bout watching this movie then i recommend suicide because if you don't want to kill your self now you will want to after watching this piece of crap
½ June 15, 2013
Absolute garbage...90 min. ill never get back. I too thought it was Jack the Giant Slayer, oops was i WRONG!
½ May 27, 2013
Needs to be re-titled to "Jack the Career Killer". This is one very awful cheesy, amateur film.. Free on You Tube for a reason.
May 24, 2013
This movie was a hodge podge of awful from start to finish. Misleading from its cover - which features a scene which never appears in the movie - the tagline "Jack went up the beanstalk and brought down hell' and described on the rear as "Fun family Action-Adventure Fantasy in the vein of Pirates of the Caribbean and Lord of the Rings" - you would be excused for thinking you were in for any form of entertainment. Instead you would be better watching 1970s Dr Who - better scripts, better special effects, better editing, better cinematography, better acting, and bigger budget. I could waste your time explaining what happens in the movie but trust me - there is nothing here worth your time - I mistakenly rented it because I thought I was going to watch Jack the Giant 'Slayer' - and boy did I pay the price - if I can save even one person from suffering through this dross it will be worth it. Put this back on the shelf and forget you ever saw it. I am sure going to try.
Page 1 of 1