Jane and Emma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jane and Emma Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 6, 2019
A view of a relationship and a story that i always wanted and have been wanteing to see. I have always wanted to see someone depict Emma as a real person with her very real trauma and pain. I thought this was well done. I quite enjoyed it.
January 22, 2019
A beautiful story of sacrafice, friendship, and devotion. The strength of these two women is inspiring.
December 5, 2018
Knowing the filmmaker made an honest portrayal of this film together with a great trailer makes me want to see it. Will review it once I've seen it. Coming to DC next week, check your local showtimes.
October 26, 2018
This movie was AMAZING! It brought the Spirit, and conveyed a story that was unique and uplifting
October 26, 2018
The story is powerful. The acting is great. I love that this part of Church history is being explored
½ October 25, 2018
3.7, though this should have been made ASAP after 1978, after The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints gave blacks the priesthood.
October 23, 2018
This movie shared a good message of how important freinship is in tragic and hard times. It also teaches one to look past the color of someone's skin and love them for who they are. This is an important message we definitely need in the world we live in right now. Wonderful movie I highly recommend.
½ October 21, 2018
Jane and Emma breathes life into the real-life friendship of Jane Manning and Emma Smith. This important film examines their friendship within its complex matrix of history fraught with racism, the murder of the prophet Joseph, his polygamy and the strain of Emma's marriage. The deep friendship Jane and Emma, shown in the movie and based from the historical papers each woman left behind, is a telling passage, a cut from the cloth they were made of, a pieced quilt, stitched together through mutual trial and tenderness. This thoughtfully created, written, and filmed work bears the collaborative efforts of many artists, but ultimately it is Jane's story that speaks loudest- it is her time to be seen.
½ October 14, 2018
A clear-eyed look at two of the women at the center of the events surrounding the life and assassination of the Mormon prophet Joseph Smith - Joseph's wife, Emma, and her dear friend, Jane Manning, a free Black woman and religious. Danielle Deadwyler as Jane Manning is absolutely brilliant, and the story is compelling, moving, and human. It is a bright star in the often mediocre Mormon cinema genre, and as a result, the audience should not be limited to Mormons alone. Instead, this is a powerful, true story of race, gender, and religious conflict in the mid-19th century, and how two very different women forged an unlikely friendship that should appeal to everyone.
October 13, 2018
A must see movie regardless of your religious position. Based on true events, the plot centers on Emma Smith and Jane Manning as they stand vigil over Joseph Smith's body. Flashbacks reveal their backstory. The screenplay uses the conflicts of prejudice (racial, gender and religious) to explore the tensions that exist within societies and between individuals, even as they desperately try to live up to a higher moral code. This movie delivers on all levels. The attention to historic detail is extraordinary; supported by cinematography that is unique, fluid and expressive. Costumes are textured with homespun materials, hand sewn, and mended, as they would have been. The pace of the movie is deliberate and allows the actors time to deliver nuanced and profound performances. And, oh, how they deliver! Danielle Deadwyler and Emily Goss share an extraordinary energy and power that is a tribute to the courage and strength of the women they portray. Brad Schmidt plays Joseph as a man of generous spirit and deep understanding, yet still surprised by betrayal and cruelty. Even supporting players are passionate and raw. As we continue to wrestle with the critical questions posed by this film, it is wonderful to see history presented with compassion and truth. This movie made me think and feel, and left me with a greater appreciation of humanity's struggle to create a truly equal and kind society.
October 13, 2018
Very powerful and moving movie about an important subject in Mormon history, but doesn't come across as being "preachy" and is entertaining to watch. It tells a story based on real people and isn't afraid to recognize both the good and bad from that time period. More Christian films should be unafraid to tackle difficult subjects in this way.
October 13, 2018
This is an amazing movie that everyone is going to want to see!!!
October 13, 2018
It's a movie that makes you think. Wonderful acting. I loved it and it touched upon several controversial and sensitive subjects in a very personal and appropriate way. My 10 year old son paid attention threw it all and we talked about important issues after the movie. Highly recommend it.
October 12, 2018
What a excellent performance by some amazing actors. Incredible scenes that take you back in time. Awesome historical account of some powerful women in history. Thank you for making this movie!!
October 12, 2018
I am so excited to see this film in my boxxy software. It's raw, bold, and stunningly filmed! I love the sisterhood highlighted in this take on history.?
Page 1 of 1