Joy Sticks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joy Sticks Reviews

Page 2 of 3
December 7, 2009
Classic 80's teen sex romp meets Pac-Man = instant cult classic.
½ June 8, 2009
I have a lot of people tell me that movies aren't as good as the ones in the past. This is a film that shows you movies have always been equally bad in the past than they are today. I saw this poster to this movie at a convention, and thought "hey that looks kind of silly...and look at that it's a sex comedy with video games...how could you go wrong?" Well I was wrong....DEAD FUCKING WRONG!

This movie has no plot until thirty minutes in where it takes on themes that oddly enough kind of mirrors "Footloose." It's got Joe Don Baker playing a successful business man (what kind of business the film never says) protesting an arcade because of it's use of questionable morals. The teens of the film are in dire straits when there could be a possibility that the arcade could be shut down for business. So how do they settle the conflict? Through a video game contest.

There's a little more to it, but you have to sit through gag after gag to actually reach it. I don't want to say all the gags weren't funny (I found my self chuckling from time to time), but after a while you just want to follow something that resembles a bloody plot.

Geek moment: The main character of this film is the guy who gets trapped in a closet by Uhura in Star Trek III: The Search for Spock. After that he's never seen again in the film. I wish Nichelle Nichols was in this movie too.

If you like a movie that has plenty of skin, then definitely check it out. If you're into ones that have a little story, skip this one. I think this film was made just so it could cash in the "Porky's" craze. I didn't even find the video game moments that fun. If you want an education how to film great games, but make them look utterly boring then view this movie. Other than that, avoid this one like the plague. I don't think there's a dvd release which actually might be a good thing. So if you're in love with the past, just be aware not all of them were gems.
½ May 17, 2009
Anyone who enjoyed this movie also hangs out in public bathrooms. I don't think there ever could have been a time where hot dogs lodged between a pair of tits was funny. I probably got an STD just by watching this movie in its entirety. Thanks for nothing
½ December 28, 2008
Great plot where a prominent businessman pressures the mayor's office to shut down the local arcade because he doesn't want his daughter hanging out there. The mayor investigates and gets hooked on Galaga. For those who appreciate the 1980s only.
December 22, 2008
one of the first R movies I watched... it has that sentimental value :-)
September 21, 2008
FUCK YEAH SAVE PAC MAN!
September 7, 2008
This gets a couple of stars from me for having some classic arcade games in it, otherwise it's a pretty poor example of a teen sex comedy, like a no-budget Porky's.
½ July 28, 2008
Joe Don Baker will stop @ nothing from trying to close down the local arcade and all the hedonism it stands for; they're playing strip Pac Man for crying out loud..for all that's right in this world that must be stopped.
June 24, 2008
They don't make movies like this anymore. Sure, it's dumb and cheap, but it has a certain absurd charm that today's dumb and cheap movies don't touch. Case in point: the theme song and the court scene.
May 17, 2008
Best of the 80's teen sexploitation films. King Vidiot (Gries) is my hero.
½ April 1, 2008
This is one goofball movie, but well worth watching atleast once.
March 18, 2008
Really really bad "movie" about one guy's determination to keep the arcade open while a local concerned parent (Joe Don Baker!) tries to shut it down. Incredibly mysoginistic, lame comedy, and embarassing to all involved, this movie IS however, quite an amazing time capsule, both of video games and of the evolution of teen comedy.
½ February 1, 2008
this movie has the pac man effect which means that its so bad that it goes back to good...everyone needs to watch it if for nothing else 80's nostalgia
January 21, 2008
Fell asleep through most of it, which shows you about it's content. didn't have the pizzaz of greydon's old movies. What happened greydon? Please dont do this to me, shame on you shame on you
January 9, 2008
If you love classic arcade games, you'll love this movie..... It definately takes you back to the 80's
December 26, 2007
A decent 80's sex comedy.
November 11, 2007
you can't even begin to comprehend how cool this film is!
October 29, 2007
This movie sucks ass, you should only watch this if you like movies that suck ass! I guess thats why I watched it?
October 28, 2007
Really a zero star film BUT it's an 80's teen hi jinx film, which automatically scores it a 2.5. I'll give it an extra half star for being under 90 minutes long.
Page 2 of 3