Joy Sticks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joy Sticks Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 17, 2017
Can't hold a candle to some of the better 80s sex comedies like Last American Virgin, Porky's, Spring Break or Last Resort. Seriously though, it had a lot of potential but the script fell really short.
My suggestion if you are a 80s comedy junkie like I am, run though all the rest of the top rated movies like I mentioned about and start heading to the bottom of the barrel, watch this at the very end of the list because I can promise you there are a lot better 80s comedies out there.
Take care and keep these movies alive. :-)
½ June 28, 2014
It's pretty dated, as one can tell, but it's pretty much a time capsule of how 80s teen sex comedies were made, with strange characters, ranging from the nerd who is the butt of jokes, to the misfit who has punk rock hair. The arcade is something we don't see much of anymore, so for those who weren't around when they were popular, this might not resonate well with you. Other who are early 80s kids through and through, this one might take you back.
September 22, 2013
When a top local businessman and his two bumbling nephews try to shut down the town's only video arcade, arcade employees and patrons fight back.

stars Joe Don Baker, Leif Green, Scott McGinnis, Jon Gries, Corinne Bohrer, John Diehl, John Voldstad, Logan Ramsey, Morgan Lofting, Kym Malin, Kim G. Michel, Jacqueline Cole, Reid Cruickshanks, Jim Greenleaf, Dona Speir and Hugo L. Stanger.

directed by Greydon Clark.
March 19, 2013
You have boobs, Joe Don Baker trying to shut down an arcade, video game showdowns, Jon Gries as a punk gamer, a Belushi ripoff, and Pac Man transitions...While the obscure Joysticks is bad it is entertainingly bad.
March 13, 2013
Classic 80s t&a with video games, genius.
½ January 29, 2013
I gave this a blind buy based on several internet friends singing its praises, and while I was never a video game guy in my youth I can really get into the overall '80s-ness of this one in a big bad way. Definitely a fun way to kill an evening with beer and pizza, lose yourself in the nostalgia of it all.

Well worth a rental.
½ January 27, 2013
Terrible, but awesome at the same time. Pretty much a failure on all levels save for the awesome 80's nostalgia kick and cheeseball sex comedy antics .
½ October 27, 2012
Great plot where a prominent businessman pressures the mayor's office to shut down the local arcade because he doesn't want his daughter hanging out there. The mayor investigates and gets hooked on Galaga. For those who appreciate the 1980s only.
September 27, 2012
Truly joyful 80s T&A comedy succumbs to by-the-numbers plotting, numb dialog, and unimaginative staging that turns the final sequences into a gruelling exercise, where they might have been a winky campfest.
September 13, 2012
Truly joyful 80s T&A comedy succumbs to by-the-numbers plotting, numb dialog, and unimaginative staging that turns the final sequences into a gruelling exercise, where they might have been a winky campfest.
September 2, 2012
Hit and miss T & A comedy that will either seem very dated to some (usually those who either didn't grow up in the early 80's or didn't enjoy it) and nostalgic to others. Lots of games show up bringing back fond memories like Battle Zone, Defender and even Pooyan which I had forgotten all about.
½ September 1, 2012
what a piece of shit...
½ November 6, 2011
Who can't help but want to get naked and play video games?! Come on, a theme song that touts 'playing with your joystick', a bunch of Playboy Playmates, and some truly funny actors... it ranks up there as one of the classic 'sick' movies of the early 80's! "Jerk it left, jerk it right, I could watch this f#c$ed up movie every night!!!"
September 26, 2011
Haha! It's an 80's T&A flick set in the video arcades of yester-yore. For those of us who remember the video arcades (the only place you could find the good games) there might be some nostalgia, but overall the movie is lame.

Typical plot that some politician-type is trying to shut down the "den of evil" while the local arcade owner defends the wholesomeness of his establishment. (Ironic that this arcade is WAY raunchier than anyone I'd been to in real life).

I'm a gamer, and it always bothers me that they don't even try to match sound-effects with the proper game. Another pet peeve is showing people playing games who OBVIOUSLY aren't playing because nobody actually plays with such vigor. Finally you have people playing games like Super Pac-Man while hitting all kinds of buttons, when everyone KNOWS that it's a joystick-only game.

Were video games ever really this cool? Is the fat farting dude really somebody the men AND women look up to with respect? Were hot chicks EVER attracted to the video arcade? I think this movie is messing with history.... ;-)
June 1, 2011
You have boobs, Joe Don Baker trying to shut down an arcade, video game showdowns, Jon Gries as a punk gamer, a Belushi ripoff, and Pac Man transitions...While the obscure Joysticks is bad it is entertainingly bad.
February 7, 2011
one of the most epically cheesey movies i have ever seen, its like the troll 2 of 80s sex comedies
January 18, 2011
Classic sexy and fun comedy that needs a region 4 DVD release.
November 10, 2010
A time capsule film about the video arcade craze in the 80s. A low grade comedy film such as the character Dorfus ( a walking whoopie cushion) for relief gags. The story is about a confrontation by a playing a video game to keep the arcade open.
½ November 9, 2010
Concerned citizen attempts to close down the local arcade, to the protest of area youth. Tension escalates to winner-take-all game of Super Pac-Man. Joe Don Baker, a real favourite of mine, struggles to maintain his dignity here.
thefog1331
Super Reviewer
June 30, 2010
Hit and miss T & A comedy that will either seem very dated to some (usually those who either didn't grow up in the early 80's or didn't enjoy it) and nostalgic to others. Lots of games show up bringing back fond memories like Battle Zone, Defender and even Pooyan which I had forgotten all about.
Page 1 of 3