Kiss or Kill - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kiss or Kill Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
½ October 18, 2018
I saw this at the cinema when this first came out and really enjoyed it. Around 20 years later, it is still a good movie and not all that dated considering.
July 17, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014

(1997) Kiss Or Kill
CRIME THRILLER

Unconventional 'on the run' movie, co-produced, written and directed by Bill Bennett starring Frances O'Connor as Nikki, who as a child is now scarred for life since when she was a child used to witness her mom burn to death as a result of some guy splashing gasoline on her before lighting her on fire. Then the actual story starts, is when Nikki allows a cheating husband to seduce her, so that she can drug him before robbing him blind, with her boyfriend, Al Fletcher(Matt Day) aiding her. What happens next is that the businessman accidently dies, and as a result of also stealing the contents of this guys briefcase, they then come across an incriminating video tape of a well known celebrity, by the name of Zipper Doyle (Barry Langrishe) exploiting a young child. And instead of using it for blackmail, the young couple decide to go 'on the run' by driving away, and seeking to exchange other vehicles, while both the police and Zipper Doyle are going after them.

At first, it appears to look like a young "Bonnie & Clyde", "Sugarland Express" and "Badlands" movie but as the movie is progressing, not everything is what it appears to be as they're on the run. And although, it's unconventional, it'd have to take much of the first half of the entire film to the revelation to it being memorable. Perhaps if I had not seen those other 'on the run' films would've made a stronger impact than if was made later. Winner of 5 Australian Awards out of 11 nominations.

2.5 out of 4 stars
½ January 13, 2012
Clumsily acted and directed, and very irritating editing. The story was overwrought and cheesy in parts. There were some decent moments, but perhaps the budget prevented this movie from achieving what it might have otherwise.
½ July 24, 2010
Gee this was a good film. Great performances Frances O'Connor should have such a bigger career than she does. Really well directed and the use of music is fascinating, in the fact that the film has none. Amazingly it really adds to the atmosphere. Great scenery too, in places that aren't usually captured on film (I believe outback SA).

I really need to watch it again.
½ July 24, 2010
Gee this was a good film. Great performances Frances O'Connor should have such a bigger career than she does. Really well directed and the use of music is fascinating, in the fact that the film has none. Amazingly it really adds to the atmosphere. Great scenery too, in places that aren't usually captured on film (I believe outback SA).

I really need to watch it again.
July 24, 2010
A great thriller from Australia which plays like Badlands in the Outback. Frances O'Conner is excellent.
August 21, 2008
Off-beat neo-noir from Australia gets off to a strong start with quirky characters and some strange Outback atmosphere. Unfortunately, the plot - which gets off to a fast-paced start with a strong premise - starts to drag by the end, and some of the plot twists stretched credibility. Great performances - it was also interesting to see the cops just as fully developed characters as the criminals. Despite it's flaws, still a very entertaining crime film.
½ August 16, 2008
This is one of my favorite movies. Kind of Bonnie and Clyde like. I liked the beautiful shots of the outback, combined with some steaminess, quirky characters, and good editing.
½ January 4, 2008
Un road movie et thriller bien mene, original, et bien interprete. Un tres bon moment.
December 15, 2007
In my top 10 favorite movies ever!
October 15, 2007
It is criminal that Frances O'Connor is not more well known. The same goes for this film. One of the most brutal and effective opening scenes I can recall.
September 9, 2007
Great Aussie flick. Loved Matt Day in this he plays my ideal boyfriend.
Page 1 of 1