Leaving Las Vegas - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Leaving Las Vegas Reviews

Page 29 of 137
October 25, 2009
Nicolas Cage slept with somebody to get the Oscar for this boring movie. He's already a horrible actor.
October 25, 2009
This movie has a very real situation going on it. I could't believe how well the movie actually followed a real life situation. It is a very depressing story. When two people meet with a messed up life and situation, their story's become one. A prostitute is falling in love with an alcoholic who wants to die. Its a very sad story i recommend people seeing it but not for the family.
½ October 25, 2009
This movie features a situation between two people that will never be felt by most people. An alcoholic who heads to Las Vegas to drink himself to death meets up with an attractive girl who sleeps with men and women for money. They fall in love knowing it wont last long. As I was watching this, I couldn't help but to squint my eyes every time Nick Cage would be jonesing for his alcohol. Knowing the end to this doesnt help it when it actually happens. See the well told drama that most of us wouldn't ever find ourselves in. It's a great movie. Instant classic.
October 21, 2009
It's very simple and unusual story that alcoholic is going to die by alcohol. I like he didn't change his way and no regret that keep dirinking to the end. It looks sad story but I felt it's wonderful life. Anyway his perfomance is great! Totally drunkard!!
½ October 16, 2009
Incredible performance by Cage, easily his best and one of the best performances period. The film is very powerful, moving, depressing and hopeful all at once. It's uncompromising and brilliant. One of my favorite films of the 90's.
October 14, 2009
Nicholas Cage is one of those actors that is very hit or miss, but this time he was dead on. The soundtrack intoxicated me and the acting almost made me black out.
October 9, 2009
This is a ROUGH film to watch. It had been so long since I last saw it that I forgot how uncomfortable and awkward this movie is. Being uncomfortable and awkward is what makes this such a gem of a movie though. As dysfunctional as the main characters are, you can't help but love them. Behind every troubled person you meet, there is a story. This movie does a great job of bringing two of these stories to life.

I feel two messages come through loud and clear from the plot of this movie. a.) Nobody, no matter how dysfunctional they might be, wants to be alone. and b.) You can't "change" a person. People can only change themselves.

Certainly a thought-provoking, shocking film.
October 5, 2009
a complete dipsomaniac leaves everything behind and moves to las vegas to drink himself to death...there he meets a hooker and falls in love with her...she loves him too,but she cant ask him to stop drinking.....its a movie abt their relationship..........a depressing sort of movie,but i liked it(resembles with Dev D at some points)....
½ October 5, 2009
pornographic with a lot of alcohol

interesting enough to keep going but not very striking
September 28, 2009
A very realistic movie on the life that takes the alcoholic one and a very good performance on behalf of nicolas cage I
September 27, 2009
ugh, i know i should and i'm sure i'll be surprised, but god he's so awful
September 27, 2009
Cage's performance as a suicidal drunk getting progressively more braindead has been sullied by his more recent roles that have overpowered his more dramatic outings like Leaving Las Vegas. This is quite a heavy movie filled with characters whose motivations are sometimes hard to follow or believe. Some intense moments don't seem completely necessary and are shrugged off believing that more insight could be found in the novel that the film is based on.

I didn't find Shue completely convincing and found her far too tidy for a Vegas prostitute that would shack up with a man who wants to die.

Cage's character goes from fun to depressing and is in no way a sympathetic character. In fact, none of the characters earn any sympathy because they have chosen their gloomy paths.

Profound?

A great soundtrack that gives the atmosphere of a jazz club and heavy subject matter create a movie that is hard to swallow but worth a watch if you want something moody and dark. A movie that is depressing to drink a beer with.
September 23, 2009
One of Nicolas Cages' best performances really makes this darkly comedic drama tick. There are moments that make you laugh and moments that make you really make you want to cry, which is exactly how Elisabeth Shue's character feels about her relationship with Nick Cage.

The story centres around this dude called Ben who is an alcoholic and then decides to go to Las Vegas to drink himself to death. He then hooks up with this chick called Sera and they fall in love. Nick Cage reckons that Sera is his angel, saving him and taking him to heaven, whilst in reality it is Nick Cage who is the one who saves Sera from the life that she is leading.

Direction is stylish yet fits in really well with the plot and the pacing is perfect, ensuring you are never bored while the film builds up to its natural conclusion.

Nick Cage really did deserve his Oscar and has cemented his place as one of my favourite actors. The guy can do anything!
September 21, 2009
"Have you ever had the feeling, that the world's gone and left you behind?" - Sting

I'm a sucker for love stories. I also love dark comedy. Throw in some greek tragedy and you've got one of my favorite movies of all time: FEAR AND LOATH...oh wait. I do that all the time. LEAVING LAS VEGAS. There is nothing better when you are depressed and want to feel sorry for yourself, than making a date with a bottle of whiskey and watching this heart-breaker. Doomed love is a popular subject in theatre and film. This film puts a great bluesy, boozy, sexy, Vegasy spin on it.
In my opinion, this is Nicolas Cage's finest performance. I will basically forgive him for any bad choices he makes because of this movie. Elisabeth Shue is a street-Venus in this movie, as far as I'm concerned. Their chemistry, combined with amazing music (some jazz standards gorgeously sung by Sting) and great directing create that beautiful sadness contained in many of my favorite movies.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
September 20, 2009
This is an underappreciated gem of the cinema of the 1990's. Nicolas Cage gives his best performance of his career here, and rightfully won the Oscar for his work. Shue should have won, as she also gives an excellent performance, but sadly that didn't happen. The writing is excellent and the portrayal of depression and late-stage alcoholism is spot on perfect. This is not an uplifting film, but it's an honest one, despite it's tragic and gloomy nature.
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
September 18, 2009
Cage's most decent acting ever. A powerful and realistic film mainly about one of the worst and most destructive sicknesses in the world: alcoholism.

80/100
½ September 17, 2009
A compelling and sometimes moving portrait of human deterioration onscreen. This dark, unassuming love story of two wounded individuals offers no recuperation and kitsch conclusions. Best watched when youâ??re sober - and stay away from sharp objects afterwards.

RATING: B+
Super Reviewer
September 14, 2009
Awesome job by Cage, like he's known of doing every few movies. Unbelievable that someone can be that bad of an alcoholic, but this movie will convince you they can.
September 13, 2009
seen for the 4th time in my life, the same effect..one of my life time favourite movie...can seen it further times... It is one of the most romantic movie of all time..
½ September 10, 2009
Not the most cheerful film. But very good.
Page 29 of 137