Máncora - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Máncora Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 9, 2015
El road trip dentro de Máncora resulta ralo y misterioso queriendo generar expectctiva e incomodidad, a pesar de la sensibilidad melancólica de los ambientes propuestos, lo demás sigue siendo una necedad toda la película: generar expectativas que nunca se cumplen.
March 21, 2015
Pelicula Peruana...Mancora, una playa bravaza
½ September 22, 2013
A great road movie with a more than lovely Elsa Petaky, who really makes you fall in love with her and the movie.
½ May 12, 2013
Mildly interesting. Sets itself up for a solid message but doesn't quite deliver in this regard. Ending feels a bit flat. The journey is OK though...
May 8, 2013
If you don't like weekend benders, threesomes or surf towns, this is not your movie. And we probably shouldn't hang out anymore.
September 28, 2012
has all the elements of a road movie - amazing landscape, surf, sex, drugs, beautiful people, a hitch hiker, and good music. It's on Netflix
June 6, 2012
It's a really good film about self-discovery. Beautifully acted by all. The mystery of the characters kept me watching and of course the beautiful Elsa Pataky. my only complaint is that it lingers and has a slow pace. It felt a lot longer than 1 hour and 40. The ending also left me wanting more.
½ February 29, 2012
a lil bit too superficial :-(
½ January 24, 2012
soul searching movie, but not that good.
June 25, 2011
Good Movie. Great Music. Awesome Locations.
June 3, 2011
Hip beach flick with a latino flare. What it lacks in alpacas is compensated by sensuality. Ricardo de Montreuil serves up a lustful tale of young adults coping with the difficulties that life dishes out. He capitalizes on his Peruvian background by filming the local beach scene inspired by his youth and includes Peruvian-written poetry as a nice touch that adds an inspirational dimension. The scenes of driving through the Andes to the beach in an old car are enough to b-slap anyone's inner Kerouac out of hibernation. The music is subdued but appropriate and Srta Pataky enhances the film with her effortless good looks. If you've ever struggled to come to grips with a gravely difficult situation in life in which there is no easy answer, the film may strike a cord. However, it is hard to have sympathy for pouty, heroine-thin models falling all over each other for sexual conquests which may account for the negative reviews. Overall, a lot of frosting on this cupcake.
May 9, 2011
Has the same feel of experimentation, sexual tension, quiet anxiety, and surrender of Y Tu Mama Tambien. Jason Day holds his own in this story about a 20-something young man escaping and leaving town to search for inner peace and closure after his father commits suicide.
½ April 13, 2011
other than the scenery..Im not really digging this movie at all.
January 12, 2011
If you don't like weekend benders, threesomes or surf towns, this is not your movie. And we probably shouldn't hang out anymore.
½ December 31, 2010
A bunch of inconsistent Peruvian characters go to parties and drink and get high and fight and fuck. I was bored. Good-looking girl and good-looking scenery, though.
December 6, 2010
Woah, woah. Elsa Pataky. Never heard of her before this (or maybe I had), but all of a sudden the movie world...and probably the entire universe...revolves around her. A pretty decent actress, but simply incredible to look at.

As for the movie, a nice Peruvian road flick. Maybe a bit pretentious, maybe a bit leaning on the beautiful people in the movie too much, but I liked the pacing and the story and the pretty sites (and the film says Hemingway used to live in the small town where they attend a party). The end was going for dramatic and then turned kind of Hollywood, so that's the only real mistake. As nice a watch as it is, it's also fairly superficial so an 8/10 is about as high as it could get with me.
½ October 23, 2010
Death, redemption, rebirth, resolve -- worth a look
Movie is in Spanish.
½ August 8, 2010
After his father dies, Santi decides to go on a road trip to Mancora, Peru. His stepsister Xime and her husband Inigo come with him. "Mancora" is one of those dramatic road trip movies where the inevitable happens; sex, drugs, and some sort of emotional realisation. I think "Mancora" would have bored the absolute crap out of me if it wasn't for one thing; the actors who play Santi and Xime are ridiculously pretty. Nothing else about this movie is very impressive, really. It reminded me a lot of "Y Tu Mama Tambien". That's a much better dramatic-sexual-road-trip movie though.
½ July 25, 2010
An excellent film to showcase Peru (seldom seen) with lush cinematography. Mancora is a beautiful sea resort where people are gentle but the men are protective of their women. Along for the ride from Lima to "Mancora" is Jason Day as Santiago, Elsa Pataky as Ximena, and Enrique Murciano Jr. as Indigo. All three actors are attractive to look at but they each have issues with love,family, and fidelity. I wish the narrative was stronger. The movie meanders between characters, some boring, absolutely needless hitchhiker subplot, while we wait to see the conclusion. It begins with Santiago being thrown into the sea for dead and shows us what led to this incident. Not much plot but all three are wonderful actors, especially Elsa Pataky, and the direction by Montreuil is crisp.
Page 1 of 2