Merlin and the War of the Dragons - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Merlin and the War of the Dragons Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ September 20, 2014
It's rather slow, rather boring. The characters are flat and empty, and the dialog isn't much better. Cheap effects and minimal dragon scenes. The film doesn't really strike any new cords for this company.
½ March 24, 2013
I agree with another reviewer that this version of the time of the
Pendragon's will most likely only appeal to lovers of that Story and/or
Dragon lovers. If the viewer is looking for something from a high
budget level, they unlikely will be pleased with this movie. I love it.
My husband for instance would find it "cheesy" and not want to watch. I
love the title of the review that says it's perfect for a Saturday
morning. This version is a campy low budget film. It deserves credit
for how well they actually have completed it. The dialogue is extremely limited though. I'd say it's a great version for a 5th or 6th grader to get an idea of the story of Merlin, Camelot and the Pendragon's. There are many versions of the story. The TV show of Merlin is fun too.
Super Reviewer
May 22, 2012
Describes the early years of Merlin's life - and how he helps defeat dragons invading England. I read in Wikipedia (can one trust Wikipedia?) that the budget for the film was $250,000. That is amazing itself.
April 3, 2012
Ive seen better stuf on the sci fi channel than this.

It seemed like a backyard production, with cut and paste editing,bore you to tears story, nickle and dime budget, and unbearably bad acting.

Well at least there were Dragons eh?

You know its gotta be bad when it makesEragon look like Shakespeare.
½ March 20, 2012
This movie is sooo B it isn't even worth watching it
January 4, 2012
It was a good b movie. Want to see the next version since it showed one of the lady of the lake reviving the sorcerer at the end of the movie that Excalibur killed
½ December 18, 2011
This is so bad that the word 'bad' is actually an understatement.
½ December 7, 2011
A bad film that fails to impress on a variety of levels
½ July 18, 2011
Gillar normalt denna typ av film, men den här var ett skämt av stora mått.
1 skådis som gjort nånting som man känner till Jurgen Prochnow.
Det är uruselt skådespeleri från ALLA, och vi skall inte tala om hur dåliga animeringar är...ser ut som en 5åring har gjort dem.
June 16, 2011
can't say that this movie was really anything special... the only real thing that I took from it was that you are not defined by where you come from but you choose do be!
May 27, 2011
good story; poor acting; horrible effects
½ February 12, 2011
This one would've been okay but the acting was really terrible and the special-effects weren't that great.
½ August 23, 2010
it really looked like a movie made by students..
½ July 20, 2010
Ah yes disappointing even for a kids film ...dosnt have to mean its produced by kids. Was expecting a greater film but a distant take on Aruther was not bad. ..if anything at all on the story front and the dragons did look good, ferocious. They cast/acting was crapola. Avoid if at possible.
½ April 28, 2010
H kaliteri tainia meta to Lord of the rings!!
½ February 21, 2010
Allow me a moment to be completely fanboyish and very different than normal- Holy hell people! I am in freaking love! Carys Eleri, whom plays Lady Vivianne, one of the ladies of the lake, is amazing and gorgeous! Drop dead stunningly gorgeous. Just beautiful. As an actress, she's equally impressive, with a great screen presence, and solid line deliveries, why in the hell is this her only movie so far? Seriosuly folks!

-deep breath- -exhales- OK! With that rant out of the way, this fantasy adventure, as with most of the Asylum's films, has lots of fun, and is pretty solid, for this sort of movie. The lighting is excellent, with some real excellent dark scenes, but you could still see everything going on. The pace is mostly good, and characterizations are easily understood.

The script has some nice, very smart moments, which I didn't expect, and there were a few unexpected twists.
½ December 22, 2009
confusing. Very confusing.
½ December 12, 2009
I was surprised by this movie. I really found it very enjoyable. I liked the different take on the Arthurian Legends.
September 28, 2009
not the worst movie I've seen, thankfully they focused on merlons relationship with those around him more than on the dragons, you won't walk away thinking this is the best movie in the world, but you won't hate it either
September 24, 2009
I thought it wasn't so bad, to be honest. The guy who wore the red and became the king or whatever was an awful actor, though, along with the evil wizard kid. I really wanted the Saxon guy to kill both (who actually was more subtle and did a good job). Merlin and of course Jurgen did a decent job as well. It was better than King Arthur, story-wise. I'll give it that. However, the budget was obvious.

If they make a sequel, they should age Merlin. Teenage/20s is overdone. Let's see some more 30s and beyond Merlin adventures.
Page 1 of 3