Necronomicon: Book of the Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Necronomicon: Book of the Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ August 17, 2016
Some stories are good.
November 9, 2015
Quite a neglected and under-loved film in my opinion. It's far from perfect but manages to deliver enough Lovecraftian goodness to satisfy me a lesser fan. Overall I'd suggest it for horror fans to take a look at.
½ June 9, 2014
The film was OK overall. the first two shorts were decent and have the Lovecraft feel but the last one was just bad.
½ April 16, 2014
The first 2 stories are not that great but the last makes this worth a watch!
October 27, 2013
Most compilation films are a mixed bag. Not this one though. This one's crap top to bottom.

--2.0/10--
½ September 22, 2013
Some of the shorts could have been better, but the make up and effects are excellent and overall the movie is entertaining. Just some really poor pacing at the start.
July 12, 2013
Could have been better, could have been worse--Lovecraft in the flesh!!
½ June 15, 2013
Nice little anthology of HP Lovecraft trying to do research for some stories he is writing. This movie is typical of a Brian Yuzma/Jeffrey Combs outing, and is lots of fun.
March 25, 2013
the effects were amazing for its time and the plot was original never a classic but watchable
November 2, 2012
Splashy, episodic, fast-moving.
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
September 15, 2012
A fun adaptation of some of Lovecraft's tales related to the Necronomicon but also a very messy movie at that. The most interesting stories are the worse directed and acted and the best talents wasted on the middle story which is too boring and actually, one of Lovecraft's lowest and most uninteresting short stories. A good ride for the fans but overall, too messy and rushed to be truly memorable.
June 30, 2012
Awesmone movie based on a few stories by h.p. lovecraft
April 25, 2012
some really disturbing lovecraft shit here folks
½ April 16, 2012
Several tales of Lovecrafitian horror sewn around a detectives lifting of a copy of the sacred tome. The first vignette around a lost love and a house on a clifftop is wonderfully indicative of the master of horrors grand ideas with some amazing effects work. It's a shame the other segments are simply weak in comparison. Watch the first 30mins for a good time and forget the rest.
½ April 1, 2012
I sat through this film for sheer nostalgia... I watched this back in 1996 or 97, and it was one of those crappy movies that just stuck in my mind, so when I saw that it was going to be on one of the movie channels, I decided to watch it and remember a simpler time. A time when I could be entertained by garbage.

The Story: It's three short films based on the works of H.P Lovecraft. The first has something to do with a man who feels guilty for the death of his wife. The second is a story of a man who has figured out how to cheat death by killing people and using their spinal fluid. The third, and the most graphic, is about a cop who finds herself below the city being eaten alive by strange alien type creatures that feed off bone marrow. Each story is graphic and violent and will pander to the fans of splatter films... There's nothing of interest here unless you're a die hard fan of Lovecraft... And even then there's very little of interest.

The Cast: Why bother? It's not like their good... All the acting is laughable, all the actors are bad, all the characters are lifeless... Everything about this cast is terrible... Although if you ever need a good laugh, I'm sure they'll be happy to "act" for you.

One to Five Scale: 1

I had no expectations for this, and even still it was below what is to be expected. Don't watch this unless you're a fan of really really really bad horror movies.

Tyler
January 1, 2012
Um, yeah, my favorite horror anthology hands down. I saw this when I was about 11 or 12 years old and I could not appreciate it's [Love]Craft fully, years later it's not nostalgia that has made me fall in love, it's the effects, story and Jeffrey Combs as Bruce Campbell portraying H.P. Lovecraft..ha..
½ November 17, 2011
If it's lovecraft related I'm watching.
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2011
Another horror anthology, another Lovecraft adaptation, keep them coming if they're this good. The first story I liked so much I wondered why they ignored making it into a full-length. The second tale is slightly similar to the first but with less blood and more twists. The third veers off into silliness but the story is interesting. And who's the man reading these tales from an arcane demonic book? The always great Jeffrey Combs. Oozing with nice little stories, gore, atmosphere and some (for its time) good effects and a cameo by a certain someone/thing that will please Lovecraft's fans, 'Necronomicon' is just a fun horror anthology - so don't shut it off when it plays at 2 a.m.
½ May 29, 2011
Pr┼»m─>rn├ 1/2 hor┼»rek s pe─?et├ş H.P.Lovecrafta, kter├ 1/2 si v r├ímci t┼(TM)├ş r┼»zn├ 1/2ch ─?├íst├ş pod─>lili t┼(TM)i r┼»zn─> zru─?n├ş re┼ 3/4is├ (C)┼(TM)i, pobav├ş, ale z├írove┼ potvrd├ş, ┼ 3/4e Lovecraft si zaslou┼ 3/4├ş kone─?n─> prvoligov├ (C) zpracov├ín├ş.
½ April 4, 2011
3 great tales from hp with a wrap around story starring the man himself played by the ever awesome jeffrey combs. For once theres an anthology film that is all good. the first story is fun if a tad silly but has a great battle at the end, the second story is more layered and darker than the first but this really leads up to the bad boy final act which is just full of some of the sickest and slimiest things you'll ever see. this final segement is an assault on your brain with some really gory and horrific images. dont eat anything before watching it as your tummy will be doing a loop the loop. the wrap arounds are fun and work within the context of the movie. overall a heck of a lot of shocking fun. some of the really gross scenes are done by brain yuzna him of reanimator fame so if you like that you'll love this!
Page 1 of 5