Never Been Thawed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Been Thawed Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ October 10, 2013
Wow, maybe the 2nd best non-Christopher Guest mockumentary. (The best being The Grand.) Well developed characters by a bunch of faces I did not recognize. Great Job!
½ January 28, 2012
This is a pretty funny ans well made mockumentary. It's always a good time making fun of groups of weirdos. Similar to Best in Show and Waiting for Guffman. Pretty damn funny
½ September 15, 2011
I laughed hard. If you liked "Saved!" you will like this one.
½ July 7, 2011
A locally made movie that's pretty funny for the first half-hour or so. Unfortunately, the movie is 90 minute long, and the rest of it plays out like an episode of Family Guy: joke about a gay guy, joke about a deaf guy, unfunny attempt at a joke that gets dragged out until the end of days but still never manages to become funny.
½ August 19, 2009
not for everyone, for sure, but....(at first) deals with the PSYCHOSIS behind collecting, hoarding, and other ocd-like behaviors through satire, and is actually pretty effective and funny. anyone who comments on the "acting" and such doesn't really get the point. the main problem with it is that it quickly segues into so many other things---hypocrisy, bias, and the often fucked up nature of human thought patterns and behavior. needed to either be a cable series, or far more focused.
July 21, 2009
Now here we go! This here is again proof that you don't need all that much money if you have a good idea. And this is pretty god damn clever and entertaining. And ridiculous and funny as hell! The story is great and it has everything that a good mockumentary should have. Interesting and funny characters and stories and really clever writing. Funny funny stuff. Nicely done!
January 25, 2009
This is a poor man's Best of Show. Very creative idea but just horrible in concept. That being said, and the fact that I didn't really like it, the attention to detail was quite good. The little things made the movie click and had the performances been better the movie might have worked.
½ January 9, 2009
Most people would not make it past the first 15 minutes. This movie is very low budget with mediocre acting skills. It's also the type of movie that if you stick it out, you forgive it's faults and (I hate to say it) your standards are lowered and you REALLY have fun with the movie.

The main character of this film is also a graphic designer. A lot of his work is noticeable in the movie.

The gags are very easy but I got a good laugh every now and then. It needs polishing but it's a great effort.
½ October 20, 2008
This is a pretty funny ans well made mockumentary. It's always a good time making fun of groups of weirdos. Similar to Best in Show and Waiting for Guffman. Pretty damn funny
½ September 2, 2008
One of my faves! It is a satire in the form of documentary, and at the same time it is purposely amateur. Genius.
August 28, 2008
Incredibly smart, original and best of all hilarious.
Sure it's looks amateurish, like a student film, but that doesn't change the fact that it's one of the most hilarious, on point, relevant social satires on contemporary American life.
A mockumentary not to be missed. Skewers nerds in a way that can only be done by nerds. Awesome. Totally awesome. Way to go Hamilton.
July 23, 2008
Don't miss this one! One of the funniest mock-umenterys ever made.
½ July 20, 2008
A great mockumentary of frozen foods. I suggest everyone to watch this. It's quite brilliant. Way to go Amanda! I liked this film.
June 29, 2008
I want everyone I know to watch this movie. An independent Mockumentary about a group of frozen TV dinner collectors, who are also in a "christian" rock band. Very off the wall, very sac-religious, very funny.
½ January 6, 2007
[b]Never Been Thawed[/b] should have been funny and entertaining. It is a mockumentary about a group of people who collect frozen food entrees. Instead, the movie was slow and boring. Points for more-or-less original idea though.

[b]Ice Age: The Meltdown[/b] was a fun continuation of the original. Denis Leary is great in his role. ood family entertainment.

[b]Dark Shadows - 1990 revival[/b] was a very good remake of teh classic soap opera. Ben Cross was well cast in teh role of Barnabas, but occasionally was over the top in his acting. My biggest complaint was that the series ended too soon with a cliff-hanger! Least they could have done was tie up some loose ends with a DVD only episode or something. The show was cancelled because "no one was watching". That is complete bullshit. EVERY WEEK we had 15-20 people in my dorm room gathered around the tv just for that show. Other rooms had similar things happening. Apparently college students are "nobody"...

[b]Air Buddies[/b] was very cute and funny. My son loved it. My mom laved it too. If you enjoyed the other movies in the franchise, then you will probably like this one as well. Good family entertainment.
June 26, 2006
A few movies I saw this week, mostly rentals:

[b]Never Been Thawed[/b]
Horrible. All attempts to humor fall flat. Misguided attempt. Avoid!!!

[b]Forty Shades of Blue[/b]
Better and more moving than I expected. Great performances.

[b]Raiders of the Lost Ark[/b]
Saw it again on video. It's as great as it was 25 years ago. Fun for the whole family.

[b]Syriana[/b]
Complex and well written, but often confusing. Great acting all through.
½ March 7, 2006
[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]Dir: Sean Anders[/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange] [/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]Note: Sean Anders also stars as the character Shawn Anderson.[/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange] [/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]This is a unique and entertaining ?mockumentary? about the Mesa Frozen Entrée Enthusiasts Club. Main character Shawn organizes this bizarre group of collectors of frozen TV dinners (yup, you got it, pot pies, hungry man, etc) into a club with the aim to throw the first Frozen Entrée Convention. Poking fun of various collectors of all kinds, the characters explain to us how they became obsessed with frozen dinners and show off their collections (hence the title NEVER BEEN THAWED, or ?N.B.T.? for short, which is the frozen dinner equivalent of ?mint? or ?unopened? in, say, the comic book collectors world). The expository scenes are done very well and humorously to boot.[/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange] [/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]Along with being exposed to an exciting and new dimension in collectible obsessions, we also follow the main story of the group preparing for their first convention, as well as smaller subplots paralleling the main premise. We have:[/color][/size][/font]

[font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange] [/color][/size][/font]

[list][*][font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]Subplot A: Shawn?s ex-hardcore death metal band turned Christian rock (they get more girls this way) trying to break into the Christian metal scene. [/color][/size][/font][*][font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]Subplot B: Shelly, the virgin collector, who aptly works at an ?abstinence hotline? (?keep her on the phone and she won?t get the bone?) pursues a crush on womanizer-Shawn while Al, the Klown Kuts hairdresser pursues Shelly.[/color][/size][/font][*][font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange]Subplot C: Dissention among the ranks of the club as friends clash and become competitors, resulting in more than one convention being planned.[/color][/size][/font][/list][font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=darkorange] [/color][/size][/font]

[size=3][color=darkorange][font=Times New Roman]The characters in this movie are so well done and original, you almost think ?how can this be made up?? [/font][font=Wingdings][font=Wingdings]J[/font][/font][font=Times New Roman] The humor is nice and subtle, the quirks are plentiful, and the story moves along at a fine pace. Fun is made of everyone equally. The people are so real, I feel like I could go out to Mesa and meet them! I kind of want to?.[/font][/color][/size]
October 5, 2005
If you did't like this movie (Schager) you must be an idiot .
October 1, 2005
[font=Comic Sans MS]If you are sick of everyone's fear and need to be politcally correct, then you should love Never Been Thawed! [/font]
[font=Comic Sans MS]Whether it's the No Choice Cafe , because abortion protestors get hungry too, or the William Jefferson Clinton Abstinence Hotline, helping those when coitus is imminent, first time filmmaker Sean Anders does an excellent job of poking fun at everyone and everything. [/font]

[font=Comic Sans MS][/font]
[font=Comic Sans MS] [/font]
Page 1 of 2